Breaking the Fast – Irresistible Apple and Maple Bircher

23 Mar

Anyone that knows me knows that I really love food.

When I’m eating breakfast I’m certain that it’s my favourite meal of the day. Whether it’s hot or cold, eggy or cereal, I do so love breaking my fast…but then, along comes my old friend, Lunch. As I’m enjoying my mid-day meal, not necessarily anything extravagant – perhaps a salad or sandwich, I would quite solemnly swear that, indeed, lunch was in fact my favourite meal of the day. As soon as the lunch plates have been cleared then I begin to think about my true love, dinner. I rarely plan in advance, as much as I’d love to be orgamanised, but I really, really enjoy a yummy dinner at the end of a long day…..oh, and I love snacks and dessert, did I mention that?

I like food. A lot. A LOT.

Seeing as this is the beginning of our relationship, dear reader, I thought it only apt to begin with a spot of breakfast. If you charted our foundling relationship as a day one could say we’re in our metaphorical breakfast, so I’m breaking us in easily with a spot of Bircher Muesli. Fun for the whole family.

Now my men hate porridge. The strange phenomenon is that they both like Bircher. I’m fairly sure Mister H knows Bircher is merely cold porridge but D Man is, as yet, none the wiser. I don’t dig your usual, standard claggy grey bowl of Bircher, I love fancy pants up-town variations that make me feel like I’m consuming a decadent creamy bowl of joy rather than tricked up horse food.

The beauty of this breaky is that you can make a batch on Sunday night, double it if you’re super keen and you’ve got quick, easy, low GI, low fat breaky ready to rock for the start of the week. No excuses for grabbing a ham and cheese croissant on the way to work (although Mister H has been known to have both – two breakfasts, like a good Hobbit!!)

Apple, Cinnamon and Maple Bircher – Holsby Style.

Time – overnight

Quantity – 2 adults and 1 little person

Ingredients –

  • 1 cup of rolled oats
  • 2 heaped tablespoons, plus extra for serving, yummy yoghurt, either natural or vanilla if that floats your boat
  • 1 apple, skin on, grated
  • Some good quality apple juice
  • 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons of real maple syrup – none of that imitation crap, please. The real deal is so much better.
  • 3 teaspoons LSA (or ground linseed, sunflower and almonds for the nut novices)
  • a handful of dried cranberries, or fresh berries or other dried fruit of your liking.

So easy, gang. Ready? Set? Go!

Chuck your oats into a container, and just cover them with the apple juice. Add your yoghurt, cinnamon and grated apple.Stir it like you mean it. Refrigerate overnight. In the morning, serve how much your morning belly wants, dollop on some yoghurt, sprinkle on some LSA and cranberries and drizzle with some maple.

Viola! Breakfast of champions and Holbys!

 
5 Responses to “Breaking the Fast – Irresistible Apple and Maple Bircher”

  1. Kirsten Cox March 23, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    Oh D-Man, you are hilarious!

  2. Pete Ryan March 24, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    very good mate – the apple looks out of a Cezanne painting !!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 26, 2012 at 10:40 am #

      Hey Pete,
      I’d love to say I’ve come a long way since those dark room days but it’s a little bit of a fluke combined with a great camera!
      Thanks for the compliment though!

  3. monroe piercing jewelry March 27, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 28, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

      hi there, just wanted to say thanks for making my day with your comment! I’m a newbie and an unknown, but it’s nice to see someone other than my mum enjoying my posts!!
      Have yourself a beautiful day.

Leave a Reply

