A treat amongst the boredom….Gluten-free Orange Cake with Sugar-free Chocolate Ganache

9 Apr

Gluten free orange cake with sugar free ganacheMy name is Danielle and I’m a food addict.

I rarely eat fast food, except sushi. I love good food, and I love healthy food, but it doesn’t make me less of an addict.

I’ve ascertained something in the last few weeks and that is that I’m addicted to sugar and wheat. There’s a very good reason why wheat and sugar are so addictive.

It’s because they’re yummy.

It’s because majority of the yummiest things contain one or both of them, so even when we think we’re not specifically eating sugar or wheat, you’ll probably find you are.

This makes cutting down, or giving up incredibly hard.

And boring.

So, so boring.

After two weeks of no sugar and no wheat I have drawn some conclusions.

  1. Coconut flour biscuits sweetened with banana puree should never be referred to as biscuits. I couldn’t give them to children who eat anything, and neither would adults eat them, even in the name of politeness.
  2. Stevia tastes like crap. A little in a coffee is passable, but in yoghurt, biscuits or anything edible it leaves a wacky tang on the back of your tongue that lingers like a fart in an elevator.

My girlfriend suggested I stop trying to substitute  and just get used to not having these treats in my life.

What kind of life is that?

Pass me a noose.

I’ve been like a mad scientist. I pretend I’m Heston Blumenthal on the trail of molecular gastronomy but my molecules are flour substitutes and my gastronomy is baking. Sure, there’s been some schtummers, but I have also made some delicious discoveries.

My sourdough recipe made with half gluten-free flour and half wholemeal spelt, rolled in sesame seeds before baking is a noble loaf. It could hold it’s doughy head high in Bourke Street Bakery and I bet the GF hipsters would be right into it.

Coconut flour is an awesome flavoured flour. Super low in carbs and high in protein and good fats. It’s exxy but you use only about a half as much of it. It is notoriously tricky to work with as it’s sucks moisture like a sponge. That said, I made a spicy salt and pepper crust out of it for fish, and coconut flour banana muffins?
Helllllo…..delish.
Slightly odd texture but I had my fussy 5 year old neighbour here and she scoffed two of those little puppies straight from the oven.

She usually makes Kerry Vincent, Ice Queen of Cakes, look like a pussy. She’s turned her nose up at more of my creations than she’s actually eaten. Not a word of a lie.

My piece de resistance, however, was not a new recipe. I’ve made this cake a million times, never once thinking how good it was for me. Now I know it’s practically a health food.
I would usually put a Grand Marnier cream cheese icing on it, but that would have needed too much stevia and we know how I feel about that, so I made a thick, lucious, chocolate ganache out of sugar free chocolate. Yep, diabetic chocolate.

Diabetic chocolate is sweetened with a product called maltitol and while it’s not as bad as the cancer producing aspartame, it’s probably not actually better for you than sugar.
I was just experimenting with it to see if the integrity of the ganache would be maintained with this product… and boom. Just like the real deal.

Bear in mind it was for my Easter table so I did use a little sugar in the cake but much less than usual. I didn’t eat the bunnies on top. They’re full freight chocolate.
Forgive the lack of photos but I wasn’t planning on blogging it but after I put this image on Facebook, my wall went nuts for the recipe……

gluten free orange cake with sugar free ganache

And what my peeps want, my peeps get.

What you will need :

For orange cake –

  • 4 oranges
  • 6 eggs
  • 100g sugar  plus 1/2 teaspoon of stevia (if you’re not watching your sugar intake, you can just use 200g sugar)
  • 250g almond meal
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

For ganache –

  • 100g sugar free chocolate, broken up
  • 100ml cream

Boil your whole oranges in water for about 1 hour. Drain and cool. When they’re cool, chop off their ends and cut in half to disgard any visible pips.

Puree the fruit in a blender until it is a thick liquid.

Preheat oven to 18oC.

Beat your eggs and your sugar (and sweetener) until creamy, then add your orange puree, almond meal and baking powder.

Place into a greased and lined tin. Make sure it’s a big enough tin because it’s quite a large cake.

Pop into your oven for about an hour or until a skewer comes out clean.

Cool in the tin. Then transfer to a plate for serving.

Pop your cream on a moderate stove in a heavy based saucepan. Add your chocolate and stir until it is all melted. Leave to cool for 5-10 minutes before pouring on your cake.

I start with it in the middle and gently push it out to the edges so it can dribble down in a most enticing fashion.

Iboting with EssentiallyJess cos she’s da bomb….

11 Responses to “A treat amongst the boredom….Gluten-free Orange Cake with Sugar-free Chocolate Ganache”

  1. Rachel April 9, 2013 at 8:29 am #

    Snap! Like you my post this week for IBOT is also about the trials and tribulations faced by those who have dietary requirements such as being gluten free.

    However unlike your post which has a gorgeous recipe and helpful tips, mine is almost entirely UN-helpful and full of piss-takes. So between the two of us I think we pretty much covered everything there is to say on the subject 🙂

  2. Bunny Eats Design April 9, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    Lovely bunny cake!

    Hi, I’m Genie and I’m an internet addict. You should have seen my state last night when our internet switched to dial up speed. I thought the world was ending.

    I don’t think of us as a food addicts more like connoisseurs. We won’t get whatever food we can get down a dodgy back alley.

    p.s. Stevia is the dude that farts in the elevator.

  3. Jeff Steller April 9, 2013 at 8:46 am #

    Hi D,
    Stevia is dreadful. Have you tried Xylitol. Read up on it. I’ve used it for a few years (so has yr mum) and it’s hard to tell the difference from suger (tastewise).
    http://www.naturallysweet.com.au/our-products/xylitol/retail-packs/
    You can even buy little sachets for use with yr cuppa. I just buy the 2.5 kg pack for cooking, etc. Yum for all recipes and doesn’t leave that horrible after-taste.
    Btw I don’t use much sugar, so that pack lasts for ages.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys April 9, 2013 at 8:57 am #

      I think I’ll have to get some. Health food is SO EXPENSIVE, huh???

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 09/04/2013, at 8:46 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  4. Me April 9, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

    Wow – just the receipe I needed to find today having found out yesterday that I have to cut out carbs/wheat, dairy and sugar. It is going to be a change from my current lifestyle but one that will hopefully see me live a healthier life.
    Thanks for sharing your receipe.
    Have the best day !
    Me
    #IBOT visitor

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys April 9, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

      Oh god, and dairy????

      Good luck. Unless you have a severe allergy, may I suggest you cut yourself some slack, otherwise it’s really hard to maintain. I’m sure you’ll feel a million bucks soon. x

  5. always josefa (@always_josefa) April 9, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    What a gorgeous little cake – love the bunnies on top. You are on an incredible culinary adventure with all the different things you are cutting out and trying out instead – good luck with it all
    Josefa from #teamIBOT xx

  6. EssentiallyJess April 9, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

    I love orange cake!
    In my fridge at the moment I have the most delicious looking chocolate cake, just waiting for icing for Boatman’s birthday. It’s got wheat and sugar and I can’t wait to eat it!!! 🙂

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys April 9, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

      I want that one instead of my stinky imposter!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 09/04/2013, at 8:45 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  7. mamagrace71 April 9, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

    Oh, my! That looks sooooo delish! I’ve never used coconut flour. Will have to give it a whirl!

Leave a Reply

