Little Balls and Mini Lamb Kofte with Hummus and Freekeh Tabouli

10 Aug

We tried swimming lessons for six months with varying degrees of trauma.
It would appear that although D Man loves splash-splashing in pools, shallow oceans and the bath, he is not a big fan of being submerged and released, sucking lung-fulls of water in a luke-warm pool with 10 other kids, mostly also whinging. I was more gung-ho about it than Mister H, who eventually made me realise that he was not exactly busting any world records in the 50m butterfly so perhaps we should stop and wait a year or so.

One thing my son is very adept at is ball sports.
It appears that he has cracking co-ordination (we can fairly safely say he did not get that from me!), so we enrolled him into a football, or wootbore as he calls it, based activity.

I personally cannot participate in team sports because a) I’m a spazz, and b) I’m a terrible sport. I hate losing and get the shits royally, and no one, but no one likes a bad sport. I stick to solo exercise.
Anyhoo, I was talking about my progeny’s brilliance, not my own short comings….

Our first class of Junior Kickers was certainly less than awe inspiring and I thought, as I watched these well-behaved, amenable children, that maybe this would go the way of the swimming lessons.
D Man would zone out, wander off or downright chuck a wobbly when they tried to gently coerce him into sitting on the blue mat of compliance.
I wanted this to work. I want D Man to grow up to be David Beckham without the skirt wearing or chav accent, so we had a little Backyard Wootbore Bootcamp.
We donned the uniform, did little drills, we kicked that little soccer ball and sat on my blue yoga mat until I was slightly more confident that my boy would be dazzling at his second class……and the following day at Kickers, I was the proudest mum in the world.
We’re a far cry from Beckham, but he had fun, comprehended beautifully and made his Mama beam with joy.

I made these lamb kofte for dinner that night…..and D Man hated them, but I thought they were yummy. My Turkish buddy, Semih, loves these so I don’t care what the little ball kicker thinks. D Man is a huge humus fan, though, so hummus and cheese sarnis have been a go-go for lunches this week.

Freekeh is roasted green wheat and it’s a yummy alternative to the common starches like pasta, rice or potatoes. It has butt loads of vitamins and minerals and is much higher in nutrients than mature wheat. I can’t quite nail the absorption method of fricken’ freekeh so I always end up draining off a little liquid. If you know something I don’t, lemme know, peeps. If you can’t find it, or want to cook this with pantry contents, you could substitute burghul, or cous cous or even brown rice. Just make it up as you go along……God knows, I do.

Yield : 2 adults and one toddler who didn’t eat it.

You will need :

For the kofte –

500g lamb mince
1 small onion, or 1/2  medium, chopped finely
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon sweet paprika
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
1/4 cup chopped fresh mint
2 tablespoons pine nuts
salt and pepper

For the hummus –

1 tin chick peas
2 tablespoons tahini
2 tablespoon natural Greek yoghurt
1 teaspoon cumin
juice of 1 lemon
1 large clove garlic, crushed
pinch of salt

For the freekeh salad –

2/3 cup freekeh
1/2 red capsicum, chopped into chunks
2 chopped tomatoes
1 lebanese cucumber, chopped
1/2 spanish onion, chopped
the remainder of your bunches of parsley and mint
a slug of olive oil
juice of half a lemon
salt and pepper

For the koftes, place the onion into a small frying pan and cook until just translucent. Add your garlic and pine nuts and cook for two minutes.
Throw into a bowl with remaining ingredients and mix well with your hands.
Roll tablespoon fulls into small balls and cook on the BBQ or on the stove.

For the hummus, throw all of your ingredients into a food processor and add 30ml-ish of water. Blitz, test and adjust if needed.

For salad, pop your freekeh into 2 cups of boiling water with a pinch of salt and whack the lid on for 25 minutes or until tender. (Drain if you need, I do!)
Throw remaining ingredients into a bowl, add cooked freekeh and dress with oil and lemon. Season to taste.

To serve, make a smear of hummus, add a pile of salad, chuck on some balls and away you go. Eat with Lebanese bread if you so desire. I toasted some up with dukkah and olive oil.
Lip smacking good.

11 Responses to “Little Balls and Mini Lamb Kofte with Hummus and Freekeh Tabouli”

  1. Jeff Steller August 10, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    Hi D-girl, you could try quinoa instead of freekah. Absorption always works (2 water to 1 quinoa), well in my rice cooker anyway. I make tabouli with it instead of burgal for a gluten free version, and it’s yummy…. and tres good for ya too.

    Unk J

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 10, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

      I am accepting the quioa challenge!
      I bought some Andean mix at Oasis Bakery once. It’s Peruvian super food, red, white and brown quinoa. Must dig it out!

      • Jeff Steller August 10, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

        I bought some quinoa today from Coles… I’m doing your kofta recipe, the quinoa tabouli and humus on megadarra (middle eastern rice, lentils & onions).
        Ta for dinner plan D-girl
        xx

      • Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 10, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

        Sounds delish… Wish I lived around the corner. I’d be over in a flash (to leave the kids with you while I went and did something fun;-))

  2. Ali Hodges August 10, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    I was just going to suggest quinoa also, I just do it in a saucepan. Exactly 2:1 water to quinoa bring to boil lid on then simmer lid half on for 15-20 mins. It’s da bomb!

  3. frugalfeeding August 11, 2012 at 4:42 am #

    Those look SO good. I love lamb koftas – always so fantastic in a rich curry sauce too 😀

  4. Bunny Eats Design August 11, 2012 at 7:30 am #

    This looks amazing and your photos look terrific! The yield made me chuckle.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 11, 2012 at 7:35 am #

      Do they? Really? Should I send it to those FG pricks? I only have 30 rejections so far, and a not quite broken spirit 😉

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Bunny Eats Design August 11, 2012 at 8:39 am #

        lol. At ’em girl! Give it a whirl. Whenever I get one accepted, I suspect that who ever accepted it is just having an off day.

Leave a Reply

