A Letter To Me, One Month On – August

26 Aug

Hey You,

I really wanted to write you a quick letter to check in with you, we haven’t touched base since your birthday. You’ve had a really big month or so and it hasn’t all been roses.
You smashed the car, dude. What happened??? I know it was really scary and I’m not going to beat you up about it, but that was a really closed one, babe. You can vague out at the washing line, and you can be distracted at playgroup, but driving the car? Come on. You have very precious cargo.
You’re very lucky you didn’t hurt anyone because you would struggle to live with yourself. Anyway, the angels were watching you this time, don’t let there be a next time. I don’t think your husband or the law would be as forgiving if it happened again.

Otherwise, your month seems to have been pretty good, huh? You actually did do those things you promised yourself you would. Anyone can talk it up, but to act on it isn’t always easy. You took the positive steps you needed to take and I just wanted to say ‘welcome back, you’.
You haven’t tried to move mountains, but taking an afternoon at the movies or a pizza night with a girlfriend has really given you back a sense of you. That’s all you needed, just to reconnect with yourself. It doesn’t mean you love your family any less….and the household seems to run just fine without you for a few hours.

It’s really great to see you feeling sunnier, and it’s still not always easy, but it’s certainly easier to handle the world when you’re feeling positive with a whacking great big smile on your face.
You have such precious little time in the day for yourself, don’t waste it doing more chores than you have to. Spend it wisely doing something you love. You’re so enjoying writing, so honor that and say screw the housework.
Just remember you need to put your feet up sometimes. You really aren’t Wonder Woman, but you do keep trying to squeeze into those hot pants.
You can have a super tidy house once a week (or fortnight), dude. What does it matter every day? It’s not forever…..one day you’ll get a damn cleaner again. I know you miss those guys.

I’m not sure why it’s suddenly happened after almost 12 months of living here, but how bloody nice is it to have a few friends in the neighbourhood? It’s not easy as an adult to make friends but slowly, slowly new people are coming into your life. You created that. Don’t ever forget how powerful the power of the mind is, and you can manifest anything you want. You asked for a network of people within walking distance…..if you build it blah blah, don’t want to get all Anthony Robbins on you, but you know it’s true.
Be careful what you ask for, and be specific, but you are creating your reality every day. Make sure you stay positive, because that draws positivity to you.

Your time away with your family was so precious. Don’t be sad that it can’t happen all the time. Be grateful that your family is only an hour’s plane ride away and that they love you and your children unconditionally and that they are always there to support you. Maybe in the future you will live nearer each other but this is just the way it is right now. Dwell on the positives of that, because you’re building a lovely family home with your little family now, and that home needs to be filled with joy, not longing.

It seems that the long cold winter is breaking, metaphorically also. Kiki is growing so fast, and those smiles and giggles just melt your heart. The toughest part is over. It’s not quite all smooth sailing from here, but it gets easier from here. Those first 12 weeks are the hardest.

Try to commit to your memory forever that feeling you felt today when you were walking to the park and D Man slipped his little hand into your hand, without a word, just because he wanted to touch you. Those days won’t last forever.
The only thing you can always bank on, is change. Life is flying by so quickly you can guarantee he’ll be running too fast to hold your slow, old hand soon.

Try to be present. Sometimes when you’re trying to do too many things, you get frustrated with everybody needing something from you, just try to be present (especially driving the car, muppet). D Man is only two, he’s really just a baby. He doesn’t understand that there is anything else but what he wants. He has plenty of time to learn that, and you’ll be the one to teach him, but it won’t happen tomorrow.

Anyway, I just wanted to say it’s great that you’re feeling great.
I love you, You. I may not always show it, but I do.

Lots of love,

Me.

If you enjoyed this post, why not subscribe via email to ensure you can always keep up with the Holsbys.

19 Responses to “A Letter To Me, One Month On – August”

  1. Leah August 26, 2012 at 7:48 am #

    xxooLoveItxxoo

  2. Fabulous Mommy August 26, 2012 at 8:26 am #

    Beautiful! And yes the first 12 weeks really are the hardest, but the time flies by in a blur and all you’ll remember oneday is how tiny KiKi was. You might remember it was hard but that memory gets hazy so quickly.

    As I said on Facebook, I’m really glad your car accident left you all unharmed. Thank goodness for all the technology, that protects you and your loved ones, which is built into car nowadays.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 26, 2012 at 8:35 am #

      Thanks, Beth. It totally rocks that we have a cyber village that cares about one another! Love and light to you girls, and your boys. X

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. thelikeffect August 26, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    This letter made me well up with tears, as did your last letter. I applaude you for being able to bust through the “fog” of having a newborn and being able to articulate so clearly, so quickly, despite the sleepless nights, and the rest….. It took me years to do that after the birth of my son 🙂

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 26, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

      Thanks, babe. I love that my letters to me have such an effect on people. Shows that we are all so similar in many ways. xxx

  4. SydneyHamburg August 26, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    I really really like your blog! So many things I can relate to or just laugh about. I have a four month old and I am reading your blog right now because the older one just woke me from my afternoon nap after 10 minutes. Sigh.
    So I decided to have a cup of coffee and a read instead of sleeping or cleaning the kitchen.

    Glad that nothing happened to you in that car. And this is a lovely picture of you and the kids.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 26, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

      You had a 10 minute nap???? Luxury.;-)
      Make sure you put your feet up, actual elevation, when you feed. It’s a mini-rest, and then you have more time to poodle around on my blog!!
      Thanks for the lovely words about the picture. I love it too. Once a month I’ll let my hubby get his hands on my camera so I can post one monthly with my letters.

  5. Val August 26, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    That message was so beautifully and written and heartwarming!! I am so glad you are all ok after the accident. As you have written my love, be kind to yourself, everything in the house can wait. You and your family are all that are important. xx

  6. mrsdsmaunderings August 26, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    I love this post, good on you for taking you time & not being too hard on yourself. We all need girlie time too & you’re fortunate enough to have built that up around you. I’ve got more cyber friends than in person ones – need to rectify that 🙂

  7. Mrs H August 26, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    Great letter. So easy to be hard on ourselves and forget to celebrate what we do have, are doing, can do. Thanks for lifting my Sunday morning! X

  8. Jessica August 27, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Beautiful! What an inspiring thing to do for one’s self. Thank you for also inspiring me! xJess Gorgeous photo by the way.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 27, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

      Thanks, Jessica. I hope to make a series to see how I progress over the next year…. Or at least have monthly pictures of the kids and I!!

  9. Bunny Eats Design August 28, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Great letter. I don’t think I’ve written one to myself since high school. You write so well. Have you written letters to your kids for when they are old enough to understand?

Leave a Reply

