Lifestyles of the Challenged and Daggy.

4 Jul

If you’re a friend of Holsbys on Facebook, then you would have seen my shame two days ago when technology and my lack of record keeping caught up with me in a rather embarrassing event, that left me looking like a tool.

Just to recap, I finished the latest episode of Holsby TV and when I went to upload it to my YouTube Channel I was denied access, with a message saying that account had been permanently deleted and could not be retrieved.

matrix, keanu

I don’t know if you’ve ever needed tech support from Google, but the online support matrix makes stopping bullets with your bare hands look as easy as picking a booger. You are guided through a series of questions, before returning back to the same answer –

Your account has been permanently deleted and can not be recovered, Full-fricken’-stop.

But, but, but….. I can still see it. It has to still be there.

So, I called in the in-house tech support. My husband is a computer nerd and can generally work out any issue I have if I’m prepared to admit that I’m struggling (2 minutes after pushing every button).

Alas, he could not help. I was deleted. Erased.

erase dictionary meaning

In the grand scheme of world issues, this is not really a big problem, however, it was so difficult this tech-spazz, to set it up in the first place, I was not looking forward to this prospect. Like, I would rather clean the toilet with my toothbrush kind of vibe.
Also, I would not be able to use the same emails, passwords, channel names…nada. So although it’s not as bad as world hunger, it’s a right royal pain in my arse.

The next day I tried to find a number for tech support. Couldn’t find anything in the matrix, kept coming back to the fact that Google ONLY has online support and no actual people to talk to anywhere in Australia.

So, it seemed logical to call Californ.i.a. Right?

Head office?

They didn’t answer cos of some time zone issue…. but then I thought I’ve seen jobs for google Australia. I’ll call Sydney office.

Still seems like a legit plan, no?

The receptionist was none too impressed by my problem and stated 10 times that she cannot help me, and there is no-one to talk to and I needed to get my snivelly butt back into that matrix and sort it out like Neo.

Long story short, I finally recieved an email, which I activated myself through some god-knows-what path that indicated that I was using the wrong email address.

Bup-bow. Fail.

How embarrassment… but I was so damned thankful – like, REALLY THANKFUL – that I didn’t really give a rat’s arse.

Anyhoo, I was explaining to the Holsby in-house tech team how I solved the issue myself, and I very proudly mentioned that I called Google U.S. of A., and Google Sydney Head Office, to which I received explosive laughter.

‘What’s so funny?’

‘You called Google Head Office for a Youtube technical issue?’

‘Yeah’

‘That’s like calling Bill Gates to tell him your computer won’t start’

Mirth, mirth, mirth.

‘What wrong with that?’ Still don’t get it.

Mirth, mirth, mirth.

I bloody would call Bill Gates if I thought he could help!!! What’s the point of messing around with the minions if you can go straight to the top???
I’d probably be more of a Steve Jobs stalker but Vodafone can’t even get it right to Coogee, let alone heaven.

Anyway, onto the Holsby TV thing, I reckon it’s about time our kids started paying their own way by making themselves useful.

If you train them up right from now, you could be relaxing, or Facebooking, while they do they housework. It’s not shirking your duties, it’s teaching a child to fish.
They’ll thank you later.

Check out the new Holsby TV episode that shows you how –

PS I made Mister Clever Clogs promise not to go to work and laugh at me with all of his computer nerd friends. I bet $50 he did it anyway.

Are you technically challenged? Done anything ridiculous you want to share?

Are you sick of your children freeloading and you want them to earn their keep?

If you like what you’re reading why not like my Facebook page now or subscribe via email, to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

Hooking up with The Lounge, with Kim over at Falling Face First,  Blogs and PR – Talk To Us Thursday, and Francesca Writes Here for Thankful Thursday……

28 Responses to “Lifestyles of the Challenged and Daggy.”

  1. Judy @Australian Inspirational Women July 4, 2013 at 8:23 am #

    LOL! I totally get it. I’m technically challenged too…but when I really want to fix something I usually find a solution. If I can’t I ask the computer nerd of my own…MR A!!!!

  2. ksbeth July 4, 2013 at 8:30 am #

    I love this and can so identify with it!

  3. Kim July 4, 2013 at 8:44 am #

    He is CUTE! So glad you didn’t cook him. Can you send him round please? I prefer a prosciutto, buff mozarella and rocket pizza personally, but I’ll pretty much take whatever comes prepared for me. THANKS. And thanks also for linking up with the Lounge. I’m lying here chuckling at your techno-fail as I failed to make the linkup work myself this morning. Awesomeness reigns supreme. 😉

  4. finallygotsomethingtosay July 4, 2013 at 9:33 am #

    OMG! As a clueless American, I was required to look up “daggy.” I don’t even think “ewwwww” covers it. Damned descriptive, but awful!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys July 4, 2013 at 9:44 am #

      Ha! No, no. The official term for dag is sheep poo oriented, but Aussies use daggy affectionately for uncool.

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 04/07/2013, at 9:33 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

      • finallygotsomethingtosay July 4, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

        Oh, I see! Hmm… wonder if we Americans have any slang that removed from the original. We must. From sheep poo to “affectionally uncool” is a big stretch. I’ll have to think on that.

