Altruistic Pizza

21 May

homemade pizza ingredientsMister H’s favorite food is pizza.

When we first met he probably had a pizza once a week. A big greasy, cheesy yummy one with pepperoni and anchovies. We had some rockin’ pizza delivery places in our old ‘hood.

Many evenings, when exhaustion ringed my eyes, he would altruistically suggest we get a pizza delivered.

If I called him at work saying I was having a terrible day, he would suggest pizza.

When I’m sick and unable to cook, he will suggest pizza.

If my arms were broken or amputated, he would suggest pizza.

He will always take one (‘za) for the team, my man. (Disclaimer: may or may not have exaggerated slightly – sorry, darling.)

Since moving to the ‘burbs we’ve been in a pizza wasteland. With much anticipation and hope in our hearts we’ve had deliveries of all kinds of pizza.

Too cheesy.

Hard to believe there could be such a thing, but when your entire mouth is cloyed and cemented, you gotta call it how you see it. We could barely make it through a couple of pieces and we threw the rest away. Sacrilege!

Too greasy.

Shouldn’t drip oil down to your elbow. Just wrong.

Too doughy.

Shouldn’t need a set of Jaws of Life to chew through your pie.

Too much by way of topping.

Suburban pizzerias think more is more when it comes to their skyscraping pizza. The Godfather would roll in his grave if he saw these atrocities against Italy.

I started making my own, and I have to say, I’ve actually mastered the art, except that one time I was talking myself up hard but in the midst of my dough making the police arrived to take a statement about a break-in and I forgot where I was up to. I forgot to add the olive oil to my dough and it is integral it seems. That was a sad day.

Stolen goods, and dodgy pizza.

homemade pizza dough A chip off the old block (of cheese), D Man loves pizza, so this is an awesome recipe to do with your kids. It’s easy for them to be involved and not create too much havoc.

For the best dough, you need a good strong gluten filled dough, as the gluten is what gives it the brilliant elasticity needed to fling that pizza dough like a real pizza man, but in light of the wheat reduction around these here parts, today I’ve use half wholemeal spelt, and half gluten-free flours.

It didn’t get the stretch, but I rolled it out, and it crisped nicely…. no complaints from the two pizza connoisseurs anyway!

This recipe will make four pizzas.

What you will need :

  • 1 cup lukewarm water
  • 2 teaspoons dry yeast
  • 1 ¼ teaspoons sugar
  • 1 ½ tablespoons olive oil, plus extra, for greasing
  • 4 cups flour, plus extra, for dusting. I used 2 gluten-free, 2 wholemeal spelt, but I reckon plain i
  • 1 ¼ teaspoons salt
  • tomato paste
  • garlic
  • basil and oregano, dried and/or fresh
  • your favorite pizza toppings

What you will need to do :

Mix the lukewarm water, yeast and sugar together in a small bowl until combined, then leave in a warm place for 5 minutes or until frothy. Stir in your olive oil.

Pop your flour and salt together into a large bowl and whisk it to remove any lumps because we’re too lazy to sift.

Pour the yeast mixture over the flour and use your hands to bring the mixture together to form a dough. Turn the dough out onto your clean counter and use the heel of your hands to work the dough for 5 minutes until it is smooth and elastic. Gluten free flours do not become elastic, so don’t panic if you’re trying a reduced gluten dough.

Lightly grease the inside of a clean dry bowl with oil and place the dough inside. Chuck a tea towel over the dough and leave in a warm place to prove for 45-60 minutes.

Normal flour will double in size, but wholemeal spelt, or GF only rises a little.

Dust a clean work surface lightly with the extra flour and tip out the dough. Give it a couple of hits to knock back any air, and roll into a nice ball, then cut into quarters. Roll each quarter into a ball and then work it into your desired shaped.

I used rectangular baking trays instead of the traditional round, just because it’s what I have. D Man preparing his own pizzaPlace the dough balls on a lightly greased baking tray, cover and leave in a warm place to prove for 15 minutes, while your prepare your toppings.

I squirt a wad of tomato paste on the dough, and throw my crushed garlic on top and then sprinkle dried herbs. That way, when I smear it all over the pizza it all combines.

Then I do a modest sprinkle of cheese for myself and D Man, whilst Mister H likes it a bit cheesier. The thing about making them at home is you can create them exactly how you like them.

Perfect for a control freak pizza connoisseur. C’est moi.

perfect homemade pizza Some topping suggestions are –

  • thinly sliced potato, rosemary and Italian sausage
  • roast capsicum, olive, pepperoni, sliced tomato and fresh rocket on top
  • pumpkin, fetta, bacon and spinach
  • Super Supreme – The Lot!

Chuck into a preheated 200C oven and cook for about 25 minutes, until browned and crisp.

Cut into pieces, and allow to cool for a minute so as not to burn the knobbly bit behind your teeth as you bite.

