Don’t give your kids your insecurities…..in fact, just ditch them all together.

9 Nov

I gots to thinking recently about how easily we pass down our own body image onto our kids.

If they hear us speak negatively about ourselves, surely it sticks, right?

Well, I’ve decided I’m not going to pass my insecurities down to my children…….that would suck if just a few careless words made all the difference.

I’ve scored a little gig as a contributor over at Bub Hub (yay me!!) so today’s post is over there…..

My mum was always slim, probably a size 12, when I was young, and I always thought she was, like, totally beautiful.

She was a really stylish kind of Mama (not using past tense because she’s dead, but because her style has now changed to a little more on the funky-Nana side of the spectrum).

She had short hair that was a cross between Annie Lennox and Robert Smith, and wore stylish clothes (although there is one rogue photo in the archives where she was rocking some kind of bad Laura Ashley phase – sorry Mum.) and lipstick, even to the shops. I remember watching her apply make-up in her bedroom mirror surrounded by a mist of perfumed and hair-sprayed air, and I thought she was the most glamorous creature ever.

My mum had fat days, and went on the odd diet. I remember her once throwing a Kit-Kat from her office drawer into the bin because she was on a diet.

To read the rest of this post, click here

5 Responses to “Don’t give your kids your insecurities…..in fact, just ditch them all together.”

  1. Bunny Eats Design November 9, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    My momma was always tiny. I’m probably the roundest out of my momma, me and my sister. Still, I happen to like round butts. I tend to keep my body insecurities to myself anyway. Some people seem to think I don’t have body issues, but that’s not true at all. I just don’t see the point in voicing them or pointing them out to other people.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys November 9, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

      Round butts are the way forward. They rock jeans much better than a flat butt.. Everyone has something they don’t dig, ’tis human nature, but if you can accept rather than whinge then power to you, sweets!

      • Bunny Eats Design November 9, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

        Mum was about a size 6NZ when she married my Da. I think I was an adult size 6 when I was about 8 years old.

        I once thought I would never wear skinny jeans. Nowdays I don’t wear my baggy jeans preferring to stick with the skinnies.

        I did feel a bit weird this morning though, the boss’s wife who regularly compliments me on my clothing was wearing pretty much the same outfit that I wore yesterday. I guess I should be flattered.

      • Keeping Up With The Holsbys November 9, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

        three words – Single. White. Female.

        Skinny jeans, worn well, are more flattering than baggies. ‘Tis a fact.

  2. diannegray November 9, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    I used to be a coat hanger until I had my third child and began to bulge in placed I didn’t even realise existed!

    I love the pic of the baby – very clever! 😀

Leave a Reply

