Sunny Climes, Fun Times….Bring on Summer

4 Dec

20121204-072000.jpg

Summer was my favourite season until about 3 years ago.

I used to love long, lazy days at the beach and late nights in open air bars drinking cooling ales until I couldn’t feel my face. There was nothing better for a hangover than to do it all over again…..swim, laze, swim, snooze, beer……..

My weekends weren’t very productive, generally. Unless you count getting a tan as an exercise.

I used to love the Sydney humidity. I loved that whole ‘Vietnamese jungle’ style clammy skin at 9am that you get in the height of February. I was ok with swamp pits and a sweat moustache. The tickle of a bead of moisture dashing from under your bra down your stomach, or the moist mark your bare legs left on the leather car seats.

Yeah, Summer was the season of fun. Much more so than Winter.

I never once skinny dipped in Winter, for  example.

I have to admit, though, now I bitch about the heat as much as my Grandfather. Well, slightly less, but you get the picture. Anything under 30 is great, but as soon as the mercury starts creeping above, I run for cover…..and 40’s? Sweet Jesus. I cancel the day.

Even in moderate Summer, beach trips are only before 10am and after 4pm with youngsters in tow, and even then there is no lazing to be had…..as for late nights in beer gardens?

We all know what evening shenanigans replaced those. Strappy, sheer outfits have been replaced by feeding tops with shoulder snaps, and high heels…..mah, who am I kidding?

I never did heels. They make me walk like a five-year old trying on her mothers shoes. Not a good look.

Here’s what I’m thinking our Summer will involve –

Decorate a Christmas Tree

It’s doesn’t feel Christmas-y until you have your tree up, and now that D Man is old enough to understand what it’s all about, I’m totally psyched to put up the decorations……we’ve got Xmas stockings and the whole shebangalang.

Attempt Mum’s Arch Nemesis – GNOCCHI

Mama Bear’s worst ever culinary failures were croissants and gnocchi. I smashed the croissants and if I do the gnocchi too, I may just steal her crown.

Not that it’s a competition, or anything…….unless I’m successful and then I win!

Render My Garden Wall

I’ve always been a bit of a picket fence kinda girl. I don’t even care if you think that makes me sound……well, kitsch? Anyway, this house ain’t never gonna have no picket fence, due to a little pavement to front lawn issue we have i.e. a random 15cm drop. I don’t like our current brick look, so I’m going to get busy and pimp that brick wall.

NB I have bugger all DIY nouse, but I have enthusiasm in spades.

Make Lime and Ginger Marmalade

I love marmalade and every year I make an orange, grapefruit and lemon one. This year I’m going to do something different. That’s how I roll.

Take Kiki For Her First Trip To The Ocean

I remember D Man’s first trip to the ocean like it was last week. We were In Port Douglas for our wedding, it was warm, the water was tepid and the experience was special. I’m such a water baby and I hope my children grow up with a respect and love for the ocean.

Recreate Our Wedding Cake

I told our cake lady I wanted a rosewater and pistachio cake with white chocolate ganache and she was at a loss. She’d never eaten it, and she’d never made it, but she experimented and experimented until she got it right…..and it was perfect. She gave me the recipe but I’ve never gotten around to it. I’m going do it. I’m going to eat me some wedding cake.

Drink French Champagne With Friends

Yes, yes, I know a few of you will be putting your hand up for this one. I know it’s a silly frivolity but you know what?
I deserve some silly frivolity, and it may as well have bubbles that go to my head.

Make Chewy Salt Caramels

I love chewy caramels. I love salt caramel. I may even give it a little Fantail twist…….. dip that shit in chocolate. Boo ya.

BBQ Some Quail

When I went to Red Lantern I ate some really amazing quail. I have no idea what it was marinated in but it was smoky and charred from the grill, and I’m going to have a crack at it.

Make Two Dishes With Home Grown Vegetables

My little vege patch is going so well and I think I’m going to have a bumper crop of truss tomatoes. I can also see beets in my future so I’m going to dazzle you with some homegrown, organic, straight from the garden to the plate kind of cooking.

Just as soon as I decide what I’m going to make…..and it finishes growing.

 

13 Responses to “Sunny Climes, Fun Times….Bring on Summer”

  1. Bunny Eats Design December 4, 2012 at 7:46 am #

    Love your list! Your Mamma Bear will have to concede her crown soon. Will she put up a fight?

    I can’t wait until it’s beach weather! I was reminiscing to The Koala the other day about afterwork trips to the beach in summers gone by. It never quite feels like a work day when you boost to the beach at 5pm. The beach we go to looks straight at our motorway and Auckland harbour bridge and while that’s no so picturesque, there’s nothing more satisfying than being in the water when you can see hundreds of people stuck in traffic. Yes, I’m evil.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys December 4, 2012 at 7:58 am #

      Mama Bear will always have the crown really, I just like to razz her!!

      I love the late arvo swim. I’m totally going to do early fish and chip dinner at the beach with paddling. That is the stuff of childhood memories.

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 04/12/2012, at 7:46 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  2. Mrs D December 4, 2012 at 11:43 am #

    Go you! I made chewy choc coated caramels last year for friends for Christmas presents..They were yummo & much appreciated by all who received them 🙂

  3. Jeff Steller December 4, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    Hey D, I’ve nabbed a few recipe ideas from your growing arsenal (is there really an “arse” there?….. LOL) and I’m damned impressed, but conquering croissants & gnocchi still only leaves you about 20 years behind the crown. I’m constantly blown away by her ability to turn anything into an amazing meal and will rarely knock back and invite to dine with her.

    btw, 30 years in Melbourne and I still miss the visits to Bondi and having a drink in the bars up there, but that Sydney humidity!!! You(se) can have it……

    Get stuck into that list. Red Lantern…. you lucky duck.

    Love
    Unk J

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys December 4, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

      I know I’ll never really take the crown. It would mess up my hair anyway!!!

      Mama Bear is always going to be my foodie inspiration.

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 04/12/2012, at 12:34 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  4. diannegray December 5, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

    You had me at “Drink French Champagne” 😀

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys December 5, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

      I might even speak in a French accent….

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 05/12/2012, at 5:52 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  5. Declutterbug December 5, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

    Sounds like its going to be a good summer 🙂

  6. J. mashedpotatoesblog.wordpress.com December 13, 2012 at 4:38 am #

    So funny to see you post a summer to-do list during the Christmas season when on my side of the world Christmas is in the winter!! 🙂

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys December 14, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

      I feel that way about all the snow comments I see…….I wasn’t a fan of my -10C Christmas a few years ago. A true Aussie girl!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. French Champagne……A little bit fancy. | Keeping Up With The Holsbys - February 22, 2013

    […] not doing to great on the Summer To Do List this season…..but some things I just couldn’t […]

  2. Our Growing Edge – a monthly food link up. | Keeping Up With The Holsbys - March 1, 2013

    […] be writing all about my Summer To Do List in the next day or so….I only got to 7 out of 10 done last season as it’s been a crazy […]

Leave a Reply