D Man eating pizza

PS I made a Holsby TV episode using this exact recipe and my minion cooked it whilst I kicked back and raised money for charity.

Check it out, yo.

Hooking it up with Jess because I blog on Tuesdays…. Hiya, L’il J.

 

Cook Once, Feed All COVER_lr

Cook Once, Feed All is about making your life easier whilst preparing nutritious and quick food for your family. Hailed by Mouths of Mums as the ‘must have recipe book for all families’, this book is a collection of family friendly recipes, all accompanied by stories from my life.

To order your hardcopy of Cook Once, Feed All  head to the Holsby Shop right now.

If you like what you’re reading why not like my Facebook page now or subscribe via email, to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

20 Responses to “Altruistic Pizza”

  1. monk-monk May 21, 2013 at 9:14 am #

    Oh yeah, I’m going to have to try this! I love pizza…I would eat it every day if I could (like, if we didn’t live in a size-obsessed culture, I certainly WOULD eat it every day. dang salads).

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 21, 2013 at 9:15 am #

      You don’t win friends with salad!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 21/05/2013, at 9:14 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  2. Rhianna (@aparentinglife) May 21, 2013 at 9:21 am #

    We often make our own pizza’s here but use a pita wrap as the base. Thanks for sharing the recipe though I might go and give it a go next time.

    fairy wishes and butterfly kisses #teamIBOT

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 21, 2013 at 10:55 am #

      That’s great for a quickie, isn’t it? I also use tortillas for little pizzas for kid’s lunch.

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 21/05/2013, at 9:21 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  3. Rachel May 21, 2013 at 10:47 am #

    My three boys will also suggest pizza out of the good ness of their hearts if they suspect that “Mummy’s had a busy day”. They are so sincere it nearly always works! This looks super-delish and since my lot are always bugging me to “help” in the kitchen I think I’ll give this a whirl! Rach xx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 21, 2013 at 10:56 am #

      Ah boys… So caring!

      It’s fun, Rach. Less messy and more productive than craft!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 21/05/2013, at 10:47 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

      • Rachel May 21, 2013 at 11:08 am #

        Actually that’s a really good way to think of it. I’ll do pretty much anything to avoid craft AND we get lunch into the bargain #winning!

  4. always josefa (@always_josefa) May 21, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

    Great pizza! I would love one with Italian sausage for dinner tonight, please?
    We have a good old fashioned wood fire oven in our backyard, so when the weather behaves itself it is pizza time – but I must admit, I cheat and buy the dough from the local hot bread shop – still works out super yummy. Love your photos xx
    Josefa from #teamIBOT

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 21, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      I’d love a wood fire! That’s the real deal. One Italian special coming right up!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 21/05/2013, at 4:30 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  5. Cooker and a Looker May 21, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

    We make our own dough too, but yours has different ingredients to mine. I’m going to test drive yours next time. I’ll be back to crown you supreme pizza master when I go. Yep, it’s another pun that had to be done. x

  6. Me May 21, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

    I am totally in awe of anyone who makes their own pizza !! Good work !
    Have the best day !
    Me

  7. Have a laugh on me May 21, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

    My fussy li’ shits don’t even like the pizza they make, however, if they don’t eat it they starve! Our rule these days! Have to say I ADORE that your hubby suggests pizza a lot, I do that – cos I don’t wanna cook! 🙂

  8. Roar Sweetly May 22, 2013 at 11:42 am #

    These really look amazing. Tomorrow’s lunch….sorted.

  9. Bunny Eats Design May 22, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

    Home made pizza is the best! We’re lazy so we use tortillas as a base. Store bought pizzas are generally disappointing these days. A last resort only. Interesting you should say “too doughy” for pizza. Around here, the trend is for crispy bases and I’d forgotten what a dough pizza was like. Went to a pizza joint last week and was pleasantly reminded. Pillowy rather than chewy but very, very fresh. I’ve never had any luck with pillow soft pizza bases, Mine turn out hard so the thinner the better in that case.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 22, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

      I like crunchy too. Not cheese stuffed crust extravaganza!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 22/05/2013, at 12:00 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  10. momsasaurus May 22, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

    Will for sure be trying this. Also, I love how you labeled the “mixed herbs.” Wouldn’t want anyone to think you’re baking up some magic brownies next. 😉

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys May 22, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

      That’s a whole different blog, babe!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 22/05/2013, at 12:30 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  11. EssentiallyJess May 22, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

    Oh man I want pizza now!!! i love pizza. So much. I think it should be an every day food

  12. Lisa@RandomActsOfZen May 23, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    Ooh, this looks like goood pizza!
    We have a local that was loaded with fabulous toppings, all fresh and delicious, but the base was like cardboard. Much prefer homemade now.

Leave a Reply

