One small step for girlkind.

1 Sep

All children do things in their own time. We all know that. I’ve read the books and listened to the experts. There is no real correct time for anything as all children develop at slightly different paces. We have only vague guidelines to follow that suggest that around this time, a milestone ought to occur, give or take a month or two or three…… or more.

Comparisons are pointless and will only cause heartache, unless your child is a prodigious over-acheiver in which case it may cause unbearable parental gloaty pants.

The thing is, although we know this, when your child appears to be late at a milestone, you can’t help but notice how kids months younger are mastering something whilst yours is taking their time.

Kiki has had a terrible cough for months now. I started to wonder if a cough could be the cause of late walking? Her body was busy hacking up lungs, or trying to repair itself, so maybe her limbs didn’t have time to concentrate properly. Seems legit.

I started to wonder what the latest child in the world ever was, so I turned to google, as one does in times of deep pondering.

Paediatricians don’t consider children to be late walkers until 15 months.

Um, check.

Many normal babies don’t walk until 17 or 18 months, and you need to look at other milestones. Late to crawl will often be late to walk.

Um, check.

D Man was walking at 12 months to the day. For some reason I imagined that my second child would walk sooner, partly because I assumed siblings do everything sooner and partly because I thought she’d want to run early in effort to get away from him.

Sometimes I want to break into a sprint.

With Kiki, we’ve called her Ferdinand the Bull a few times. She doesn’t seem to want to run around madly. She just like to sit and chill and play quietly with the grass, or with some blocks.

A keen walker whilst gripping fingers for balance with her pudgy little hands, but she really hasn’t seemed that keen to strike out on her own.

Until now.

September the 1st. The first day of Spring.

Father’s Day.

Today, she walks.

20130901-160342.jpg

If you dig this post, be sure to like my Facebook page, subscribe via email, or follow me on twitter @theholsbys, so you can be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

14 Responses to “One small step for girlkind.”

  1. Kyren September 1, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

    Yay!!!! My eldest was 21 months and my youngest started crawling a week later than his brother. So although, we are approaching one this month, I’m claiming I’ve got plenty of time to properly baby proof the house. Right?!?

    And guess what…… My eldest is super agile, coordinated and fast. He is the kid who was scooting a 7km run at the age of three. Late bloomers rock. You rock, Kiki!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys September 1, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

      21 months is decidedly late. Must have been getting ready for all that scooting! I think there’s just no rhyme nor reason. They do it when they’re good and ready. Just so if we as parents think we know anything, they remind us that we have no idea!!

  2. Fiona Arthur September 1, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

    hooray! What a day for it too 🙂

  3. starryslippers September 1, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

    Look how well balanced she looks now 🙂 My son was late talking and by late I mean age 3 still not really there. He got sorted in the end, his brain just processes language differently. It’s easy to worry though.

  4. fingknitcoolgal September 1, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

    Congratulation! She looks very proud in the picture.
    I was born as one of identical twins. My sister started to walk much earlier than I did which caused some concern to my mum. Then, I grew up more athletic than her later! (^-^)

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys September 1, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

      just goes to show, doesn’t it!!

      Were you the little twin?

      • fingknitcoolgal September 1, 2013 at 8:23 pm #

        No, I was a chubbier one.
        My mum reason that I was a little too heavy (>.<)
        She had to buy me one of those baby walkers – a donut with wheels to soothe my frustration…

      • Keeping Up With The Holsbys September 1, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

        I said it was because Kiki’s tummy messed with her balance!! It is quite wonderfully rotund.

        Sent from my iPhone

        On 01/09/2013, at 8:23 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

      • fingknitcoolgal September 1, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

        Yes, she looks adorable!

  5. maxabella September 1, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

    When they get up and start stepping away, that is honestly one of the COOLEST moments in parenting life ever. Unforgettably cool. x

  6. ksbeth September 2, 2013 at 10:45 am #

    and what a beautiful walker she is )

  7. Francesca WritesHere (@FrancescaBlogs) September 5, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

    Yay! Congratulations Kiki!

Leave a Reply

