Brotherly Love

23 Oct

When the divine Zanni, from Heart Mama, was expecting her new baby to join them any second, she wrote to her daughter Elka about the impending changes. Her letter got me to thinking about siblings, and in particular, my children.

In some families siblings are best friends, and in others they are like distant ships passing in the night.
Can you encourage friendships to grow?

Five month old Kiki lies on the floor, her eyes training on D Man’s every move. She is transfixed by the golden haired boy; her big brother. He runs back and forth in her line of vision, delighting in the fact that she turns her head to watch him, over and over again. She gazes at him adoringly, startling every now and then at his squeals, and he basks in her attention. Their giggles are like fairy laughter in my ears as I observe these first independent interactions of my first-born son, and new-ish daughter.

This is their earliest play developing, and they are so happy to just be near each other.

My son, D Man, often looks to me with his little arms outstretched –

‘Hold, Baby?’

We set them up so they’re safe and supported and gently put Kiki in his arms, and he just sniffs her and kisses her head…..then he gets bored and he pushes her away so she face plants on the couch and he reaches for a plastic dinosaur with one hand and picks his nose with the other…..but the first part is no less beautiful.

 

To continue reading, pop over to Heart Mama

12 Responses to “Brotherly Love”

  1. faydanamyjake October 23, 2012 at 8:11 am #

    I love the ending lol so typical of kids grins.
    siblings are a funny topsy turny mix of relationship. its our duty to take them for granted, to tease, to know them inside out to feel the tug and pull of heart strings and kin yet we live away and form our own lives. They are our past and our future.
    Amy and Jake do all of the above yet he will save her his last rolo and she will dive to stop him wandering onto the street from a shop. contradictory love 🙂

  2. Bunny Eats Design October 23, 2012 at 8:46 am #

    Awww…so sweet! I’m not sure how you can nurture sibling love, but whatever you’re doing, you are doing it right.

    Face plants and nose pickings…priceless.

  3. empressnasigoreng October 23, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    So funny and sweet. My two are 4 years apart and remember it was love at first sight when my daughter first laid eyes on her baby brother (had previously been hoping for a sister). They kind of had this mutual admiration society thing happening up until they were about 6 and 10 and attending the same school and she started to find him annoying and embarrassing. He was devastated by the change in the relationship but accepted it in time. Now at 9 and 13, they squabble a bit but also go through moments of closeness. We find they are best when we go away on holidays and there are no other kids around so they are forced to get along or be lonely. I am confident that they will be close as adults (as I am with my brothers).

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 23, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

      oh, that made me feel for the little guy, but it is inevitable in those years, I imagine!

      • empressnasigoreng October 23, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

        Yes, he was quite devastated. My daughter has a very big personality and he has always adored her. She doesn’t always realise how much, I don’t think

  4. closefamilies October 23, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    I had to pop over from heart mama to tell you how much I enjoyed your post! I have a six year old boy and a 5 month old boy as well. I have high hopes as well. 😉

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 23, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

      Thanks so much for the feedback…..together we shall cross our fingers for peaceful family christmas’ in future!!!

      • Michelle October 23, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

        yesterday I was putting clothes away in girls bedroom and they were lying on the playmat together in the lounge room ,I snuck back in to watch them as I could here a fair bit of laughing going on.It was magical to watch them interacting as Harper was shaking the chain hanging up above them and Scarlett was in fits of laughter watching her do so.This went on for a good few minutes before they noticed I was standing there. These are the moments that make all the sleeplessness,crankiness and crying worth it!

  5. Sarah October 24, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    Nothing makes my heart sing more than when my two are enjoying each other. Playing, laughing, cooperating together. I catch myself smiling sometimes when I hear the little conversations they have. But…….they freaking make me want to pull my hair out all the other times!!! Far out the fighting drives me up the wall. As another commentor says ‘contradictory love’ couldn’t be more right.

  6. diannegray October 25, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    Very sweet and very funny. Wonderful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

