Project : Pimp My Dollhouse

31 Jul

I found the ugliest, lairiest dollhouse you ever slapped your eyes on, complete with  bag full of wooden furniture at a local opportunity shop recently.

I thought for the piffling price of $15, I could take that puppy home and pimp it a la The Block : Skyhigh.

Each room could have it’s own vibe and I could release all of my pent up interior design energy.

We don’t currently have any dolls, per se, so it’s inhabited by dinosaurs, animals and Tranformers and Power Rangers. It’s like a big inter-species swingers party, and everyone seems to be getting along swimmingly.

all kinds of ugly going on here.... my eyes bled.

all kinds of ugly going on here…. my eyes bled.

Ugly from this angle too. No matter which way you look at it, in fact.

Ugly from this angle too.
No matter which way you look at it, in fact.

lots of dinky furniture.... also in need on a face lift

lots of dinky furniture…. also in need on a face lift

First coat.... take it back to basics so I can think straight.

First coat…. take it back to basics so I can think straight.

Transformer trying out the couch on the sitting room but his feet are cold....

Transformer trying out the couch on the sitting room but his feet are cold….

A carpeted family room is delightful for gathering crumbs and red wine stains.

A carpeted family room is delightful for gathering crumbs and red wine stains.

nothing says sleepy time quite like yellow accessories.

nothing says sleepy time quite like yellow accessories.

A kitchen is the heart of the home...

A kitchen is the heart of the home…

A little furniture rearranging by Godzilla.

A little furniture rearranging by Godzilla.

An attic rompus room for tear away teens to smoke dope and explore their sexuality

An attic rompus room for tear away teens to smoke dope and explore their sexuality

Home, Sweet Home

Home, Sweet Home

I think she likes her new dollhouse.

I think she likes her new dollhouse.

One house for rent for very short family. Newly renovated, great living areas and fantastic light in every room. Some plumbing issues, but perfect for a family that doesn’t need to flush the toilet.

Ready immediately.

Hooking up with the Wordless Wednesday crew at My Little Drummer Boys, and Twinkle in the Eye

45 Responses to “Project : Pimp My Dollhouse”

  1. Dida July 31, 2013 at 9:57 am #

    That looks fantastic! Love the bedroom and the clouds in the attic.

  2. Maxine July 31, 2013 at 10:30 am #

    U crack me up! Brilliant job! Was u smoking Moroccan hash while transforming some of those rooms x I remember doing this to my daughters house but I arranged the dolls into a hue Hefner style to make my hubby’s eyes bulge but with slight worry that I’d do that while the kids were around. Your a good mummy Kiki will have endless parties with her dolls for years to come x

    • Maxine July 31, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

      By the way I was only joking and had just read your last blog about your morocco visit . It’s totally awesome and I’d love to live in it .. Xxx

      • Keeping Up With The Holsbys July 31, 2013 at 5:51 pm #

        Don’t be silly!!

        Of course I wasn’t smoking hash. I was smoking meth 😉

        Sent from my iPhone

        On 31/07/2013, at 5:31 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  3. Shelly July 31, 2013 at 10:47 am #

    So very clever of you! That would have been on my to-do list until she became too old for doll houses! Love the reno job.

  4. Cassandra Howell July 31, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

    If only I could find the time to do that to OUR house – let alone a dollhouse!

  5. Cassandra Howell July 31, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

    PS Totally awesome!

  6. Lisa@RandomActsOfZen July 31, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

    Seriously awesome reno Mrs. H, you’ll be judging The Block next year!
    Extra points for using the word “lairiest”, takes me back 🙂

  7. ultramarindance July 31, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

    Wow! You made it look so perfect and stylish, I want a house like that for myself!!! Wonderful idea, great job.

  8. Nealie July 31, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

    You’re a genius, a seriously motivated one. You know that don’t you?! Xxx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys July 31, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

      Says the woman with 500 children that is studying medicine. I got nothing on that!!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 31/07/2013, at 3:18 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  9. Lani July 31, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

    That is absolutely sensational! Can you make me one? You have a real eye for design, you should sell these, I’m not kidding. Amazing!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys July 31, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

      You are too kind!
      My attention to detail is lacking and my finish is sloppy!!
      But you can have this little puppy for a mere $500 😉

  10. fingknitcoolgal July 31, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

    I love what you’ve done! The house looks cute and I want to play with it (even though I am far too old for that) (^-^)

  11. Have a laugh on me July 31, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    OH MY FUGGING GAWD – do you ever sleep?? Get your ass here and clean my ACTUAL REAL cupboards if you’re that keen on renos!! (BTW, ’tis very AWESOME) x

  12. Zita July 31, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

    Great job!!! you’ve got this reno business nailed!

