Ugly Sexy is the new Hot… 8 of my faves

25 Jun

I have been known to have left-field taste when it comes to the smellier sex. Beauty is absolutely in the eye of the beholder, but every now and then even the beholder crumples their eyebrows together in a quizzical fashion and thinks –

‘Really???’

You know how sometimes you see someone across the room and think they’re as ugly as a hat full of arseholes, and yet when you talk to them you find them strangely desirable?

I can’t believe I find these dudes sexy, in fact, I should really probably keep it a secret. Don’t judge me, for I am just an animal and I can’t control these things.

Have a look at these sexy ugly schmos….

Jack Black

Jack-black

I have no idea what it is. He’s short, he’s chubby and he looks like he smells quite funky, and yet….
He doesn’t take himself seriously and seems very naughty in all the right ways. I reckon a night out with Jack would be raucous and hilarious. He’d take you out for Mexican and karaoke.
And he totally rocks the orange Yo Gabba Gabba suit (if you like that kind of thing).

jack-black yo gabba gabba

Heston Blumenthal

Heston-Blumenthal

Β Heston is a little bit ginger, and a little bit ruddy, a little bit baldy and a little bit awkward.
Heston is also a little bit nerdy.
(Actually, that sounds like I just described my husband!!!)
Mix these elements together and you get someone hot. His experimental nature, his sense of fun and the way he pushes boundaries is super appealing……as is the thought of bacon and egg ice-cream in bed.

Adrian Brody

adrian brody

I just can’t put my finger on it with this guy. He’s beakier than Gonzo, and appears to be compiled of sharp edges all put together to make a man.
He did something to me in the Pianist and I’ve never gotten over it.

Hugh Fearnley -Wittingstall

hugh fearnley wittingstall

Β I like dudes that can cook. I find a man in the kitchen quite sexy, unless he leaves a mess like Chernobyl. I think everyone would agree that Chernobyl was not sexy.
This scruffy haired host of the River Cottage just seems like a nice guy with a great food philosophy, and he can totally rock a bed of vegetables. One would need to be slightly cautious with said bed, however.
Is that a carrot in your pocket, Hugh?

Jack White

jack-white-pic

Emo, moody, kooky and quite odd. Jack White’s a ridiculously talented mo’fo who has some serious sex appeal. If you squint he looks like Johnny Depp’s cousin.
I would encourage him to either have a good night’s sleep or use a touch of concealer as he can bust out some eye bags like he’s done ten rounds with Tyson.

Steve Carrel

steve carrel

I hated 40 Year Old Virgin. I tried to watch it three times and each time I never got to the end. It sucks. It’s terrible.
Date Night? Appalling.
However, I saw Steve in indie flick Dan in Real Life opposite Juliette Binoche and I found him just lovely. He has lovely eyes, and a good sense of humor. Well, Dan did. I thought he’d be old enough to be my Dad but then I realised that I’m old too, so it’s not true.
How did I get so close to 40? At least I’m not a virgin.

Eddie Izzard

eddie izzard

I know, right? He’s a man half in drag….and yet?
Everyone agrees that a great sense of humor is attractive. Someone that can make you laugh is almost always 3/5 of 1/2 the way into your knicks.
In the case of Eddie Izzard, you could also borrow his knickers and probably shoes. I have big feet so this is sexier than you could imagine.
Possibly get some strange looks catching the bus together, but I’m not afraid of a little controversy.

Hugh Laurie

hugh-laurie

It’s not really about Hugh Laurie. I never found him appealing in Blackadder.Β So that leads me to conclude that my sexy ugly crush is all about House. Doctor Greg House the bad tempered, Vicadin addicted, wunderkind with the acerbic wit. It’s about the acerbic-ness I think. It appeals to my inner arsehole.

David Caruso

David-Caruso

Only joking.

Do you have a sexy ugly crush? Who is it? Go on, tell me!

If you have enjoyed this post be sure to like my Facebook page now, or subscribe via email and you can be sure to keep up with the Holsbys.

Hooking up with the gorgeous Jess at EssentiallyJess for some fun lovin’ IBOT action.

Still flogging my ugly sexy horse over at Flog Your Blog Friday with the divine Mama G.

57 Responses to “Ugly Sexy is the new Hot… 8 of my faves”

  1. ksbeth June 25, 2013 at 7:36 am #

    Ricky gervais, his humor makes me drawn to him like a fly to….

  2. thecookingchook June 25, 2013 at 7:42 am #

    For me, it’s Jason Statham. He’s not very pretty at all, but he makes me swoon!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 25, 2013 at 8:17 am #

      See, I would just say he’s straight up sexy. Rugged? Sure. Ugly? No way. Hot hot hot!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 25/06/2013, at 7:42 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  3. The Thrifty Issue June 25, 2013 at 7:51 am #

    I tried … I really did. I looked back over your pics (twice) and nope, can’t find anything sexy there! I’ve always had a thing for Tom Jones though πŸ™‚ Cheers, Alison #IBOT

  4. Kate June 25, 2013 at 8:04 am #

    Just about wet myself laughing at David Caruso, only joking! Thanks for the lol.

