Self Portrait Birthday Cake… cos I’m weird like that.

24 Mar

self portrait cake ingredients (1 of 1)I  can’t believe it’s been a year since I wrote my first post. I just reread my ‘about’ and realised I must update it, as it feels like it was written by someone else.

I guess in many ways it was. I’ve had a hell of a year, don’t you reckon?

After poodling around and seeing some truly awful cakes online, I promised you I would try my hand at cake decorating to celebrate Keeping Up With The Holsbys birthday…..nothing beautiful, I promised.

Something fugly.

Well, after I threw out to you, my peeps, I got a few responses worth mentioning.

A water birth was suggested.

As I had promised no suggestion was too weird, I don’t want to point any fingers, but I did think perhaps my cake decorating chops weren’t ready to wrap around this one.

A Tony Abbott cake was definitely  unappetising, although the ears alone would have provided cake for a small African nation. Sadly, he would have left a bit of a crappy taste, but hey, let’s not talk politics so early in our relationship.

Tony Abbott's ears

Not tasty…..

A lap top? Julia Gillard?

The suggestions were not many, but certainly very varied.

When Emily from Have a Laugh on Me suggested self portrait cake, I shot it down in flames.

That’s just silly, I thought…..

I fashioned myself upon this image.....

I fashioned myself upon this image…..

…..and then my megalomania kicked in and I remembered that silly is my middle name.

This cake is most certainly not fugly. In fact, it’s kind of awesome.
It is definitely on the weirder side of awesome though.

Carving me up like a Christmas ham and feeding me to loved ones, smacks of Silence of the Lambs or something equally macabre.
My body was gone and just my head was in a container in the fridge…….. wow.

I don’t think I need to go into too much detail on how to make a Mrs H cake, as I doubt many of you will give this particular cake a crack, however, I do have a few tips if you should hanker to make baked goods in your own likeness.

Ummm, yeah, nah

Ummm, yeah, nah.

Life-like was never gonna fly, for two reasons.

1. I couldn’t fit a life-size me in the fridge without cleaning out the various unrecognisable furry things that lurk in the back, and that was never going to happen.

2. I don’t quite have the requisite decorating chops.

So, with these in mind, I chose a photo that had some recognisable accessories that I could caricature.

To create this cake I used a portion and a half of my favorite cake recipe. I made a big rectangle to carve and a small bowl-shaped one to cut in half for my boobs.

After the cake had cooled, I popped it in the freezer overnight for ease of shaping.
Then I cut out the shape I wanted.

nice cans.

nice cans.

I used cream cheese butter icing. I made a big white batch and just coloured different portions as required using red, yellow and blue food colouring. For the fringe and glasses I actually added some powdered drinking chocolate to the icing. I was hoping to make and pipe ganache, but I was up against the clock.
For a few moments I felt like I was in a surreal episode of Masterchef where Zumbo had set The Fugly Cake Challenge.

It was a fun project. When my friend arrived to help me film the Holsby birthday video, her first response was –

You have way too much time on your hands.

Au contraire.

Do you want a piece of me?

Do you want a piece of me?

I’m linking this creation up with Our Growing Edge monthly foodie link up.
You still have a week to get your submissions in and I’m loving what we have so far!

I’m totally loving finding new foodies to follow and share fantasy meals with!

If you need to refresh on what Our Growing Edge is about check this out, or this from it’s fabbo creator, Bunny. Eats. Design.
What’s floating your food boat this month? Hurry up and share it with us all.

our-growing-edge-banner

12 Responses to “Self Portrait Birthday Cake… cos I’m weird like that.”

  1. Bunny Eats Design March 24, 2013 at 7:37 am #

    Not what I’d call full fugly.

    You did an awesome job. Loving the candy bits.

    Shot gun eating the boobs.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys March 24, 2013 at 7:48 am #

      They were eaten first. Naturally.

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 24/03/2013, at 7:37 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  2. Maxine March 24, 2013 at 9:23 am #

    Flipping fab!!!! Xxx u talented genius xx

  3. coloursofsunset March 24, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

    OMG that is freaking awesome! Well done, and happy birthday!!

  4. cookie1986 March 25, 2013 at 12:55 am #

    Delicious, terrific and hilarious! Happy 1 year blogging birthday!

  5. Mrs D March 25, 2013 at 8:23 am #

    You are an absolute legend & I love your buns 😉 xxx

  6. Mrs D March 25, 2013 at 8:24 am #

    Oh & happy blogoversary xxx

  7. Sonia Life Love Hiccups March 25, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

    I am so commisioning you to make a cake for me – especially since you cut off the ass bit 😉 x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Our Growing Edge… Edible All-Stars | Keeping Up With The Holsbys - March 31, 2013

    […] course, I must give myself a special mention as I made a cake in my own likeness. A true megalomaniacs delight. The base of my cake was a carrot cake and clearly, that was a theme […]

Leave a Reply