  13. Alicia July 31, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

    Very cool. You must have way inspired to renovate, I wouldn’t have 😉 $15!? Bargain!

  14. runningafterale August 1, 2013 at 3:19 am #

    Loved the Renovation! I would move in aytime!

  15. Zanni Louise August 1, 2013 at 6:07 am #

    OMG that’s amazing! You have so many talents! And what a find for $15! xx

  16. Kim August 1, 2013 at 7:00 am #

    Holy crap woman – you put in an actual parquetry floor!!! You iz amazing. Nice retro styling features. Kinda makes me wanna shrink so I can pop inside and enjoy its comforts. (By night, that is, when the little Godzilla fingers are sleeping and I can throw mad parties with my Dino buddies).

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 1, 2013 at 7:44 am #

      I’m truly flattered, babe? But it’s actually only contact from Bunnings. If you would like fake plastic contact flooring at your home I’ll come and do it for free!!

      Yeah, I wish I had Grandpa’s shrinking hat and tiny bottles of wine stashed so I could slip off here and there for relaxing afternoons!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 01/08/2013, at 7:00 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  17. NewLifeOnTheRoad (@NewLifeOnRoad) August 1, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

    OH WOW – you have the touch…I so love the new dollhouse decor, and the way it blends together from one room to another. Great job – next time I have to look at decorating I will give you a call for sure 😉

  18. Emily Morgan August 1, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

    Fantastic! You’re so clever ad creative,your kids are lucky ducks!

  19. becc03 August 2, 2013 at 9:02 am #

    My personal favourite is the carpeted family room. Every house needs one of these for gathering crumbs and red wine stains. Particularly if it is like mine 🙂
    Becc @ Take Charge Now

  20. Ai Sakura August 2, 2013 at 9:02 am #

    Wow the makeover looks amazing! I wish I could find such good deals in our op shop here too!

    Ai @ Sakura Haruka

  21. Kaz n Ang (@MeltingMoments_) August 2, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    What a fantastic makeover! I giggled at the attic caption. The last photo is my favourite!

  22. Leanne Winter August 2, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

    Looks great, well done. Can I move into the attic?

  23. Nina August 3, 2013 at 5:43 am #

    Seriously Danielle, what can you NOT do?! Sooo impressed with what you did here.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 3, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

      Just a little paint and glue, Nina. left over stuff from when we did the house. I’m amazed at the response the house has gotten!!!

  24. robyn @slightly deep August 3, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    That looks amazing! I love it 🙂

  25. Starting Over August 4, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

    I have nominated you for the versatile bloggers award. Love your blog. Keep up the great posts!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 4, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

      Thanks so much. I am versatile if nothing else!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 04/08/2013, at 4:41 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

      • Starting Over August 4, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

        You deserve it. I reblogged your Jamie Oliver post a while ago and my readers loved it 🙂

      • Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 4, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

        Awesome. That’s made my day!

        Sent from my iPhone

        On 04/08/2013, at 5:57 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  26. Becci Birdy Num Num August 4, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

    I attempted a makeover of a garage sale Ikea dollhouse I bought for my daughter, it was just a few years too late because even though I wanted to put my childhood wooden period furniture in it and decorate, she wanted to use it to keep her makeup (she’s now 14). The window has gone. When she was little we used to just use cardboard boxes and texta it up how we wanted.
    When I was little I had op shop doll house (about half the size of yours) and as my Dad was painter/wallpaper hanger, he decorated it all himself. Different wallpaper for each room and stuck on painted brown cardboard strips to make it a traditional Tudor style house (my Dad was English). I loved it and still wish I had it 40 yrs later.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys August 4, 2013 at 8:14 pm #

      My great grandpa made my mama a dollhouse and when my Nana was giving it away a few years ago, I had a baby boy. My sis-in-law nabbed it and did it up beautifully.
      A true heirloom.
      Mine has cooler wallpaper though 😉
      Shame you missed the window. I’m sure one day she’ll appreciate the effort!

  27. mamagrace71 August 4, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

    Oh, I love it!! It’s like how I’d imagine your house to look! Full of vibrant colour yet homey! Job well done, Mrs H! x

  28. Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions August 5, 2013 at 7:12 pm #

    That is beyond awesome! I love it! Nice job.

Leave a Reply

