A pair of pork chops and sticky BBQ pork.

12 Jul

sticky pork and soba noodle saladThere is no doubt about, I have given birth to a pair of pork chops.

The two kids were sitting in the back of the car the other day, and I could hear funny noises coming from the pair of them and maniacal giggling. I was driving along, listening to Triple J, vaguely aware of how happily they were playing together in the rear when I realised that I was hearing quite deep belching sounds.

I lifted my neck to check them out in the rear view mirror, but nada – nothing suss.

Not two minutes later, I turned to investigate a particularly resounding burp and I discovered my pair of genii (genius plural) were tickling their gag reflexes and guffawing wildly at the results.

‘Quit it, you two. You’ll make yourselves vomit’

‘It’s funny!!!’

Funny?

Funny until someone tickles too deep.

Suddenly D Man, his seat, and the back of my seat were not in a funny way.

He immediately started to panic and cry.

‘Am I sick?’ he asked dramatically, as though he was waiting in the doctor’s for test results.

‘No, darling. You are a Pork Chop’

I have no idea why a pork chop is known as something silly, because a pork chop, in reality, is all kinds of wonderful.

soba noodle salad

 

This soba noodle salad is an awesome Asian salad. It goes beautifully with fish, pork or chicken, and I even love it just on it’s own. It’s a fabbo all rounder and we eat it so regularly I can make it in my sleep.

 

 

Sticky Pork Chops with Soba Noodle Salad

Yield : 3 adults and two kids, or four adults

sticky pork and soba noodle salad

What you will need :

For the pork –

  • 4 pork chops, skin on
  • 2 tablespoons kecap manis (sweet soy)
  • 2 tablespoons apricot jam

For the soba noodle salad – 

  • two bunches of soba noodles, about 180g
  • 3 large spring onions, julienned long ways
  • 1 large carrot, julienned
  • 1/2 red capsicum, julienned
  • a good handful of snow or sugar snap peas, julienned
  • 2 tablespoons of sesame seeds, toasted
  • 1 heaped tablespoon pickled ginger
  • 1 bunch coriander, picked and chopped
  • 1 bunch mint, picked and chopped

For the salad dressing – 

  • 1/4 cup white vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons sesame oil
  • 2 teaspoons palm sugar, or caster sugar
  • chilli flakes for serving to adults

Cut the skin and fat off your pork chops and throw away….. only joking. Rub that piggy goodness with salt and whack it into a 220C oven until you’ve crackled that pig up good. Set aside to cool.

pork cracklingCombine the kecap manis and jam in a flat dish big enough to house your chops. Rub your chops, both sides, around in the marinade and leave for at least half an hour.

Pop a saucepan of water on the stove and bring to the boil. Add your soba noodles and cook for three minutes, as per packet instructions, and then drain. Set aside.

Into a large bowl, add all of your julienned vegetables, your ginger and sesame seeds, and finally your herbs. Top with the cool-ish noodles.

Mix all of the dressing ingredients together and throw over your salad, mixing well to coat everything.

Turn on your BBQ, or griddle pan, and cook your pork chops about 5 minutes each side, basting with marinade as you go.

Rest for 5 minutes, and make a big yummy pile of salad, throw your sticky chop on top and then, get this –

chop up the crackling finely and sprinkle over your meal.

Mmmmmmmm, pork crackling.

Enjoy.

sticky pork and soba noodle salad

 

 

If you liked this post like my Facebook page right now, or subscribe via email and be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

 

 

Hooking up with the FYBF gang at With Some Grace. Any bloggers keen to come along for the next DP Bloggers Drinks on the 27th July at the Argyle in the Rocks, be sure to RSVP here.

 

11 Responses to “A pair of pork chops and sticky BBQ pork.”

  1. Jodie@FreshHomeCook July 12, 2013 at 11:21 am #

    This looks soooooooo good! I make something similar using chicken, but will definitely be giving the pork a go me thinks!! Yum! 🙂

  2. Mrs D July 12, 2013 at 2:38 pm #

    That looks amaaaaazing! As usual you come up with the goods 🙂

  3. Jeff Steller July 12, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

    Mmm… sounds good D (or Mrs H….. or …. whatever…!!)
    Hi To Mr H & the pork chops.

  4. mamagrace71 July 12, 2013 at 9:04 pm #

    Kecap manis and apricot jam??? Who would’ve thought?
    You are a clever pork chop!
    Man, I love your recipes!

  5. Dani Stevens (@FitFoodAndStyle) July 12, 2013 at 11:12 pm #

    I am drooling as I type. Looks divine babe and wish I was up there for the catch up. Say hi to everyone xxDani

  6. Have a laugh on me July 14, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

    When I lived in Sydney I used to specially buy rolls of pork crackling – salt and dub in oil and cook up that fat and scoff!!! Hubby was quite impressed I think (okay so he was a little grossed out but whatever – I love PIG SKIN) I’m a little weird right now I know xx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys July 14, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

      I know someone else who does that!!! Oink oink!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 14/07/2013, at 8:22 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  7. Melanie Richie August 7, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

    It reminds me of the BBQ I ate from a catering service. The experience was awesome; especially the BBQ roasts. Its meat were tender and had fresh vegetables on the side that complemented the dish. It definitely had me asking for more.

  8. Kevin August 9, 2013 at 8:36 am #

    “Rub that piggy goodness with salt and whack it into a 220C oven until you’ve crackled that pig up good”… you will never be single with that sort of attitude!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 9, 2013 at 10:02 am #

      As long as I don’t fancy a vego. Oink oink!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 09/08/2013, at 8:36 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

Leave a Reply

