Mad Cow and Gluten-Free Chocolate Biscuits

23 Apr

I wasn’t planning on blogging these tasty little morsels but, after I bragged about them on Facebook on Saturday, I was asked for the recipe.

I was stuck in the house on a torrentially wet day. It was the kind of day you wonder if you should crack out the Paddle Pop sticks and start building an Ark, but my glue gun is AWOL and GluStick was never gonna cut that shit.

D Man had had a bad night with a fever and I thought an early morning dose of Panadol was a wise move.

Au contraire, mon petite chou fleurs.

His morning milk curdled and my Big Gay Salmon (official colour title) couch was the recipient of a candy-pink Linda Blair special. Of course, I felt for him, but I also felt for the BGS couch, oh, and my hair. Once it’s in your hair you’re smelling da vom-vom all damn day.

sick d manHe dozed on and off for hours, with his fever ebbing and flowing. He’d pop his head up for a few minutes, like a little blonde meer cat, then rest it back down as if it was too heavy for his neck.

It really breaks your heart when they’re poorly.

My head goes to all kinds of weird places thinking it’s some horrible exotic disease, rather than some 24 hr bug. Maybe the fever will give him brain damage or spark epilepsy, or, or, or any one of many other horrible fates…I’m a rather dramatic type.

As sad as it was to see my external heart ailing on the sofa, it was nice to have a few moments of peace.

Straight to hell, me.

I needed distraction. There was only one thing for it.

Biscuits.

Not for him. He was sick.

For me.

After a couple of abysmal false starts, I’m really enjoying experimenting with coconut flour.
It definitely has a slightly cakey consistency but I can work with that.

Coconut flour is very high fibre so needs more liquid, and you use much less of it than you would wheat four…..which is lucky because it ain’t the most economical of flours. It does last quite well, however, as you actually use about a quarter as much as normal flour. That said, you don’t cook with it like normal flour at all.

It will never make an awesome crusty sourdough (I discovered it kind of ferments in the process and goes somewhat boozy smelling and bubbly – could be my get  rich quick scheme? Boozy bread), but it can make for some interesting and healthy baked goods.

I’m learning that the fats in coconut oil and coconut flour can actually aid in weight loss. The medium chain triglycerides are digested differently than other fats. I won’t bang on about it, but if you’re interested, read about it. I’m not actually trying to lose weight, but many people would contest that coconuts are full of fat.

It’s good fat, that’s all.

These chocolate biscuits cheered me up no end. All thoughts of childhood disease were banished.  In fact, the reason there’s only one in the picture is because it’s the last one left… I needed to be sure I banished them bad thoughts good.

gluten free, guilt free chocolate biscuit

What you will need :

  • 1/4 cup butter or coconut oil
  • 1/3 cocoa powder
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons sugar, plus 15 drops of stevia (if you’re not watching your sugar, use 1/3 cup sugar)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour, whisk it separately in a bowl to remove lumps first.
  • a few cheeky dark chocolate chips if you’re so inclined

What you need to do:

Preheat oven to 175C

In a saucepan melt butter over low heat. Add cocoa powder and stir to combine. Remove and leave to cool.

In a bowl, combine eggs, sugar, salt, and vanilla, and stir in your cocoa mixture. Whisk your coconut flour in ensuring there are no lumps.

Leave to rest for 5 minutes, it will thicken and puff slightly as the flour absorbs the liquid.

Add choc chips now if you’re going to.

Drop teaspoon sized dollops onto baking paper on a tray and whack in the oven for 14-15 minutes. Makes about 16-18 cookies.

Store in the fridge.

Easy, ready in 20, and yummy! The recipe was courtesy of the Bruce Fife, N.D. Cooking With Coconut Flour Book.

It turns out that we do have something a little bit exotic, if you like a little farmyard with your childhood illness.

Hand, foot and mouth disease.

Just the words make me think of Mad Cows going crazy and eating each other.
Apparently, it’s super common in kids, and highly contagious.

After my blues last week, I’d filled my week this week with great, fun, nurturing outings for us, but now we are sentenced to a week of quarantine.

That should lift my spirits.

Better make some more biscuits….. think this calls for some real ones, no?

Are you a comfort eater?

Eat to live or live to eat?

 

Hooking up with the fabbo Jess, for Ibot. Head to EssentiallyJess for some more blog love.

20 Responses to “Mad Cow and Gluten-Free Chocolate Biscuits”

  1. coloursofsunset April 23, 2013 at 8:58 am #

    damnit now I want to have some cookies i made yesterday FOR THE KIDS with my tea. must.not.do.it! I am an emotional eater. I didn’t want a piece of cake at tennis last week until we lost a set, when I stormed off and shoved not one, but TWO pieces down my throat. Then hated myself. ahhhhh it’s a vicious cycle! x Aroha (#teamIBOT)

  2. Have a laugh on me April 23, 2013 at 2:02 pm #

    I totally ADORE tasting food and it takes every ounce of my being not to smash back goodies every day – it’s the flavours. I wish Willy Wonka would make some of that gum that tastes like deep fried Camembert with plum sauce – DROOL! x

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys April 23, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

      It’s such an 80’s thing but how good is fried camembert??? That gum would give you weird cheese breath though.

