To KiKi, With Love…..

22 May

Dear Baby Girl,

Firstly, I want to thank you for choosing us. I firmly believe that babies choose their parents and I think you made the right decision in picking us. We will always have your back. We will always laugh with you and cry with you, hold you when you’re scared and cheer for you from the sidelines. I will fight for you as staunchly as  any lioness has ever fought for her cub. I can promise you that, my girl. Your Papa looks at you with adoring eyes already, so I’m fairly sure he’ll be around your finger in no time…..I’ll keep my eye on that as you’ll exploit that if you’re anything like your mother.

I can also guarantee that life will not be boring with us. In fact, sometimes throughout your childhood you may wish we were more ‘normal’ but trust me, in time you’ll realise that slightly left of normal is a good place to be.

God willing, we have a long journey ahead together and you will probably not always like me, but try to remember that I have your best interests at heart and I’m acting as I think is best for you. If, for instance, I ground you when you’re 14 and you can’t go to the INXS concert and then Michael Hutchence were to die and you never, ever got a chance to experience them live, remember it’s for your own good. I’m speaking from experience……it may seem like the end of the world at the time, but, trust me, you’ll get over it.

I promise that we will have a lot of fun together, and we shall explore the world with a sense of wonder, until you decide that I’m the uncoolest person you know and you don’t want to be seen out in public with me. Naturally, I pray this will never be the case, but I will give you space, and accept it with grace, if it does. I’ll endeavour to never embarrass you in front of your friends, but I can’t make any real promises on that front. It’s kind of a right of passage thing…..

I’ve only really known you for two short weeks, but I can tell you that I’m completely head over heels in love with you and I can’t imagine how life was before you were in it. Your brother loved you from the minute he saw you, too. He was a little unsure about his place in the family for a couple of days but he still wanted to be near you, and touch you, and stroke your little, sweet smelling, downy head. Once he realised that there was enough cuddles for everyone, he decided that baby sister’s were pretty darned cool and although you don’t really do much at the moment, I’m inclined to agree.

Basically, welcome to the world, Baby Girl. Don’t ever forget that you are so loved by so many people, and the world is yours for the taking.

Spread your little wings and fly as high as you dare and I will try to always be there to catch you.

Lots of love,

Always,

Your Mama xxx

Today’s images are proudly brought to you by Kirsten Cox

10 Responses to “To KiKi, With Love…..”

  1. Sarah May 23, 2012 at 12:09 am #

    She is soooo perfect!!!

  2. Joanna May 23, 2012 at 3:08 am #

    *wipes tears from cheek*. So sweet, can’t wait to meet her. Miss you at playgroup. xx

  3. Kelly May 26, 2012 at 2:18 am #

    Congratulations Danielle!!! She’s so very, very beautiful. xxxx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 26, 2012 at 2:44 am #

      Thanks, Kelly! All is going well thus far, too…. Won’t get too cocky though. Just when you think you’ve got it….. 😉

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. Dani Murray June 8, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    I just stubbled upon your blog via your Hoot cake. You write so beautifully and straight from the heart. My little guys is having a nap and instead of taking a sleep myself I have just spent a good 40 minutes reading and laughing to myself. Then I got to this blog and the tears started, because it’s exactly how I felt when our little man was born (11.5 months ago)…what a beautiful letter to your baby girl. I don’t know you, but I like you already:-)

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 8, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

      You know something, Dani? You just made my day.
      Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely comment.
      I skipped my nap today too, I’ll spare you a thought as we go into the baby dinner/bath witching hour!!
      Hope you drop by again x

Leave a Reply

