Adieu, my sweet Summer…You were a tempestuous wench.

5 Mar

Sooooooo, let’s chat about the freaky ass biblical-weathered season that was. The parts of the country that weren’t on fire, flooded like nothing else, and I was just awaiting a plague of locusts to signify it was time to pack the family into the make-shift bomb shelter……not sure how effective a bath tub is again the Apocalypse.

fire-flood-australia-map

I’ve never in my 36 years been able to cook on my verandah without the use of the BBQ, but this Summer saw a 46C day that toasted all my little lettuces so crispy that the snails thought I was on the kale chip bandwagon.

I make a slow-cooked 70C beef that takes four hours in a really low oven, and I reckon I could have chucked a steak outside that morning and eaten it for dinner that night with a Bearnaise sauce, except I was too damned hot to eat.

I believe the following day was chilly and required a little cardigan…..seriously bi-polar. Wazzup wit dat?

Does Mama Nature need to up her meds?

I’m not here to bang on about the weather, like some old, smelly, dude on the bus. I’m here to talk about To Do Lists. I gotta admit to letting my To Do List get the better of me this season, but not for lack of motivation.

Well, not entirely. I’ve been busy….Checking Facebook, and shit.

That said, I have managed to smash 7 out of the 10, and one of them was technically two pronged so I’m not going to flagellate myself with a cat-o-nine-tails…..or even one fluffy one, for that matter.

Let’s celebrate my wins first. It’s always best to point out the good bits before you scrutinise the failure rest.

Decorate the Christmas Tree

christmas tree decoration

This was kind of a cheat one. I was going to do it anyway, but trotting it out for your viewing pleasure seemed like a festive way to begin the season.

It was the first time D Man could help, and we all know how awesome toddlers are at helping when there are messy and fiddly tasks at hand.

Our piece-de-resistance was the bird’s nest we found. I did not see it as a manky lice infested piece of rubbish, but indeed a thing of great beauty and natural wonder.

Check out our handy work here. No image of nest though, sadly.

Render the Garden Wall

applying the render

I’m a little bit proud of this. Not only did I render that there wall, but I did it in ridiculous style.
If you like tradies in impractical outfits, you gotta see this.

Make Lime & Ginger Marmalade

lime and ginger marmalade

All that and then some, my peeps. I did make that marmalade and I chase it down with some chutney. I’m still enjoying the spoils of this one and you could get some of that here.

Take Kiki to Meet the Ocean

kiki at beach
My baby girl’s little face lit up. She got sand in her bum crack and between her gums (no teeth), and she learned this day what it’s all about being a kid on the East Coast of Australia. Want to see how she went? It’s here.

Drink French Champagne

french champagne moet

Needs no words. Have a quick squizz at my decadence here.

Make Chewy Salt Caramels

chewy salt caramel wrapped and packed

Do I get extra points if I did something more than once?

I’ve actually made four batches of these and yet I still wonder why I have a muffin top. Remarkable really.

Do you want to see how I did it? Check it out.

Make two things from Home Grown Vegies

warm beetroot and fetta salad

My beetroot crop was not prodigious but damn they were tasty little suckers.

Apparently I caused a bit of a stir when I likened their size to testicles, but if the shoe fits, right????
I used my teste-beets to creat a delish warm beet and fetta salad. It’s here.

rhubarb yeast cake finished
I also whipped up an awesome looking and tasting rhubarb yeast cake….I’m still dreaming of ways I can make it from other fruits because this is just begging to be repeated. See what I’m talking about here.

What I missed –

Recreate our wedding cake

I tried. The one birthday cake I made this season I offered it, in an attempt to swipe this off the list whilst killing birds with stones, but the ungrateful recipient said she liked neither rosewater nor white chocolate. Being as they are two of the three major components of the cake, we were forced to forfeit. We will see how we go in Autumn. I’m dying to tell you the story.

BBQ some Quail

Flippin’ easy, dude. What the hell happened here???? It’s just a tiny little chicken thing that can be chucked on. Totally in my future. Vietnamese style.

CONQUER GNOCCHI!!!

I’ve had time to think about this, and I don’t want my Mama’s crown. I’ll happily sit beside her thrown wearing a tiara……but I will conquer gnocchi, and I will sit next to her with an annoyingly smug smile. She would expect no less.