      Hot.

  3. Me April 23, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

    Those sound yummy and as I have recently changed to a paleo lifestyle, I am on the lookout for good snacks. We made some muffins with coconut flour on the weekend and they were really delicious. As you say, you don’t use much so the 500g I bought should last us ages – except when I find recipes like this in which case it may not last as long as I thought !!!
    Do you think I could substitute the stevia for all the sugar as I can’t have sugar either ?
    Have a great day and thanks for sharing this !
    Me

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys April 23, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

      Use xylitol, in crystal form. It bakes like sugar but has no weird arse flavour. Stevia is a bit manky, I reckon. Once mine is finished, I’ll only use xylitol.

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 23/04/2013, at 2:25 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  4. always josefa (@always_josefa) April 23, 2013 at 8:51 pm #

    I raise my hand in admitting that I am a comfort eater – not a comfort cooker – just an eater. Love that photo – makes me want to sit down, put my feet up and relax for a minute. My little men aren’t well either at the moment – hope your little one is on the mend xx

  5. bubsweatandtears April 23, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

    I’m afraid I eat to live – and sadly my cooking is reflective of that. All my mates who live to eat are just SUCH BETTER COOKS (your biscuits look incredibly delectable-along with the precious pic of your lovely sleeping child)

  6. rhian @melbs April 23, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

    They sound yum, I have been trying out coconut oil for the last few months, it has got a lovely flavour, I have heard about coconut flour too, can’t seem to find it anywhere though. Hope your little one is better now.

  7. belwu April 23, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

    Panadol had made all 3 of my kids hurl when i’ve tried it (such fun), dymadon seems to work for us. An interesting table from David Gillespie on Sarah Wilson’s blog is here http://www.sarahwilson.com.au/2011/03/artificial-sweeteners-are-any-ok/

    I have really found that giving up sugar and eating cleaner means I do not crave sugar or the salty chips I used to long for – each to their own though I thoroughly believe

    Hope the little guy is feeling better and you guys are getting some fresh air – Saturday very much deserved a day indoors doing nothing x

    Bel

  8. Adrianne April 23, 2013 at 11:39 pm #

    Me, I’m a comfort sleeper! Eating is all fine and good, but a lot of times I wish I could just pop a pill so I wouldn’t have to be bothered to figure out what I want to eat, then mess with cooking it too. And yes, I KNOW that makes me the weirdest female on the planet:)

    Anyway.

    I do love me some cookies, and as I’m newly GF (due to intolerance), I really appreciate this recipe. Baked goods is one thing I think I’ll mourn forever on the GF diet, so it would be nice to find some good substitutes! I’m going to take your word for it and try these cookies….which will require that I buy some coconut flour! I hope they’re worth it, haha:)

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys April 24, 2013 at 7:21 am #

      Oh sleep. Yeah. I gave that up when I had kids. I comfort eat as a substitute!!!

      If you miss baked goods, I reckon coconut flour is worth a shot. Do you play around with GF flours?

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 23/04/2013, at 11:39 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

      • Adrianne April 24, 2013 at 11:28 pm #

        You know, I’m still really new to this, and, let’s face it, lazy, so I haven’t done anything in the way of baking yet. I think I’m a little intimidated and nervous that if it turns out horribly I’ll be really depressed. A life without cookies is no life at all and right now I can still just kind of pretend that I’m on a little cookie hiatus.

        In fact, just writing this and keeping in mind that I think you’re Australian made me realize that I can’t have Tim Tams anymore and I can’t tell you how sad that makes me! 😦

      • Keeping Up With The Holsbys April 25, 2013 at 6:41 am #

        Tim tams are over rated…. Baking is not hard, and it’s not time consuming. Pretend you’re a scientist discovering new things to eat. Imagine the first person to make cheese, or chocolate. They just took some stuff and made it better. You can do that too xxx

        Sent from my iPhone

        On 24/04/2013, at 11:28 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  9. Salee Reese April 24, 2013 at 12:05 am #

    Jotted down your reciipe. My kind of stuff—can’t wait!
    Salee

  10. momsasaurus April 24, 2013 at 7:36 am #

    HF&M? Ugh. Poor kiddo. It runs rampant around here where we live, but somehow we’ve managed to avoid it so far. It can be contagious for weeks! Even after all the symptoms are gone. Those are the kind of germs that keep me scrubbing the house with bleach on a weekly (ok daily) basis. I think I need an intervention.

    Hope the little guy is feeling better soon. Glad you got some chocolate yummies in the meantime though!

  11. mamagrace71 April 24, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

    Oh, wow! Yum! These look so good!
    I tend to be a comfort eater – and my comfy tummy shows for it!

  12. www.dreampositive.info July 24, 2013 at 2:52 am #

    I seriously love your site.. Great colors & theme.
    Did you develop this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my very own website and would like to find out where you got this from or just what the theme is called. Kudos!

  13. blogs July 2, 2014 at 3:59 pm #

    I’m more than happy to discover this page.
    I want to to thank you for your time just for this fantastic read!!
    I definitely really liked every bit of it and i also have
    you book-marked to look at new things on your blog.

Leave a Reply

