Smoked Fish and Prawn Chowder – Ultimate Comfort Food

18 May

I know today is not officially a recipe day but, you see, things have been a little hectic around the homestead. No matter what is going on, a girl has to eat, right? So there’s always going to be a recipe afoot, but I can’t guarantee a whole lot of thoughtfulness has been going on and the Victoria’s Secret post may have sucked the last bit of funny outta me.

Ma ‘n’ Pa are leaving today. I’m sad that they’re going as now it means I’ll have to hang out my own washing and stack my own dishwasher. I guess the reality of life will come crashing down at around 5pm this evening……thank god that’s whiskey o’clock (just a little one in between feeds……mother’s little helper).

This hearty soup was my favourite as a little girl, then I forgot all about it for about 25 years – my, god, that makes me sound old. How the hell did that happen? – but one day my Mama mentioned that she’d made it for a friend on a blustery Melbourne day and it jogged my memory of all of the smokey, creamy, corny goodness that this soup carries. D Man is happy to eat this too. He quite likes it when I mash it all together to create a ‘mash’ type consistency, otherwise he spills it all over himself.

Most chowders contain a butt load of cream, leaving you feeling heavy and stodgy and with no room for ice-cream…..with this recipe, not so!! There is no cream at all, you make a roux, from flour like with a white sauce and then use low fat milk (I used full cream because that’s what I have in the house). If you’re not a smoked fish kinda person, you won’t dig this, but if you are, get ready for a taste sensation. You can add all kinds of seafood if you want. I added squid today, which I don’t usually do, but it was very yummy.

Yeild – 5 adults

You will need –

  • 500g uncooked, peeled prawns (and squid hood if you want)
  • 600g smoked cod
  • 1 litre milk
  • 75g butter
  • 2 medium onions, finely chopped
  • 3 sticks celery, finely chopped
  • 1 cup white wine
  • 2 large potatoes, chopped into 1cm-ish cubes
  • 1/2 cup chopped parsley
  • 1 tin of corn kernels
  • 1/4 cup plain flour, mixed with the liquid from the corn
  • salt and cracked pepper
  • crusty bread to serve

Peel and devein prawns. Place prawns, fish and milk  into a large pan and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and cook uncovered for 2 minutes. Remove from the heat, strain the seafood and reserve the milk.

Melt butter in a in large pan, add onions and celery and cook until onions are soft. Add flour and corn juice mixture and cook, stirring until it thickens. Gradually stir in your wine and then your milk and then cook until it boils and thickens. Add your potatoes and simmer uncovered for about 20 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

Just before serving, throw in your seafood and parsley and season to taste. This soup loves cracked pepper!

Dunk lots of buttery, crusty bread in your soup, and serve with a lovely glass of wine and enjoy the hearty goodness……..

 

Leave a Reply

