Our Growing Edge – a monthly food link up.

1 Mar


our-growing-edge-bannerWhen I first started blogging I happened across a blogger who did seasonal To Do Lists.

I thought it was a cracking idea, and so I blatantly stole took inspiration from her and started to do the very same thing. Each season I would write things on that list that I’d wanted to do for some time but always managed to procrastinate wildly about.

Somehow, having it on a list on the fridge made it something more achievable, and indeed, with a self-set time limit , it gave me a little bit of purpose.

A challenge.

I made ricotta, and dumplings and friggin’ croissants, dude……all because I wrote it on a list.

I stalked that blogger, and now I call Genie my friend. I’m so proud to say that my buddy Genie from Bunny Eats Design has started a super cool food movement, and we are inviting YOU to jump on the foodie band wagon and share your gastronomic adventures with us.

Make something, eat something, grow something, that pushes your boundaries…..something you have never done before, or something you need to redo because last time it didn’t turn out like you wanted it to.

It doesn’t need to be challenging by anyone’s standards except your own.

Imagine yourself crossing something off your culinary bucket list, and this link up is the place to shout it from the roof tops.

This is a monthly event that aims to inspire you to do a metaphorical food bungee jump and to connect with like-minded foodies to share your experiences. We want successes and failures, alike. Just share. Join our community.

The name of the game is Growing Your Edge.

Pushing your boundaries.

Not plating it safe. (that was a typo but I LOVE it.)

Who can join?

This blogging event is open to anyone. It is not a competition and there are no prizes or winners, it is just a way to share new experiences. You do not have to commit every month, only when you have something to share.

The host will do a write up and a round up on the first of the following month on their blog. If you would like to host a month, please email me or comment below.

Why don’t you check out how the first month of Our Growing Edge went here. There were some great submissions!

Submissions

To enter, you must blog about achieving a food related challenge that you have meaning to do (or redo). It could be easy like tasting a new food or difficult like cooking a life long nemesis recipe. It could be building or growing something an edible garden, or successfully preserving food. As long as it is food related and new to you, you can share your newly learned knowledge.

It’s easy to join the link party, just click this inlinkz link and enter your post url, the name of your challenge and email (private):

Your blog post should contain:

The phrase Our Growing Edge

Our Growing Edge badge:

our-growing-edge-badge

A link to this page to explain what’s going on:

http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

I’ll be writing all about my Summer To Do List in the next day or so….I only got to 7 out of 10 done last season as it’s been a crazy few months of books and babies and stuff and stuff.
I’m still happy with those 7, though…..and it means conquering gnocchi is still in my future!

Use this link below to join our ride!

Any questions, you know what to do……ASK!



I’m flogging Our Growing Edge over with the Flog Your Blog Friday gang.

 


32 Responses to “Our Growing Edge – a monthly food link up.”

  1. Cooker and a Looker March 1, 2013 at 8:52 am #

    What a beat idea Danielle! I’d love to join in.

  2. Bunny Eats Design March 1, 2013 at 11:50 am #

    You explained it so well I got excited and wanted to join the movement too! 🙂

    I LOVE the idea of keeping a list on the fridge. That’s genius.

    Except for maybe:
    “Mamma why don’t you ever put my art on the fridge?”
    “Because darling, that’s where Mamma’s dreams go.”

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 1, 2013 at 11:52 am #

      That’s a song just dying to be written!!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 01/03/2013, at 11:50 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  3. Emma March 1, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

    sounds cool! dropping by from fybf

  4. Nina March 1, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

    Okay when I start cooking again after the babies are born, I am down! And seriously, we were on the same wavelength because as I was reading your entry, the first thing that popped in my mind was, “I need to re-do that gnocchi.” Bwahaha! Suffice it to say that the first time around was not the restaurant-quality I was used to.

  5. Have a laugh on me March 1, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

    Maybe if I join in my family might get better meals??

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 1, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

      Fo’ shizz…..

      Although not sure about osmosis.

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 01/03/2013, at 9:00 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

      • Have a laugh on me March 1, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

        Nup I’ll actually pull finger and show the Husband that I can in fact do anything!!

      • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 1, 2013 at 9:41 pm #

        Boom! Yes you can, sister….

