When Friends Pop by…..Dutch Ginger Cake

10 May

I was anticipating people popping by so thought it best to quickly make something easy to offer them (yes, I made it, not Mum, but I will admit I’m not Wonder Woman and I did it a couple of days ago whilst I was in the Nesting phase, as opposed to the current Hit By A Mack Truck phase, although I can boast a cracking night’s sleep last night). This is somewhere between a slice, a cake and a biscuit, but it is decidedly Dutch, and incredibly good. It’s a little bit salty, quite a bit buttery and super, dooper gingery. What’s not to love about that sweet ass combination?

This came from my Mama’s infamous book, written in my Nana’s distinctive hand. No one remembers when it first surfaced, but it’s been a favourite for well over ten years.

My Mama is actually quite the Wonder Woman. She is many things. She is a healer, a chef, a great friend to many – young and old, a fabulous, loving Mother and Nana, and a super cool, wise woman to boot. She has an amazing sense of humour and has always put her family first and she had to work damn hard to do so as a single mother. Another thing about my Wonder Woman Mum is that she has Multiple Sclerosis and is in a wheelchair. The amazing thing about this is it’s only a small element of her life. Her illness certainly does not define her, it’s just a piece of the jigsaw puzzle that makes up her beautiful picture. She has always been a woman that I admire and can aspire to be like. You can’t stop the terrible disease that is MS, but you can look it in the eye, and she does that every day with a sense of bravery and great humour. Anyhoo, we made us a cake…..and it went a little something like this –

Yeild – 12 ish, plus ends for nibbling when no one is looking.

You will need – 

  • 1 3/4 cups plain flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 125g preserved ginger (I had glacé ginger and candied ginger in the cupboard s I used that this time)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 185g butter
  • 1 cup castor sugar
  • 60g whole almonds

Here’s a handy hint for you, when required to sift flour, you can just pop it into a bowl and whisk it. It aerates it at the same time as getting the lumps out. I really hate sifting so this goes down as one of the all time handiest kitchen hints in the World!!!

Put your oven onto 180C.

So, sift (WINK, WINK) your flour and salt together in a bowl. Add your castor sugar and chopped ginger. Melt butter and allow to cool slightly before adding your beaten egg to it. Reserve one teaspoon  of the egg mix for glossing at the end. Add butter to flour mixture and stir like you mean it. It’s quite a firm mix so it needs a touch of elbow grease. Press mixture into a greased 20cm sandwich tin (or preferred shape) I used a swanky new silicone number that I received as a freebie through a magazine. Brush top with remaining egg mix and range your almonds to make it look pretty. Bake for 45 minutes or until golden brown and delicious looking.

Remove from oven and allow to cool before turning it out onto a board and slicing into desired shapes and sizes.

Enjoy the delectable ginger goodness, before your husband devours it all because the Dutchness reminds him of home……that’s just my experience.

Here’s an image of my Ma’s recipe book so you get the picture…..literally. It’s not glamorous, but it’s most certainly priceless.

4 Responses to “When Friends Pop by…..Dutch Ginger Cake”

  1. nijah06 May 10, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    Yummy to my tummy your cake looks delicious I can come through the computer and take a piece.Thank you for posting your dessert.

  2. Nicole May 14, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    This ginger cake looks totally delicious. I too would love to jump through the computer and get myself a piece.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 14, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

      I just ate it for breakfast 😉 Got to keep up those calories for breast feeding, you see (and eat it before my husband does!).

  3. mydearbakes May 15, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    Love your recipe, thanks for sharing! =)

Leave a Reply

