1

7 May

Kiki turns 1 364 days.

Tomorrow, will be 365, and then you are one.

I can’t believe it. Although I clearly remember the second you were born, it feels like you’ve been here all along, or maybe you’ve just always been with me in one form or another.

You’ve had a couple of colds, you’ve got a couple of teeth, you’ve taken a couple of assisted steps. In many ways, on the grand scheme of babies, you are unremarkable, but that’s only  if you’re not looking properly.

Your great grandmother, Grand Nana, wrote you a letter saying how sometimes you just know that a child is an angel straight from heaven. It sounds a little schmaltzy, but Kiki, you have a light inside you. Such a tiny person, with such a big, shining light.

You just smile at everyone and they can’t help but love you. Your flashing dimples are like a prize that you give freely.

You’ve been known to throw yourself at people for a cuddle. Sometimes you know them, sometimes you don’t. You choose them, though, and make their day.

You’re fierce, too. You defend yourself well against your big brother and I can see you’re fiery. I like that in a girl, although I’m sure by the time you’re 13 I’ll reconsider that sentence, when you’re giving me a run for my money.

My darling, at 12 months you’re trying to walk and trying to talk, and trying to be like your big brother. You love food, often squawking like a gremlin if someone has something and hasn’t offered you any. You’ll put your head down, and determinedly crawl, with the force of a wombat, over to claim some nosh. You don’t care that you only have two bottom teeth. You’ll try anything. Your Papa jokes that the only time you cry is between dinner and dessert.

You have the most amazingly soft skin, and you love to crawl naked on the couch. Up and down. Up and down. Must feel liberating or something because you don’t do it as much with your kit on. I love to cuddle you before bath time. I take your clothes off and just run my hands over your back and arms as you sit on my lap. The feel of you is intoxicating, and fills me with great, big, crazy love.

You have a husky laugh. Sometimes it surprises me because you laugh at the strangest things. I guess you get that from me. One day you, too, will be the only person laughing loudly at the cinema. It’s good to see humor where others don’t. Life is funny at inopportune moments.

kiki turns 1 You’re a very cuddly baby, and when you rest your little head into the crook of my neck, something inside me just melts. These days are going by so fast, and soon you’ll be a toddler, a child, a teen, and then grown. Sometimes it just flashes before me, and I want to hold you tight, envelope you into me and just keep you almost 1.

But then I’d miss all the fun we’re going to have. The learning about each other, and the discussions about life and the fights about freedom, and how much I don’t understand you because I could never possibly have felt like you and all of the crazy stuff that happens before you set off on your own.

I’ll just take a mental snap shot of this moment. I’ll take a gazillion photos, and write a few thousand words so I remember this year.
This has unarguably been one of the hardest years of my life to date, little one. For various reasons.

But let me assure you, that far outweighing the difficulties, this has also been the best year of my life, because you came to complete our family, and in many ways, you completed my heart.

Happy first birthday, Miss Kiki Wiggles. You are truly delicious.

kiki ah 3

Hooking up with Team Ibot over with EssentiallyJess, who is also pretty delicious, coincidently.

31 Responses to “1”

  1. monk-monk May 7, 2013 at 7:10 am #

    The writing + pictures melts my heart…few tears here at my desk. Sniff. Sniff. it’s ALLERGIES people! 😉

  2. Roar Sweetly May 7, 2013 at 7:30 am #

    That first photo is the sweetest photo. Ever. I can see her inner light. (Methinks I’ve got allergies too!)

  3. blowingoffsteamandmore May 7, 2013 at 8:10 am #

    I love this post!!!! It almost makes me want to have another baby. ALMOST. Isn’t it amazing how fast they grow up?? She is beautiful!!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 7, 2013 at 8:14 am #

      Ha! Go back through my archive if you want an antidote to that!!

