The Holsby Lunchbox Experiment

28 Feb

lunchbox 4 resultWhen the divine Zanni, at Heart Mama asked if I could do a Nurturing With Food post for her site, I was thrilled. Zanni’s gentle mothering techniques are an inspiration to me, so I wanted to do something really cool for her readers.

I thought I’d do a little study on lunch boxes. I get sick of sammidges, so I wanted to offer some easy, yummy ideas that were sure to be eaten.
I did a 5 day study of before and after shots to see what he was actually eating, and what came home untouched……

It was fun. Sometimes surprising, and sometimes depressing!

My toddler, D Man, started pre-school a couple of weeks ago so I’ve had to turn my hand to the art of the lunchbox.

Easy enough, you may scoff, but alas, I discovered the taste bud of the toddler is most discerning in the matters of the boxed lunch.

The Earl of Sandwich would be sorry to see how outdated his mode of lunch is these days, but if you don’t sandwich, what do you do?

I’m determined not to send any pre-packaged food, and I really want to keep his lunch boxes interesting and delicious, but of course, they must also be healthy, nutritious and nut-free.

To read more, click this.

4 Responses to “The Holsby Lunchbox Experiment”

  1. Bunny Eats Design February 28, 2013 at 11:57 am #

    Hey dude, what happened to the pizza heart? Did he eat the base and leave the topping? I love the before after shots by the way. I have an obsession with before and after shots.

  2. Nina March 1, 2013 at 3:52 am #

    Okay this is the coolest thing I’ve seen in a long time! What an awesome experiment, and holy moly you have some really creative lunch boxes! Mine just consist of last night’s leftovers in a bowl with some zip locs of fruits lol.

    But like yourself, I’m determined not to send him to school with prepackaged food. In fact, that was one of the shining benefits of his preschool was that they heated up lunches for the kids, meaning I’m not stuck with cold sandwiches every day and my kiddo can instead have real food.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 1, 2013 at 8:17 am #

      I love the idea of chunky soups in winter too, but I don’t think mine reheat. I might ask them though as we’re heading into the cooler months. This experiment was fun. I’d pick him up from school and almost be more excited to look in his lunchbox that to see him 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Dream Come True – Healthy Choc Chip Biscuits | Keeping Up With The Holsbys - March 3, 2013

    […] ebooks? Check them out now here, because I’m doing a 48 hour flash sale in conjunction with a lunch box experiment I did recently for Heart Mama. Usually selling at $15 each, you can buy both books of the Toddler […]

Leave a Reply

