An Enduring Love Story…

10 May

Two days before I was due to photograph the 50th wedding anniversary vow renewal of this  Groom and his Bride, I was invited into their home so we could get acquainted before the big day.

In this old school Italian family’s home, I sat at the table with the happy couple and some dear old friends of theirs who had been married for 43 years.

This here marriage novice had the most insightful discussion with these nuptial heavy weights on the secret to longevity in a union. We ate cheese and figs and drank wine and in no time I felt like I was part of the family, and it was beautiful.

The big day was touched gently by sadness, as it also marked the end of a mourning period after the loss of a dear one, but I truly believe I saw many generations of this family present, those with us and those passed, all celebrating 50 years of amore and famiglia.

LOVE & FAMILY

What else is important?

Nothing.

I’m honoured to have been able to chronicle the day, and capture just a few of the precious moments that this family had.

The biggest thing I’ll take away with me from this experience were the words of the Groom, the evening we met.

‘In life, in the home, there will be storms, but soon, the sun… she come out.’

Sage advice for a novice.

an enduring love storyan enduring love story

an enduring love story an enduring love story

an enduring love story

an enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love story

an enduring love story

an enduring love story

an enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love story

an enduring love story

an enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love story

an enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love story

an enduring love story an enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love story

an enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love story

an enduring love story

an enduring love story

an enduring love storyan enduring love story

an enduring love story

an enduring love story

an enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love story

an enduring love storyan enduring love story

enduring love story

an enduring love storyan enduring love storyA love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love story

an enduring love storyan enduring love storyan enduring love story

 

21 Responses to “An Enduring Love Story…”

  1. Kristie May 10, 2013 at 7:24 am #

    This brought tears to my eyes. How wonderful that they’re still so in love after all these years. It gives me hope that kind of love actually does exist.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 10, 2013 at 7:27 am #

      I know, right? It was a very special day. There a lot of love going on! Her original bridesmaid was there so I even learnt about enduring friendship.
      Special.

  2. Kevin May 10, 2013 at 7:55 am #

    How shitfuckinamazing are you at photography!!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 10, 2013 at 8:22 am #

      Do you really think so??? It’s a new thing for me so I’m still making it up as I go along!!
      Thanks for that comment though. I think you just made my day!!

      • Kevin May 10, 2013 at 8:47 am #

        Your pictures tell stories really well.

      • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 10, 2013 at 8:51 am #

        Thanks, Kev x

        Sent from my iPhone

        On 10/05/2013, at 8:47 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  3. Lisa May 10, 2013 at 8:58 am #

    This is a beautiful post and makes me smile … Love … Family, and taken for granted too often (by me). They look too young to have been married for 50 years! Gorgeous photos too, you captured some great moments. I like the one the little girl almost doing a wink!

  4. momsasaurus May 10, 2013 at 10:37 am #

    Some truly beautiful photographs. You really do have a gift; I don’t know these people or anything about them but through your words and photography I feel like I do. I feel like I was there to witness the love and joy because it shines through so strongly in the pictures you took. Amazing.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 10, 2013 at 2:48 pm #

      Thanks so much. I really loved being a part of the occasion (and I took a gazillion pics!), so it was truly a pleasure.

  5. Bunny Eats Design May 10, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    You did a fantastic job. The love on that day must have been electric and contagious. 50 year! That’s quite an achievement. We just celebrated 4 years. Only 46 to go!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 10, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

      48 for me. Our ‘first dance’ might be in wheelchairs!!

      Thanks, babe xxx

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 10/05/2013, at 12:01 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  6. starryslippers May 10, 2013 at 3:25 pm #

    THis made me all weepy too, beautifully captured. 30 years to go here, ekk.

  7. Cooker and a Looker May 14, 2013 at 5:47 am #

    Man I hope we’re still as happy as these two when Bearhands and I notch up fifty!

  8. tric May 16, 2013 at 7:51 am #

    Wow! spectacular photos. You stayed on the ball all day. My favourite is the one of them both sitting down and giving each other a kiss. Really beautiful! A great diary of a special day.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 16, 2013 at 9:15 am #

      I took a million shots!! Thanks for your kind words. I love that image too. Pleased you enjoyed their story.

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 16/05/2013, at 7:51 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 3 treats from Danielle from Keeping Up With the Holsbys | the illiterate infant - June 29, 2013

    […] There has been some great posts by Mum’s writing about their partners in the Illiterate Infant’s Mum’s on Dads guest post series and this is no exception. Today we welcome Danielle who writes with the perfect balance of  honesty, creativity and dry witt over at keepingupwiththeholsbys. When she’s not entertaining me with her clever perspectives on un-friending etiquette or surviving toddlers she’s writing honestly about domestic violence or the importance of love and family. […]

Leave a Reply

