The Parenthood Project – ALDI, cut the crap!!

6 Sep

The Parenthood ProjectFor the most part, I am not a politically minded person. I’m a bit lazy in that department.

Perhaps I’m becoming more community aware, or maybe it’s just your soapbox gets bigger with age (if my Grandpa is anything to go by, you guys are in for it!), but there are a few subjects about which I am passionate.

Passionate enough to want to talk about it here, and passionate enough about it to endeavour to incite change.

I blogged recently about ‘boat people’ and I’m often Facebooking human rights issues; Syria, Amnesty International Campaigns and the like.

Although these issues never garner a viral response, it’s important that I talk about them, that we think about them, because it’s easy to live in a bubble and not give a shit about what goes on out there.

It’s important to me, now that I have a voice in the community, that I try to use this blog to create awareness of issues. The interwebs is great for giveaways, making a Grumpy Cat famous and watching Miley Cyrus do, well, you know, that but it can be used for so much more.

This recent change within me prompted me to do something I vowed to never do. You see, for the past 19 years, since the dawning of my eligibility, I did not enrol to vote.  I was so disinterested in our government that I made a stand by not voting.

Now, I’m so appalled, I must vote.

I thought if Tony Abbott truly does become our next Prime Minister,  by some incredulous mass of group misjudgment and I had not voted otherwise, then I could never crow about his toolery from my soapbox.

Recently, when I was nominated to be on the advisory board for the movement The Parenthood Project, I thought it was a the perfect way for me to begin to use my voice.

Amy Gray

Amy Gray

The Parenthood Project is a non-partisan movement that is all about creating positive changes for our children,  and the parents and carers in our neighbourhoods.

Us.

You see, often when we identify a problem that seems too big to change, we feel powerless to do anything.

How can one person make a difference?

Brainstorming to create change

Brainstorming to create change

Felicity Moore and Amy Gray

Felicity Moore and Amy Gray

There is power in numbers, and power in loud voices, and that’s what The Parenthood Project is proposing to be.

Founded by journalist and TV and radio parenting advocate, Felicity Moore, and Genevieve Atkinson, a social commentator and writer who has been a campaigner at state and federal level for over 10 years when they realised that there was no single group campaigning for the parents needs and wishes from a grass roots level.

Felicity and Genevieve are mums, like me, who have concerns, like I do, but they are women of action, and they know how to to go about stuff.

Fiona Anderson

Fiona Anderson

We had our first meeting last Saturday and discussed all of the issues that are concerning us as parents.

I am concerned about issues like nutritional education for parents and easy to understand food labelling on our shelves; I worry about the use of technology in our kids and the need for computer safety; Parental supports, safe and clean parks for all, not just the privileged.

The concerns voiced by other members inspired me, as they were so noble and thoughtful and BIG.

Equality no matter your socio-economic status; all children having the chance to a great education, and three meals a day.

Work places being more supportive of returning parents; social inclusion for same sex families, or indeed anyone that is deemed different; access to healthcare.

Advertising on junk food.

Indiginous children’s rights; child refugee’s rights; underprivaleged children’s rights.

Making little voices heard at a government level.

The list….

…..goes on…..

….and on.

Claudia Bowman

Claudia Bowman

It was a list that could change our communities. Change our children’s futures.

Change our lives.

The Parenthood Project plans to tackle issues that effect us and our families head on. Some are easier than others. Some will require help.

The Parenthood Project’s first campaign is up and running and it’s one that I feel passionately about. They have joined forces with Choice, Australia’s leading consumer advocacy organisation – are asking ALDI to cut the crap.

You may have noticed that ALDI supermarkets have a ‘balanced’ lunchbox logo in their store. They’re essentially suggesting foods to parents that are healthy and nutritious for our kids to eat every day in their packed lunches… the thing is, they’re misleading us.

At first glance, fruit yoghurt, wholegrain muesli bars and wholemeal crackers with real cheese all sound like healthy lunchbox snacks, right?

Wrong.

The yoghurt ALDI recommends has more added sugar than real fruit, the muesli bars are drizzled in chocolate, and the cheese and crackers are high in salt and saturated fat. Then there are the chips and sugar-sweetened poppers with more than five teaspoons of sugars per serve.

As every day food choices, they are sending us down the garden path.

ALDI_Lunchbox-540x321

CUT THE CRAP, ALDI!!

This Cut the Crap campaign has the potential to make a change for the better, and help us as parents make better food choices for our children.

Take 30 seconds to follow the link and add your voice to the Parenthood Project’s first project. Be sure to follow The Parenthood Project on Facebook so you can follow the progress of their campaigns and see if there are any other campaigns that you are passionate about.

