A Vision of a Man

17 Dec

dex washing basket

The strangest thing just happened to me.

The kidlets and I were walking home for lunch, after our morning out and as per usual D Man was bringing up the rear. He’s definitely all about the journey, stopping to pick flowers, pat garden ornaments and look at ants.
I’m usually about the destination, so I try to rush his adventure, even though it’s mostly fruitless.

I’d given him the ‘you’ve got until I count three’ a few times. It works pretty well, and I’ve never had to go into fractions, which is cheating if you ask me.

Anyway, he was picking up leaves from someone’s garden (I should so rent him out. He’d be a hit!), and I kept going for a few metres.

“Come on, babe. It’s lunchtime” I called

“I picking leaves, Mama”

“We’re running late for lunch. Come on, quick, I’ll race you”

I got bupkes. Nada.

“You’ve got until I count three’ I called, and he looked up with a great big smile and he started running towards me.

Just as he got into his stride I had this vision, and he wasn’t my little boy any more, but a big, broad shouldered, sandy haired man, with a wide smile, and deep grey eyes.

“Hi Mama” his deep voice said, taking my breath away.

Then in the blink of an eye he was gone, and D Man was standing before me, giggling.

“I beat you, Mama” he laughed.

“Yes, you sure did, my baby. You sure did.”

How cool/beautiful/freakin’ weird is that?

4 Responses to “A Vision of a Man”

  1. Kerry's Organized Chaos December 17, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

    I’m with you on the cheating! When a friend says they counted, I always ask if they went into half numbers. 😉

  2. Sarah December 17, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

    Those glimpses you get are freaky!

Leave a Reply