      Thanks for the love x

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 07/05/2013, at 8:10 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  4. iSophie May 7, 2013 at 9:00 am #

    What a beautiful post! I love the photos, they really do capture her so purely. She will read this when she is grown and just be so grateful she has you for a mother and realise what an impact she had on her family. #teamIBOT

  5. Adrianne May 7, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    What a gorgeous girl! Congratulations to you on a year well-lived and Happy Birthday to your little sweetie:)

  6. livingthemamalife May 7, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

    What beautiful words. Happy birthday Little Miss!

  7. Cooker and a Looker May 7, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

    Happy birthday Kiki!

  8. Twitchy (@TwitchyCorner) May 7, 2013 at 4:38 pm #

    Oh, that’s a face! Lovely tribute from Mum. Happy Birthday Kiki 😀

  9. Stacey-Lee May 7, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

    Such a gorgeous bub you have and beautiful words from Mum.

  10. Dani @ Sand Has No Home May 7, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

    Oh wow, what a beautiful little girl! As the mama of an 11 month old, I’m with you on kind of wanting to keep them at just this delicious, delightful age, but I too am looking forward to the wonders of what is yet to come. Happy birthday Kiki x

  11. Kyla @ Three Quarters Full May 7, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

    Oh what a gorgeous little girl, they do grow just too fast, don’t they? Happy birthday little miss.

  12. Have a laugh on me May 7, 2013 at 8:53 pm #

    Adorable – but be careful how you word these things, I wrote, spoke and even spend BIG BUCKS on our “completed” family of 4 and ta-da – step on up No.3 – who I wouldn’t trade for all the plonk in the universe!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 7, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

      Oh, shit. Did I just jinx myself???

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 07/05/2013, at 8:53 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  13. always josefa (@always_josefa) May 7, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

    What a gorgeous post and gorgeous photos – I suspect that those adorable big eyes are going to win many hearts one day Happy Birthday little Miss Holsby xx

  14. Meagan May 7, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

    Gahhh!! Cluck cluck cluck!! She is Devine Mrs Holsby and your words are just so sweet and enchanting to read. She is one lucky lil gal too. Happy Birthday for the morn Kiki. Xx

  15. EssentiallyJess May 7, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    I loved this post. Especially the part about feeling like they have always been with you. I get that so much.
    Happy birthday beautiful girl xxx

  16. Zanni Arnot May 7, 2013 at 11:17 pm #

    Oh my gosh, what a cutie patootie!!! Happy birthday special girl and special mum. xx

  17. momsasaurus May 8, 2013 at 3:27 am #

    Oh my goodness. This post made ME all melty and teary and wanting to snuggle MY baby (who is currently napping so there is no way in hell I’m actually going to go wake her up just for a cuddle!) Happy Birthday sweet little one!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 8, 2013 at 7:57 am #

      Never wake the sleeping baby!! I was teary as I wrote it that’s when I know it’s coming from THAT place.

  18. yinyangmother May 8, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

    Happy birthday beautiful Kikki – your Mum writes such beautiful works and takes such lovely photos of you in all your goregousness. I have a tear of joy in my eye for you, and a little sadness for myself. We didn’t meet our gorgeous girl until we adopted her at 13 months old. We were fortunate to meet our son at 8.5 months, but only have two photos of him before the day we became a family.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 10, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

      Well, you know that only solution for that is to photograph the crap out of your precious munchkins from now until forever!!!
      They’ll grow up being all like ‘no papparazzi’ and show you the hand 😉
      Thanks for touching base with me. Your blog just filled me with emotion. I love that.

  19. absandlol May 8, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

    What a gorgeous post! Took me right back to my Ginger’s first year.
    Beautifully written, i’ll admit I did reach for a tissue 🙂

  20. Monique - Your Cheeky Monkey June 6, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    Thank you for entering your post in the DP Blog Carnival!

  21. robomum June 30, 2013 at 10:58 pm #

    Cluckety Cluck! What a gorgeous bubs! I love me a little blondey blue. Happy Birthday! DPBC visitor X

Leave a Reply

