A Prayer to The Travel Gods

4 Aug

Dear Travel Gods,

It’s me, Danielle. I’m sure you’re aware of my travel itinerary today so I just wanted to drop you a little prayer.

Please let my children behave like angels on our journey. We didn’t sleep well last night and I’m a tad frayed around the edges and I’d hate to lose my shit in public, or at altitude, or both.
Please help me navigate my way to airport, and check in with enough time to get a large coffee. I think that will help the entire freight of Flight DJ125.

If the airline doesn’t give us an entire row, can you please let the person sitting next to us be a child-friendly person. A kindly nana would be my first preference but I know you’re busy what with all the other poeple traveling today so I’ll take anyone who won’t roll their eyes at me, or pretend they can’t hear D Man saying ‘hello’ incessantly for an hour.

Also, one more small thing…. Please don’t let D Man do a poo after we leave the house. He despises public change tables and I don’t have any pull-ups with me. If he does have to go, please just try not to let it be on the plane. I can’t actually think of the logistics of that. There’s nowhere to put the baby once we’re all in that tiny cubicle.

That’s pretty much it, thanks guys.

Yours, with great optimism,

Danielle

PS Better keep an eye on the actual plane too. Guess none of these matter as much as that.

6 Responses to “A Prayer to The Travel Gods”

  1. faydanamyjake August 4, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    Good luck! I remember traveling with small kids, its not always how they behave, just the fear of how they might behave that is exhausting! one word: ear plugs. just to take the edge off, what sweetie? oh mummy can’t hear you so, shh 🙂
    On a side note, seriously are there any nice nana types left? I fear they might all have popped their clogs, all the kids of the 60’s ( aka 70 year olds) I bump into are scowling at my kids for breathing.

  2. Sharon August 4, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    Hope all your prayers were answered xx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 4, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

      One poonami requiring an entire change of clothes on leaving the house, a wrong turn getting me there too late for coffee, two mini-tantrums, a lollipop stick up the nose and a big poo nappy in the taxi home. I’d say the Gods favored us today!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Jet Wiksten August 4, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

        The plane landed safely, lol, at least you added that to the prayer.

  3. veryVERYbusymom August 6, 2012 at 10:16 am #

    I guess I should be happy that I drive everywhere these days. I haven’t flown since before 911 & it sounds like it’s awful these days traveling with kids.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 6, 2012 at 10:38 am #

      No way- it’s awesome traveling with kids.
      The fear of what could go wrong is way worse than actuality!
      I don’t live near any family so I’d travel as far as I needed to for some family time….
      My babes were angels.

      This time.

Leave a Reply

