Hold Them Close, Whilst Letting Them Go.

9 Oct

Nobody ever wants to imagine their child getting hurt, but the thing about life is that everyone needs to paddle their own canoe, and one day our kids will set sail without us.

Today, I’m writing for Lori over at Randon Ramblings of a Stay at Home Mum (RRSAHM). If you don’t know Lori, she’s a beautiful writer and a hell of a woman.
After the tragic loss of her husband, she laid her soul bare on her journey back to being ok.

Lori is about to embark on the journey of a lifetime by going to Borneo to raise money for the Orang Utans.
I wish I was going, but my own monkeys are still too little.

I can remember the very first time my son, D Man, hurt himself on my watch. It was one of those split second, yet slow motion, affairs that consisted of him rolling off the bed at about 6 months old.
His fall was broken by an open cupboard door and he kind of rolled onto the floor without injury, but he got a fright and bawled, and I felt like the worst Mama ever.

He got over it in minutes, I was fine in a few hours and a glass of wine and the world kept turning. Now, barely a day goes by without some form of head injury, and for the most part they are nothing serious…..but when it is a bit more serious, and that silent scream prefaces the tears, in that instant, I know that I would take all of my child’s pain if I could and make them feel better.

I can remember my very first heart-break. I was about 11, and I’d been a rat-bag, scallywag and had been kissing Matthew Forsyth under water at the local pool, as you do. When Matthew told everybody and I was branded a scarlet woman, I was devastated.

If you would like to continue reading this post, please click here.

2 Responses to “Hold Them Close, Whilst Letting Them Go.”

  1. whiteballoonsupport October 9, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    Being a parent is such an important role to have. Every day you make decisions that you think is best to support your children – and you end up questioning those decisions 1000+ times. Parents banding together, helping each other make those decisions through support groups and advice is such an important thing, which many don’t realise. We are not alone in this world. Children are the future and we must cherish these beautiful souls. Your blog is beautiful and your family sounds so gorgeous and close. You should be very proud!

  2. whiteballoonsupport October 9, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    Reblogged this on whiteballoonsupport and commented:
    Being a parent is such an important role to have. Every day you make decisions that you think is best to support your children – and you end up questioning those decisions 1000+ times. Parents banding together, helping each other make those decisions through support groups and advice is such an important thing, which many don’t realise. We are not alone in this world. Children are the future and we must cherish these beautiful souls. This blog is beautiful and their family sounds so gorgeous and close. You should read this blog – it will leave you all warm and cozy! #helpushelpthedefenceless

Leave a Reply

