It’s Just Me.

25 Oct

When I was about 19 or so, I went to a music festival called Alternative Nation. It was Australia’s answer to Lullapalooza.

Like any self-respecting music festival it was incredibly muddy due to enormous amounts of rain leading up to the day and on the actual day itself.

Towards the evening, there was a naked man, covered in mud, lurching around. People were recoiling from him in horror. He held his Earth covered hands out, palms up –

‘Don’t be scared. It’s just me.’

Now, on this particular day I may, or may not, have partaken in a small amount of LSD, but I nonetheless found this to be incredibly profound.

I’ve written before about how I feel about my body, my machine.

I’ve written before about how it’s taken 35 years to learn to love and respect thy sacred vessel. If you want to read about that stuff, it’s here.

I think I talked enough about body image and eating disorders and I don’t need to talk about that any more…..because that’s not my reality any longer.

I love the strength in my body.

I love my pins.

I love my shoulders.

I love my chin.

So, here I am.

Don’t be scared. It’s just me.

weheartlife.com

43 Responses to “It’s Just Me.”

  1. Mrs D October 25, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    You gorgeous wonderful clever smart courageous woman. Fantastic!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 25, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

      you know those ones where you hold your breath as you press send…………hmmmm, yup.
      Thanks for the love.

      • Mrs D October 25, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

        well you’ve inspired me….I wasn’t going to be nearly as game as you..now I’m maybe a little less scared..we’re all beautiful & should celebrate it more often.

      • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 25, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

        get your bits out, love!!! (find your good angles and stick to them ;-))

      • Mrs D October 25, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

        with my craparse phone camera I can blame it all on bad equipment 😉

  2. Carly ~ We Heart Life Creator October 25, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    Amazing post and images xx

    Thanks for linking up!

  3. mumabulous October 25, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Wow! Brave lady.

  4. Bec | Bird with a chip October 25, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    Oh my goodness! Your photography is AMAZING! Perfect images that tell an incredibly powerful story. Love it. X

  5. Nicole October 25, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

    A beautiful post. Chicks are awesome!!!

  6. Bunny Eats Design October 25, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    Hey lady, your amazing bravery is poking out.

  7. Wanderlust October 25, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    This is really beautiful. I so love the images you’ve posted. Creative and artistic and just really lovely. “Don’t be afraid, it’s only me.” Yes. That, exactly.

  8. Melissa {Suger} (@sugercoatit) October 25, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    A beautiful addition to the posts. Just beautiful.

  9. tessa white October 25, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    What a fabulous post, clear a concise and showing how far you have come is really honest and inspiring x

  10. Margriet Barnes October 25, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    Love it Danielle, very inspiring and you do look amazing!

  11. Jayne October 25, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    Gorgeous! I really love your images and that one line… “Don’t be scared. It’s just me.” So poignant.

  12. Sonia Life Love Hiccups October 25, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    Your acceptance of yourself is truly inspiring. You are beautiful! xx

  13. Rachel Wernicke (@RedcliffeStyle) October 25, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    What a lovely and thoughtful post. Rachel x

  14. Kelly HTandT October 25, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    Gorgeous photos. Not sure about the naked, muddy man though. I imagine he would have been quite hilarious when combined with LSD?

  15. Rhi @ Hummingbird's Song October 25, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    Beautiful images, and I love how you told this story x

  16. tahlia - the parenting files October 25, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

    Wow! Amazing post. And I love your last photos! So gorgeous and so powerful! Xo

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 26, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

      easy to hide the bad bits with this technique…..I was impressed by the girls in full frontal underwear. That’s brave!

  17. Ash aka Go Mumma October 25, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    Wonderful post and gorgeous photos! 🙂

  18. Leigh October 25, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    Brilliant!!! I went to Alternative Nation also…. it was no good for memory…. hazy memory….
    Love your post, so honest and real. xxx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 26, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

      Yeah, it wasn’t great….I was soaking wet, cold, muddy and out of it and a loooooooong way from home!!!

  19. thelikeffect October 26, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    You are truly amazing Dani, what a great post, what stunning photos, what a gorgeous you 🙂 love you to bits…. Francesca

  20. thecookingchook October 26, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    I think that you are so wonderful that I have nominated you for The Sunshine Award. Check it out…http://thecookingchook.wordpress.com/acknowledgements/

  21. Jess @ myheartisyourhome October 26, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    I just cannot tell you how much I love this!
    So unbelievably much!

  22. sybaritica October 27, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    I always thought your gravatar was sorta sexy …. these pix? Very understated and, well… HOT. Not sure which I like the best.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 27, 2012 at 8:00 am #

      Oooooh er, how lovely! And blush inducing……

      Thanks (insert coy eyelash flutter here)

      Sent from my iPhone

      • sybaritica October 27, 2012 at 8:11 am #

        My wife liked them too but told me to keep my hands on the keyboard 🙂

  23. Where's My Glow? (@Glowless) October 29, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    Wow. I really loved this. Great photos. My favourite IHMB post so far x

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 29, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

      Wow, what a great compliment. Hats off to you if you get through them all!
      Thanks so much for the comment.

  24. goodstorybaddate April 3, 2013 at 11:42 am #

    Really liked the image of your inspiration here

  25. Kevin June 9, 2013 at 1:50 pm #

    dude – we were soooo at the same mud pit!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 9, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

      Were you naked and covered in mud? Imagine if that was you and you read this????
      Getting home was a bitch, no? Even fully clothed.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wrap it up…..2012 « Keeping Up With The Holsbys - December 29, 2012

    […] It’s Just Me […]

  2. Recipe Rewind – 5 of the beauties from before you were watching. | Keeping Up With The Holsbys - March 11, 2014

    […] I’ve shown you a photo of my arse, and my cans, so what’s a crappy picture of food between friends, am I […]

Leave a Reply