    • Triple Jane June 25, 2013 at 11:52 am #

      Me too, he is just repellent on so many levels.

  5. cjsunshine June 25, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    For me it’s Nathan Buckley (Collingwood Coach). I get excited when hubby watches Collingwood play because I get to perv on Nathan. :/

  6. cookie1986 June 25, 2013 at 8:42 am #

    I loved this. My husband and I have a “oddly attractive” list too. And here I thought that i was the only one who thought Adrian Brody was hot.
    PS. David Caruso IS on my list. For Realsies.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 25, 2013 at 8:48 am #

      Get out!!! Caruso????
      I’d love to see the rest of the list that he’s on πŸ˜‰

      • cookie1986 June 25, 2013 at 11:07 am #

        Drew Carey is on it……..and yes. I LOVE David Caruso. Cheesy CSI character and all.
        I’m a sick woman.

  7. Kevin June 25, 2013 at 8:47 am #

    I’m wondering if I can do a follow up post on kids television presenters I have crushes on?

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 25, 2013 at 8:56 am #

      Are you crushing on Jimmy Giggle? He’s cute as!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 25/06/2013, at 8:47 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

      • Kevin June 25, 2013 at 8:57 am #

        we could go old school and talk about Sophie Lee

      • Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 25, 2013 at 9:40 am #

        Yeah, I never really got into Sophie, although she was hotter than Miss Jane.

        Sent from my iPhone

        On 25/06/2013, at 8:58 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

      • Kevin June 25, 2013 at 9:41 am #

        or that bird that did the lambchop show

  8. Mumabulous June 25, 2013 at 9:18 am #

    I think we should settle down for the afternoon with a bottle of red to discuss this topic. I have so much to say about TWC (thinking women’s crumpet) but for now just a few names – James May, Richard Fidler, James Valentine, Alan Rickman, Dylan Moran, Stephen Colbert, Louis Theroux, Simon Pegg, Alain De Botton, PJ O’Rourke, Kevin Kline. I really could go on all day πŸ˜‰
    Keep up the good work
    PS: David Caruso is one of the few red heads I dont find attractive.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 25, 2013 at 9:38 am #

      Same on Caruso. I have a penchant for ginge. I forgot Louis Theroux. He is sexy!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 25/06/2013, at 9:18 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  9. Yvette @ Little Bento Blog June 25, 2013 at 9:25 am #

    LOVE IT!!!! YES to Ugly Sexy!!!! Jack Black and Steve Carrell!!!

  10. Cassandra Howell June 25, 2013 at 9:56 am #

    OMG I’m SOOOOOOO glad you were only joking about Caruso. I was about to defriend you. Seriously.

  11. Renee at Mummy, Wife, Me June 25, 2013 at 10:56 am #

    I will NEVER get sick of seeing Jack Black in that orange Yo Gabba Gabba outfit lol. I can understand the attraction with Jack Black. He’s as funny as hell. As is Steve Carrell. Oh, and love Adrian Brody too. As for the others, I’d need a little more convincing.

  12. finallygotsomethingtosay June 25, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    I’m with you on Hugh Laurie, as House. I also have kind of an intellectual crush on Jon Stewart. Smart guys are hot! I know I have other examples… but I’m drawing a blank. I do have kind of a fake non-sexy example. When my husband and I started dating, we went to see “X-Men,” his choice. I knew nothing about the movie. When Wolverine appeared on the screen, I was mesmerized. They made him look short and hairy, but holy crap he was still so hot! I was actually confused. I was drawn to him without knowing why. Granted, in real life he is hot. But in that movie, less so. I’ll have to remember my other crushes.

  13. finallygotsomethingtosay June 25, 2013 at 11:22 am #

    David Tennant! Does he count? He’s not ugly, but not traditionally hot, either.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 25, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

      I think David Tennant counts. Not ugly exactly, but he’s an awkward head.

      • finallygotsomethingtosay June 26, 2013 at 5:13 am #

        My husband would say Benedict Cumberbatch counts, too. He looks hot to me as “Sherlock,” but when I saw him interviewed, he seemed odd looking. He’s only hot when acting?

  14. themisscinders June 25, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    This post should come with a seriously BIG warning!!! LOL

    i can’t think of any…. and i can’t agree with any of yours… except maybe jack white, and that’s only because of the squinting! lol

    MC x
    #teamIBOT

  15. Triple Jane June 25, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    Don’t judge me, especially since I bagged out David Caruso earlier, but i find Kerry O’Brien very sexy. That way he kind of looks like he’s smiling when he’s being totally serious. He’s looking a bit old now, but back in his prime on the 7.30 report, HOT. Hubby got annoyed at my perving on him.

  16. Bunny Eats Design June 25, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

    Brody yes. He’s got a cool expressive face. I don’t think he’s ugly at all. Perhaps I need to watch The Pianist. Nope to the others. I respect some of them (spesh Heston and Hugh) and would love to cook and eat with them, but bed them? Nah.

