Blind Play Dating and the Art of Picking Up Chicks

25 Mar

After living all of my 20 years in Sydney in the Eastern Suburbs, 6 months ago Mister H and I bought a house 13 clicks South.

It was a matter of affordability versus space and I love our bright, spacious house with our garden with our imaginary vege patch that I will get around to one day. Where we used to live was a little like Melrose Place. Although we weren’t sleeping with anyone else in the building, nor did I wake up with full make-up and 80’s high hair, the similarities were that I had friends in the building, on the street and in the neighbourhood.

A simple trip out for bread could turn into a pavement chat, or a coffee or a full blown social event. It was pretty cool…..but we lived in a two bedroom apartment with a fast growing toddler, with a faster growing collection of toys that appeared to be over taking the lounge in a parasitic fashion.

So, now we’re here. 13 clicks South. It’s not far…..it’s not. It’s only half an hour , you know…..and I love it. I do. Love the house…….and the space……but the ‘burbs?

There are like minded people out here, I’m sure. Who can afford to buy their first home in the Eastern Suburbs? People are definitely buying further out they tell me…..so where the hell are they? My friends have begun to endeavour to set me up on blind play dates with peeps in my area. I have plenty of friends half an hour or so drive away but it’s nice to be able to pop to out locally and chat to someone who’s favourite word is not bum bum. Mister H and I met on a blind date so I’m down with a blind date. So far, the one contact I was given didn’t call back. I aimed to sound chirpy. Cheerful. I tried to instil a little chipper tone, without sounding like Minnie Mouse, that said ‘hey, you want to hang with my kid and I cos we’re hip’. But after no call back I feel that perhaps, in fact, I sounded like some crazed, friendless desperado psychopath who was using my kid to get to young mothers so I could abduct them and put them in my new back shed…….but my friend, the procurer of said number, said I was being silly, she’s obviously busy too. Just try again.

That goes against everything I learned in my dating days. Never, ever call twice in a row!!! Are you crazy!!!!????? So, I sent a text in case there was a dastardly mechanical error with her phone and she didn’t get my voicemail message………and, nada. No enchilada.

The area we live in is culturally rich and diverse. Which means I don’t see many people like me in the park. I think it’s great for D Man to grow up in a diverse area as I want him to be tolerant and open minded, but when it comes to chatting at the swings, it does make things a little tough. When I see someone in the park who looks like they could be a contender (quick break down – not crusty, speaks English), I sidle up to them and casually make a comment about their kid. Although I did hear myself recently say-

‘Sooooooo, I haven’t seen you in this park before. You come here often?’

Where the hell did I think I was……CHEERS???? We chatted for a bit but I realised that you can’t judge a book by it’s cover and perhaps we wouldn’t be picnicking any time soon. I decided to take it to Mister H. He had knowledge of picking up chicks, right? Hell, I didn’t even fancy him when I first saw him on our blind date so he must have a magic touch. He have me a very sage of insight –

‘I usually just wait until they’re drunk’

(Mind casts back to first date….yep, can verify this as fact. Second date involved no alcohol whatsoever, though, and no it wasn’t breakfast, dirt bags)

I guess I’ll just have to be patient. You can’t rush these things and friendship cannot be forced. In the meantime, D Man and I drive to our old ‘hood…..coffee’s better in East anyway.

6 Responses to “Blind Play Dating and the Art of Picking Up Chicks”

  1. Leah March 25, 2012 at 5:53 am #

    Try moving from Sydney back to the North Coast!! I comfort myself by saying that we wouldn’t be enjoying half the things we loved about the city anymore anyway due to the rugrats– nor would we be enjoying a huge backyard & uncrowded beaches (or the support of family for that matter). The Eastern suburbs (& its hideous lack of parking) will always be there but precious time spent with your little people playing on your own patch of grass will not. I say hit your local, park that is (or pub depending on how your day is going) on the same morning for a few weeks in a row & I’ll bet you find like-minded peeps with kidlets & their own tales of the life that was B.C.

  2. Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 25, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    You certainly make a very good point. I think I’ll refrain from hitting the locals though….not yet!

  3. sydneyhamburg March 26, 2012 at 6:13 am #

    Hi Danielle,

    You sound very much like a friend who just moved from Potts Point to… what was the name of the suburb again? 😉 Because of her growing family.

    I think it is rather a shame that there are no appropriate apartments to rent or buy for families in the eastern suburbs. (Or anywhere else in Sydney? Kids rooms as big as rabbit cages!)
    The government is so not interested in putting up some guidelines for greedy developers.

    I’m just pregnant with my second one and we’re trying to hold on a little longer to our small rental in Elizabeth Bay!

    But I’m sure you’ll find some friends at your new place soon 😉

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 26, 2012 at 10:39 am #

      Hey Hamburger,

      I don’t know if it’s anything the government can deal with. It’s a matter of space vs value for money.

      Congratulations on your impending miracle. That’s very exciting news….. I wish you all the very best!!

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spring Into Skinny Jeans « Keeping Up With The Holsbys - July 12, 2012

    […] desperate and dateless on the buddy front out here in the wilds (if you missed it, you can catch up here). Well, D man and I were out cruising in the local park recently and we were picked up. I […]

  2. If You Build It, They Will Come….. « Keeping Up With The Holsbys - December 8, 2012

    […] spent hours in the park trying to pick-up friends, and if I needed any social interaction I needed to drive across the city to my old […]

Leave a Reply

