Homemade Ricotta, turned into Pineapple Curd Cake……Sunshine on a plate.

2 Nov

When my friend Genie, at Bunny Eats Design made haloumi recently, I was pretty impressed…..and then she made mozzarella to put on her home made pizzas.
Show off.

I had said this Spring I was going to make some ricotta so when I got around to it, I simply had to pop over to her and brag about.

I used to think a tuffet was your bum.  That’s what Little Miss Muffet was sitting on, right? Her butt?
Alas, no, a tuffet is a pouffe, but I think that ‘Little Miss Muffet sat on her pouffe’ just doesn’t rhyme, and is a bit weird all-round.

 In fact, I think the entire nursery rhyme is a bit weird all-round.

Little Miss Muffet

Sat on her tuffet (big pouffe)

Eating her curds and whey…

Curds and what?

What the hell are curds and whey?

Is that yoghurt? Cheese? Cheesy yoghurt?

 Gross.

To read about my adventures with curds and whey and the resulting cake that has been handed down three generations in my family, read this….

4 Responses to “Homemade Ricotta, turned into Pineapple Curd Cake……Sunshine on a plate.”

  1. sybaritica November 2, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    LOL …

  2. Nina November 2, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Homemade ricotta? Wow, I’m impressed. Again, how do you find the time, girl? That’s amazing.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys November 2, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

      It’s so not as impressive as it sounds. It’s merely boiling milk!

      But, yes, I am awesome 😉

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 02/11/2012, at 2:58 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Arrivederci Spring, it’s been swell…… « Keeping Up With The Holsbys - November 30, 2012

    […] My pen-pal Genie is an adventurous cheese maker so I shared the recipe over on her blog, Bunny Eats Design…..pop over for a look here […]

Leave a Reply