  17. Mandy June 25, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

    yeap that’s an odd list sorry! lol. I don’t mind steve carrel, but the rest. :/ but that’s what makes the world go around I guess, no fun if we all have the same taste.

  18. Virginia fielding June 25, 2013 at 1:23 pm #

    James Gandolfini my number one sexy / ugly guy and not just because he passed away last week.

  19. JodiGibson (@JFGibsonWriter) June 25, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

    Love Jack Black! Also have a strange thing for Russell Brand. Also Josh Charles from The Good Wife. He’s hot, but not perfectly sexy either with that big honker!

  20. Lisa June 25, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

    I found myself agreeing with so much of your list – except Jack White isn’t ugly, the man is insanely hot and talented and… oh, I could go on for a while. My favourite ‘ugly’ crush has to be Steve Buscemi – he has a face like a bag of marbles, but I just think he’s lovely…

    • Triple Jane June 25, 2013 at 6:23 pm #

      Yes I agree. I don’t know what it is. He clearly looks like he just escaped a lunatic asylum in EVERY movie but there is def something there.

  21. bokolm June 25, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    I have a weird thing for Damien Lewis and David Wenham. Both redheads – not usually my thing – but so appealing. Also, Daniel Craig is really ugly but somehow really appealing – not sure what it is? So obviously not pretty boys. And maybe their real name has to start with D.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 25, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

      I can never decide if I fancy Damien or not, but I see where you’re going with these D’s. They all have a little something something.

  22. Author Bek Mugridge (@bekmugridge) June 25, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

    Oh I totally get Hugh Laurie! Haha

  23. Have a laugh on me June 25, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

    Oh shit girl – it’s lucky that I love your crazy ass sense of humour – because otherwise I’d be dropping you like a hot potato for being such a silly billy πŸ™‚

  24. EssentiallyJess June 25, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

    I’ll give you Steve Carell, but mostly because of Dan in real life. That movie was just gorgeous.
    Not sure about his name, but the guy who plays Leonard in Big Bang Theory is kinda cute, in a dorky kind of way πŸ™‚

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 25, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

      The dude from Roseanne? Darlene’s boyfriend? I can see what you mean. Not my bag but I’ve already shown how low I’ll go.

  25. Becky from BeckyandJames.com June 25, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    Love Hugh Laurie. I have a thing for Bruce Willis and Nicolas Cage. Always have. People look at me funny, but there’s something sexy about them!

  26. larva225 June 25, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

    I’m with you on Adrian Brody. There’ some video he did with Tori Amos that’s hot. He’s just a head on a foot, as I recall, but it’s somehow attractive. Also good in Darjeeling Limited.
    Mine is Kevin Spacey. Not so much now, but about 5-10 years back. Maybe it was American Beauty. Maybe it was The Usual Suspects.

  27. finallygotsomethingtosay June 26, 2013 at 8:28 am #

    Damien Lewis IS hot. I’ve loved him since “Life.”

  28. Triple Jane June 26, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    I also wanted to add that I think Julian Assange is HOT. I’m thinking he possibly fits on the ugly sexy list for some people. Although sometimes he does remind me of Mr Humphries on “Are You Being Served?”

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 26, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

      He does look like Humphries!!! Totes in the zone though. He’s quite odd.

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 26/06/2013, at 11:46 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  29. Kim @ spirited mama June 26, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

    Nah, they’re just ugly hehe .. I must go for the pretty boys πŸ™‚ nice presentation though x

  30. Nina June 28, 2013 at 1:56 am #

    I love this because it’s so true! But of course now that you ask I can’t think for the life of me of any ugly sexy celebrities right now (I even checked people.com for some inspiration to no avail). Wait, wait I change my mind! How about that guy that was on The Office the British version that played Tim? Never mind that he also played a Hobbit and was totally not sexy in that movie, but was perfectly adorable with Dawn.

  31. Alicia June 28, 2013 at 11:29 am #

    Loved Jack Black in Yo Gabba, one of the best moments in childrens television, for an adult anyway! I will admit to the ugly/sexy crush, not admitting who πŸ˜‰

  32. becc03 June 28, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

    You lost me on Eddie Izzard, but oddly I have no issue with any of the others (although I would not class Hugh Laurie ugly even in black adder – each to their own).
    Becc @ Take Charge Now

  33. digismartsau June 28, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

    I LOVE Dan in Real Life! It would have to be one of my fave movies. I think that’s when I really started to like Steve Carell too. And you know what? I don’t mind 40 Year Old Virgin. Especially the hot waxing scenes πŸ™‚

  34. Twitchy (@TwitchyCorner) June 28, 2013 at 11:51 pm #

    Oh I understand the concept, I totally agree it exists! My problem is I can’t seem to come up with any so late at night. Actors, musicians and comedians- there are lots. Drawing a blank here, sorry. Unlike Mumabulous and her impressive list that goes on and on! OK, maybe Glen Hansard. ANOTHER somewhat GINGE!

  35. Zanni Arnot June 30, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

    Would humour be the consistent thread? I’m with you on Adrien Brody…I think most of my man crushes are pretty conventional though. Bit boring. x

Leave a Reply