The question remains, what the hell was I doing this season? Why so slovenly that I couldn’t even finish my To Do List…….well, the answer is this.

I did 60 loads of washing. Changed 672 nappies. Loaded the dishwasher 84 times and vacuumed twice (not my thing)…..

Oh, I also taught myself how to edit video. I banged out another Holsby TV episode so you could see my silly head.

You can see Episode 2 of Holsby TV here. It’s called Save Time in the Kitchen and Always Keep Yourself Nice. It’s about saving time in the kitchen and always keeping…..you get the picture. Check it out for a giggle.

I’ve also been working on the print version of my books. Kinda consuming stuff, considering I thought all the hard work was done….au contraire.

That said, I’m not doing a To Do list this season.
I’m so busy right now I really don’t want to set myself up to fail. With the new monthly link Our Growing Edge, I can link anything remarkable to other bloggers and show off that way.

I will finish these three though……once they’re written on the list, they must be conquered!

What was your favorite thing on last season’s list?
Do you have a bucket list? What’s on it?

18 Responses to “Adieu, my sweet Summer…You were a tempestuous wench.”

  1. always josefa (@always_josefa) March 5, 2013 at 9:35 am #

    WOW! What a huge, incredible list! I’m exhausted just reading this
    Your food creations sound delicious and I think your rendering outfit is awesome!
    I live by to-do lists – only way it works in my world
    Good luck with the Growing Edge linky – sounds like a great idea xx
    Josefa from #teamIBOT

  2. Bunny Eats Design March 5, 2013 at 10:01 am #

    Hey Dude, great roundup! I’ve decided not to do a to do list this season either. I’m compiling a huge foodie bucket list (with more than half already crossed off) for the near and distant future. Less stress and we all know that we’re hard enough on ourselves as it is. Lists are to keep us on track and to make us feel inspired.

    Love what you do. Stay busy!

  3. Mrs D March 5, 2013 at 11:21 am #

    You certainly set yourself an impressive list. I’m sure you’ll knock the rest off in your usual style. BTW don’t forget that little island that is at the arse of the world had fires too! 😉

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 5, 2013 at 11:36 am #

      I couldn’t find a better picture. It wasn’t the one I was looking for. I think the true fires and floods were way more far reaching. That’s what I get for doing everything last minute!!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 05/03/2013, at 11:21 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  4. Eleise @ A Very Blended Family March 5, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

    Impressive List! You are doing so well to get through it! The weather is crazy at the moment, hot/cold/floods/fires something from the bible……. I love the roundup 🙂

  5. coloursofsunset March 5, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

    Well done! I reckon you got all the important stuff crossed off, anyway. Gnocchi? Eh. Quail? Eh. Cake? I don’t even remember the flavour of our wedding cake, thank God there’s a pic so I can remember what it looked like! I had a bucket list, but when nothing was getting crossed off it I tossed it, so as not to be dwelling on it.

  6. SarahMac March 5, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    I am impressed! The weather is totally bipolar and is starting to freak me the heck out. I look forward to seeing your Autumn list. Maybe I will do one too?

  7. redlandcitygirl March 5, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

    Loved reading this 🙂

  8. EssentiallyJess March 5, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

    I think you did pretty darn well!
    We have had next to no rain in Darwin, and it’s the wet season. Worst wet season ever!!!!

  9. Kyla @ Three Quarters Full March 5, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

    I think you did well, not being list oriented I would have either only go halfway through writing one or cross off one item and forget the rest. This weather has been beyond insane, I think I’ve forgotten what the sun looks like.

  10. Have a laugh on me March 6, 2013 at 10:05 am #

    Wow you’ve been busy for sure – what a total domestic goddess! I try not to set myself up for failure hence no list 😉 x

  11. ironchefshellie March 7, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

    Thanks for commenting on my blog, I’m so glad you did cos I freaking loved reading this! Hilarious! Love how stylish you are rendering the wall! off to add you to my RSS feed now! … i’ve been busying checking facebook and shit too. freaking life gets in the way!

  12. Lisa@RandomActsOfZen March 8, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

    Man that is some list, well done you! Love me some salted caramel 🙂

Leave a Reply

