Mexican Rice Salad and a World of Awe

3 Feb

mexican salad ingredientsI’ve had a little bloggers block of late.
The problem is not that I don’t have any ideas, au contraire, dear Holsby lovers. The problem is that I have too many things to write about and thereby slip into paralysis.

I have about 6 half written blogs at the moment, and I actually think they’re all fairly pants….but one thing I’ve discovered, is that it may well be my blog, but what I think of my posts doesn’t count for shit. The stuff I love slides by unnoticed and something I’m blasé about, y’all go nuts over.

So, it’s not for me to judge…….I’m just here to amuse.
Le jongleur, if you will.

I’ve been a little strapped for time too. No idea what I’m doing all day, but suddenly another day is gone.
I’m constantly amazed by the wonderful Veggie Mama or the divine Heart Mama. They write gorgeous and prolific blogs, they parent and they WORK A REAL JOB, too…..and they’re cool. In totally different ways, but they just seem like cool Mamas.

Zanni at Heart Mama is one of those ‘gentle parenting’ types and I ‘fessed up to her recently that when my head is about to explode and I’m going to wring D Man’s neck I endevour to take a breath a think –

‘What would Heart Mama do?’

It’s like the old ‘What would Batman do?’ but I don’t reckon Zanni gads about in black lycra.

In my mind she always speaks in gentle tones, reaches for peppermint tea, and encourages free thinking, whereas I reach for wine and hog tie when required.

Heart Mama would never do this –

HomerChokingBart
I guess everyone feels like someone else is doing it better than them. Everyone feels like other people are more together, more organised, more calm or more ‘onto it’ than them, but it’s totally pointless, really.
In a world of individuals, we really can’t compare ourselves to others.

It’s nice to have people to admire from afar though.

I made this rice salad up ages ago and I always serve it when I’m dishing up Mexican.
I’ve never really thought it to be anything spectacular, but after serving it at Fajita Sunday recently (which I’ll get around to blogging some month) I’ve actually had a number of requests for it……..so here it is.

It works as part of a feast table, but it’s also great served with marinated fish or chicken and a dollop of guacamole.

Yield : enough for 6-8 as a side or 4 as a main part of meal

What you will need :

  • 1 cup brown rice, cooked
  • 2 corn on the cob, BBQ’d if you can or 1 tin corn
  • 1/2 large red capsicum, finely diced
  • 2 marinated roasted peppers (you can roast your own but I’ve been using the jarred ones since Jamie Oliver has talked them up!)
  • 1/2 Spanish onion (I forgot one so I’m using spring onions from my garden – although I photographed a brown onion cos I forgot I had them), finely diced
  • 1 whole bunch coriander, stalks included, chopped
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • salt and pepper
  • a glug of good olive oil

What you will need to do :

BBQ your corn and slice it off the cob. If you do not have time or a BBQ it is nearly as yummy just to use a tin. Time is precious, we are not.

Todd everything into the bowl and mix well to combine. It’s best tossed and dressed an hour or so before eating so the rice has time to soak up all the married flavours.

Too damned easy……very damned yummy.

mexican salad finished

Do you know someone having a BBQ today?

Flick this quick, easy salad over to them……

If you’re looking for more quick and yummy ideas to feed your family, you can pick up my ebooks here.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Mexican Rice Salad and a World of Awe”

  1. Veggie Mama February 4, 2013 at 11:17 am #

    Hey, ain’t nothing wrong with wine and hogtie! I’ll think freely about it, anyway 😉

Leave a Reply

