RESOLUTE THIS, 2013

1 Jan

I’m not usually one for New Years Resolutions for a couple of reasons –

a) I’m crap at them

and

2. I’m crap at them

I have a tendency to forget about them after about January 5th and I slide back into my wicked ways of leaving the day’s clothes on the floor in the not-quite-clean-but-not-ready-for-the-wash-pile instead of resolutely putting them away , or going to bed without resolutely cleansing, toning and moisturising my face or any number of broken vows I have drunkenly made at midnight with fireworks ringing in my ears.

This year I have you guys watching though, so maybe you’ll spur me on to be more motivated to uphold my side of the bargain, or perhaps I’d slide into denial and self-loathing just the same and write a really crackingly, inspirational and/or witty as shit post…….who knows?
Either way, I’m going to make a couple of resolutions this year in hope that I really can improve my life with a simple midnight wish.

I thought instead of vowing to eat less and exercise more, or swear less and wax my fuzz more, I’d make a few promises I may actually be able to continue for the year, and throughout my life because, let’s face it, this truckie-mouthed, fluffy legged, eating beast is never going to make it to February without dropping the F-bomb and demolishing a cake.

So, with y’all as my witness I vow that in 2013 –

I’m going to stop caring what other people think about me.

It’s really none of my business what other people think. Unless they think I’m fab…..then I can make it my business.

I’m going to have more sex and eat more cake. Maybe simultaneously.

Self-explanatory

I’m going to relax and rest more.

Notoriously crap at taking it easy. In fact, I’m supposed to be resting right now as I type this. You’d think, for someone who barely stops moving all day, my house would be tidier. I want to take time to daydream. That’s good time for ‘imagineering’.

I’m going to continue being brutally honest.

Can’t stop now. Motor mouth is in full-swing, with an audience.

I’m going to slow down and play more with my children.

I get caught up with all of the ‘important’ chores I need to do and forget about my most important job….

I’m going to do epic shit.

Life is for living, not wishing. We only have this life for such a short time, so you gotta make it count.

My friend just wrote to put three things on a bucket list and make them happen. I love that. Only just saw it so I need time to think about it, but you should think about it too.

Happy New Year to you. May your year be filled with love, laughter, great health and prosperity.

What are your plans for 2013?

post script – I wrote this last night bolstered by a couple of glasses of bubbles….this morning I have an infected nipple/breast and am feeling less than epic sitting in the bath, hand expressing my throbbing mams with a champagne hangover.
Might start epic-ness tomorrow.

20130101-062916.jpg

9 Responses to “RESOLUTE THIS, 2013”

  1. lifeonwry.com January 1, 2013 at 9:48 am #

    Love all of them.

  2. jade January 1, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    Even if those resolutions only last a few weeks – they are still an awesome way to kick off 2013!

  3. tattoomummy January 1, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    Do epic shit.
    Awesome.

  4. Mama Gringa January 1, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

    Do Epic Shit! Love it!

  5. brendayoder January 2, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    I haven’t made my list yet, although last year I accomplished more than I imagined. I think resting is on a list in my head somewhere. I’m exhausted. Nave fun.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys January 2, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

      I completely and utterly hear you, sister!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 02/01/2013, at 2:01 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  6. Kate January 3, 2013 at 8:17 am #

    Its a bit spooky how much your list mirrors mine, except yours is much better articulated. I had left off do epic shit, thats a pretty awesome goal. Im stealing it.
    I have been working on the don’t care about what other people think for years, on the days I master it, its totally awesome.
    Happy New Year! (Sorry about your boobs)

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys January 3, 2013 at 8:36 am #

      Thanks for the boob support. They’re on the mend, I think.

      Wishing you an EPIC, but manageable 2013 x

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 03/01/2013, at 8:17 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2013 and new life’s « Mr.P - January 9, 2013

    […] do Epic Shit. This post is in great part due to a post of one of the bloggers I follow and admire, Danielle the Momma of the Holsbys. Danielle […]

Leave a Reply