        Sent from my iPhone

        On 01/03/2013, at 9:33 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  6. Kelly HTandT March 1, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

    Not plating it safe! You’re a hoot! lol
    You know, I could enjoy this! I’ve always wanted to make chocolate eclairs and I’m planning on giving them a go for my daughters birthday next week. Perhaps I will join you!
    Great idea, thanks for sharing x

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 1, 2013 at 9:20 pm #

      Please do. I’d love to know if they’re easy or hard…. Cos they are indeed yummy!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 01/03/2013, at 9:12 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  7. Mrs D March 2, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

    I have a huge bowl of lemons sitting on the table waiting for me to attempt preserved lemons for the first time. I think you may be on young lady!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 2, 2013 at 5:16 pm #

      I have never done it successfully, please show me the way!!! Mine always get a thick skin of mould. Ew.

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 02/03/2013, at 5:01 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  8. SarahMac March 2, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

    What a great idea! There are MANY things I haven’t attempted, gastronomically speaking. I made lamingtons and consequently sponge cake for the first time this Australia Day. And I’ve never made pasta from scratch. I might try and do this thing!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 2, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

      Get on board, baby! Come cook with us x

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 02/03/2013, at 5:28 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  9. thegravyhouse March 4, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

    Thanks for the invite Danielle, I’m on board for March! Let me know if I’ve missed anything, this is my first ever link up. M.xx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 4, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

      woo hoo….our lucky first submission!!
      You’ve done it perfectly, my dear……

      Now I need to find me some jalapeños!!!

  10. ironchefshellie March 10, 2013 at 9:24 am #

    Count me in! if not this month, I’ll start next month. I have a bazillion things going on, I started a list this morning though!

  11. Cooker and a Looker March 12, 2013 at 8:12 am #

    I’ve thought long and hard about it Mrs Holsby and I’ve decided that cooking with offal is my first Growing Edge challenge. I’ll keep you posted on what deliciousness ensues! 🙂

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 12, 2013 at 8:20 am #

      Oh wow, that’s brilliant. You’re so brave. I’ll look forward to reading that. I’m scared off offal. I’m going to brine olives and conquer gnocchi! Just gotta get onto it.

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 12/03/2013, at 8:12 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  12. fresaichigo March 21, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. You’ve got a nice concept there. Let’s see if I manage to try out some new foodie delight and then successfully manage the link up! Both a gastronomic and technical challenge. I like it!

  13. syntk March 22, 2013 at 8:39 am #

    I see that gnocchi is on your list. I’ve tried a bunch of recipes, but this video by Fabio Vivani on gnocchi making helped me make better gnocchi than all the rest. http://tinyurl.com/d5bmu7f Good luck!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 22, 2013 at 8:40 am #

      I think this weekend is the weekend, so you have perfect timing!!
      Thanks so much for the advice.

      • Lorna's Cakery March 28, 2013 at 8:29 pm #

        Hello foodies!!! I just came across this and love.it! I’m a baking/cooking addict but last month embarked on a world trip, so far we have been to Cambodia and I did a cookery course and now we are in Vietnam, guess what, I’m gonna be doing another course in a week or so. Basically, I miss my kitchen and am using other people’s! I blogged about the last course already and next time will add the logo or something to be apart of the ‘movement’. Great idea! Love it so much! Sorry, just brain dumped on here…. Woohoo!

  14. Jess Smith @ Jessness Required. April 1, 2013 at 9:33 am #

    Bummer, I just missed it! I will definitely keep an eye out for the next link up though!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adieu, my sweet Summer…You were a tempestuous wench. | Keeping Up With The Holsbys - March 5, 2013

    […] so busy right now I really don’t want to set myself up to fail. With the new monthly link Our Growing Edge, I can link anything remarkable to other bloggers and show off that […]

  2. Toro Bar and El Camino: I don’t wanna taco bout it | Word On The Wheat - March 11, 2013

    […] This post is submitted as part of the March ‘Our Growing Edge’ event. For more details, visit the lovely Bunny Eats Design & Keeping Up With The Holsbys blogs. […]

  3. Self Portrait Birthday Cake… cos I’m weird like that. | Keeping Up With The Holsbys - March 24, 2013

    […] you need to refresh on what Our Growing Edge is about check this out, or this from it’s fabbo creator, Bunny. Eats. Design. What’s floating your food boat […]

  4. Little *balls put in a pile | Mrs D's Maunderings - March 25, 2013

    […] recently received an email from the gorgeous Danielle of Keeping up with the Holsbys fame kindly inviting me to participate in a new monthly blogging link up event thingumyjig called […]

Leave a Reply