  5. Me July 4, 2013 at 9:45 am #

    I am so technically challenged it isn’t funny. I don’t touch anything. I don’t try to change anything. I HATE that I can’t phone Google when I have a problem so I figure if I don’t touch anything, nothing will break and therefore I will not need a phone number for Google !!
    I paid someone to make me a button when she asked if I had one !!!
    Well done on getting it sorted it – no matter whose ‘fault’ it was !!!
    Have the best day !
    Me

  6. Eva @ The Multitasking Mummy July 4, 2013 at 11:04 am #

    Bloody Brilliant! Love the post, love the videos, you are very clever!! Only discovered your blog today via Thankful Thursdays with Francesca Writes here! Have liked your FB page. I have to been honest in saying I’m not technically challenged but things like Google can be frustrating even for the technically minded.

    Eva x
    http://www.themultitaskingmummy.com

  7. Kelly M Hibbert July 4, 2013 at 11:45 am #

    Too funny for words.

  8. Sarah@Slapdash Mama July 4, 2013 at 1:03 pm #

    HAHAHAA! Oh he is too cute. I mean, that is basically totally representative of how my life goes down anyway. My 3 year old is just so bloody HELPFUL and USEFUL. *LAUGHS HOLLOWLY*

    Also, I am so technically challenged it isn’t funny. IT IS STARTING TO WORRY ME. How am i supposed to function in the 21st century? I’m not as bad as my mum but it is a slippery slope.

  9. Francesca WritesHere (@FrancescaBlogs) July 4, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

    Yikes, that sounds waaaaay over my head! Glad you got it sorted in the end ☺

    Thanks for linking up 🙂

  10. Lara @ This Charming Mum July 4, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

    Argh! I hate techno fails! It’s so disempowering because you hardly ever get to talk to a real person and ask your real questions. Glad you survived!

  11. Jodie@FreshHomeCook July 4, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

    OMG! I love that you called Google – that is awesome!!!!! I do hate it when it is a simple solution though – especially when you’ve spent frickin’ hours trying to figure it out yourself!! Happens to me all.the.time!!!!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys July 4, 2013 at 8:14 pm #

      I know, right? I think think it was a brilliant idea!
      Annoying, yet relieving. The double edged sword…..

  12. Tegan Churchillt July 4, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

    I fake it until I make it…so I have to have really screwed up before I will admit I have done anything..which is usually not a good thing. Recently my stats dropped ridiculously low and I couldn’t work out why and stressed over it for weeks..until I realised that I hadn’t installed GA properly…major blogger fail

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys July 8, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

      I still haven’t installed GA….fail.
      I’m fairly hopeless. I assume the ostrich position in many matters.

  13. robomum July 5, 2013 at 4:00 am #

    i’d have been calling head office as well!
    I’m totes complacent. If there’s a techy issue, I ask the kids at school.
    They always know.

  14. alexbfinlayson July 5, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    I’m the go-to tech support as well. Though I think the missus is rumbling me and the fact that all I really do is Google it. If she ever buys a stool to get things from high shelves, I think my days are numbered!

  15. Danya Banya July 5, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

    Oh your kidlets are too cute! Great video. And I’m ashamed to admit that I can’t talk on a mobile phone properly. Somehow I always end up pressing end call or mute or whatever with my cheek when I try to multitask and hold the phone to my ear with my shoulder. Like, every single call. Often multiple times if the call is a long one. Sigh. My techie husband laughs at me, but it’s gotten so bad for so long, that he’s about to “teach” me how to hold the phone properly. 😦

  16. Rachel July 5, 2013 at 11:41 pm #

    I think you should start “Mrs Holsby’s Finishing School for Useful Children”. It will revolutionise parenting. We will send you our toddlers and children, and you will train them to be house-tidying, pizza making angels!! Genius. You’ll make millions if you can stay sane 😉

    Seriously though, D is such a gorgeous little fella and your little Miss has the most mischievous chuckle I have ever heard xx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys July 7, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

      Dude!!! That’s an awesome idea!!
      Except other people’s kids really give me the…. Otherwise, brilliant.
      I need a form mistress. Keen?

      • Rachel July 7, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

        Hmmm I hear you on the OPC issue. Some are brilliant but most are…. not.
        PS. Happy Birthday! I hope it was wonderful and full of lovely people and things. Keep doing what you’re doing – it’s a bit special and unique. The more I see in the blogosphere/interwebz the more I realise how rare that is. You’ll always be on my must read list anyway!

      • Keeping Up With The Holsbys July 8, 2013 at 7:47 am #

        What a lovely message to wake up to. Rachel, you have perfect timing. Thank you x

        Sent from my iPhone

        On 07/07/2013, at 11:21 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  17. Gardner's World July 7, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

    Whoa, that pizza looks hot. I don’t suppose he does takeaway?

  18. Sonia Life Love Hiccups July 9, 2013 at 9:59 pm #

    Oh I wat to order pizza and a boy like yours that makes them for me. Your kids are so damn cute. i LOVE that you called Google. I tried to call Blogger once, but I couldnt find a number and it kept sending me back to Google, so I resorted to tagging them in really raty tweets! x

Leave a Reply