If you have an issue you would like to see changed, be it small or large, don’t hesitate to contact them, or me, directly.

Together, we can make changes for our future and the future of our children.

the parenthood project

If you dig this post, be sure to like my Facebook page, subscribe via email, or follow me on twitter @theholsbys, so you can be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

Having a blog flog this fine Friday with the gorgeous Flog Your Blog Friday crew over at With Some Grace

22 Responses to “The Parenthood Project – ALDI, cut the crap!!”

  1. Rhianna (@aparentinglife) September 6, 2013 at 7:26 am #

    Sounds like a wonderful project to be a part of. Thanks for sharing some information I am off to investigate the Parenthood more. The importance of community and working together should not be underestimated.

  2. tric September 6, 2013 at 8:43 am #

    Great post. I don’t think my voice counts as I am not Australian. Well done and keep up the good work!

  3. coloursofsunset September 6, 2013 at 9:07 am #

    You know, we do the majority of our shopping at Aldi, and I’ve seen those lunch box things. They’re crap, and I don’t buy them. My son wouldn’t eat them anyway, he’s that darn picky. And the lunchbox app is crap as well. It’s a shame, because I really do like Aldi, but yes, this is one area they get a big massive F for FAIL. Too bad the Parenthood Project wasn’t on my election ballot, I’d vote for them! x Aroha

  4. Carolyn Colley September 6, 2013 at 10:57 am #

    Bravo Danielle. I’m proud that you’re using your voice to champion this worthy and important project. Best of luck with it. Love and blessings, Mama

  5. Leanne Winter September 6, 2013 at 11:12 am #

    Great initiative. I’ve like the FB page and shared the post re cut the crap. Looking forward to updates.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys September 6, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

      Thanks Leanne. I wouldn’t shout it from the rooftops if I didn’t truly believe in it. I look forward to giving you updates of great outcomes!

  6. Zanni Arnot September 6, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

    Love it Danielle. Sounds like a great initiative. I agree with you on using the blog to make a stance for/against stuff you truly believe. Some voices don’t get heard, so if you’ve got something important to say, say it (because you do it well) xx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys September 6, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

      Thanks Zanni. I’m excited to be a part of something so great, and can run my big mouth off at the same time!

  7. maxabella September 6, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

    I’m so excited about the Parenthood Project I don’t even know where to start! Except to say that now I know someone like you is on the advisory board, I’m even more excited. x

  8. Eleise September 6, 2013 at 8:29 pm #

    I really like Aldi but I am really upset by the schools labelling of nutrients. Aldis lunchbox project falls within the traffic reporting system I thought which is absolute rubbish. How can cocoapops milk with as much sugar as coke be a “green have as much as you want food”? This issue is way more than Aldi.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys September 6, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

      It certainly is… But all journeys begin with a single step!

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 06/09/2013, at 8:29 PM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  9. fingknitcoolgal September 6, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

    A great project! I would like to know more about it. Plesase keep on posting (^-^)

  10. mamagrace71 September 7, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

    That’s such a great movement! I feel that this society of ours is kinda insular for mums. We don’t meet up enough, talk enough, support each other enough. This is the kind of stuff I would love for my neighbourhood! Please keep us posted on your activities, ‘k?

  11. Nina September 8, 2013 at 2:26 am #

    Kudos, Danielle! This is community organizing at its finest.

  12. Sonia Life Love Hiccups September 8, 2013 at 10:21 am #

    I am so stoked that a voice like yours full of passion and reason is representing us. Go you, we are right behind you xx

  13. mummyflyingsolo September 10, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

    Yeah ALDI food may be cheap but you pay for it with quality. How else do you think they make it but with SUGAR and other crap. The area it annoys me the most is those little food pouches for baby’s. The ones made by Rafferty’s are free of the nasties, the ones made by ALDI have some extra ingredients but because they LOOK the same, people think they are they same and they really are not.

    Oh and loved this comment:”I thought if Tony Abbott truly does become our next Prime Minister, by some incredulous mass of group misjudgment and I had not voted otherwise, then I could never crow about his toolery from my soapbox.”

    Whenever someone tells me they aren’t going to vote this is pretty much what I say to them. I have no interest in hearing someone whine about the govt if they didn’t participate. Good on you for getting involved! I am not all that political myself but I do love to vote simply because we have the right and not only that but we live in a country where our votes are legitimately counted. We shouldn’t take that shit for granted. Just ask some of the less fortunate countries around the world.

  14. mrs diane redman-heath October 11, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

    why isn’t farmers markets more available also identified as are offering fresh purchasing/s direct from the developer/producer of fresh produce?!

Leave a Reply

