HOLSBY TV Super Mood Boosting Smoothie for Post-Natal Depression Week

23 Nov

Did you know that 1 in 7 women can suffer from post-natal depression?

When you think about all of the millions of women out pushing prams and cuddling little chubsters at this very minute, that figure is staggering.

Chance are, you, or someone you know may be feeling the deep pull of the dark despair right now.

This week is Post-Natal Depression week during which we endeavour to bring a greater awareness to a massive problem that, with the right help and support, is very manageable.

I’ve popped together a little Holsby TV episode-ette, in honour of PND Week.

If you are, or you know someone, who may suffer from post-natal depression, reach out for help now. Don’t wait.

Help is never far away.

4 Responses to “HOLSBY TV Super Mood Boosting Smoothie for Post-Natal Depression Week”

  1. rabidlittlehippy November 23, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    I have felt that pull and it’s so hard. It’s also very hard to speak up when the rest of the world is smiling and telling you how happy you must be with new bubba. I know how unhappy it can be. My PND was undiagnosed for years, mainly as I have suffered depression on and off for years so the concept of happy and normal was not something I was familiar with. Finally when I was pregnant with my 3rd, things settled down. For me, dietary changes (less sugar and junk) along with a wonderfully supportive husband, followed by counseling and delving into the issues behind my depression has helped keep the darkness at bay. I am actually enjoying being a mum these days.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys November 23, 2012 at 11:23 am #

      Thank you so much for sharing your story. I can only imagine how tough it has been as parenting can be a tough gig at the best of times. I’m pleased you’re supported and loved and doing great! Xxx

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 23/11/2012, at 10:20 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  2. Kate November 23, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    Thank you for putting this out there, you rock! I was sucked into the PND hole with bub number 1 But we asked for help, the GP ignored me but the community nurse was amazing. (turns out bub has serious sleep disorders). Anyway bub number 2 is here and everyone is fantastic. My point is if the first person is stupid enough to ignore you, ask someone else for help. Oh and if you can talk about it you would be amazed how many people will open up. Stigma is not helping anyone. Wishing everyone a full nights sleep and a happy weekend.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys November 23, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

      It’s indeed a terrible shame that people feel embarrassed by depression, but it’s any wonder that the combo of hormones, mega life change and sleep deprivation doesn’t leave more people affected.

      Wishing you a wonderful weekend too! X

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 23/11/2012, at 8:42 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

Leave a Reply

