school of the world and brown rice sushi

22 Sep

brown rice sushi ingredientsI think one of the best gifts you can give your 18 or 21 year old is a plane ticket. One way if they’re a turd.

Joking.

I am super fortunate that I have traveled my whole life. Being born in the Channel Islands to intrepid parents ensured that my childhood had a bit of adventure and I got a few stamps on the old passport.

I think that taste of travel as a child was one of the biggest catalysts to me wanting to travel so much.

The Caribbean on my Dad’s yacht, the foul smelling tannery in Morocco, the oldest bullring in the world in Spain, a full moon in the desert in India, the biggest bird poo ever on my back in Madrid, the food, THE FOOD, everywhere.

The tastes and smells of adventure… so many memories of cultures so different to ours. So many people who live in ways so unimaginable unless you’re sitting on the dirt floor of their hut, playing charades with someone who doesn’t speak your language in order to communicate, getting ripped off, swindled, charmed or wooed, or drinking beer under a palm tree with a kid who has grown up in a parallel universe.

If nothing else, and is there a lot else, you learn to be grateful for this country we live in.

I was pretty clueless, as I’ve mentioned. Did all sorts of dumb shit, but it’s that dumb shit that taught me what I was capable of, and that I, too, am intrepid.

All I know is the more I travel, the more I want to travel. I’d love to trek with the kids on our backs (maybe we’d get sherpas for that), andI don’t know if I’m still up for camping at the end of the day.

Glamping maybe. With good pillows.

Oh, god, maybe I’m not as intrepid as I used to be.

brown rice sushi rice mixBabies and mortgages have temporarily shackled us at this present moment, but Mister H is a bit of a traveler too. It won’t be long before we can go exploring again and instil a love of travel, and exploration and different cultures in our children.

I’ve never been to Japan, and I’ve never really been attracted to it, but I know one thing I would love about it is the food.

I love brown rice sushi and when I recently saw Brenda from Brenda Janschek Health and Nutrition make her sushi rice loaded with goodies, she totally inspired me to push my growing edge and get my sushi on…. Our only regular fast food is sushi, and now that I’ve mastered it, I think it’s fast food at home all the way.

brown rice sushi rollingYield : 20 pieces of sushi

What you will need :

  • 1 salmon fillet, you can use a chicken fillet or tofu if you prefer
  • 2 tablespoons ketcup manis (sweet soy)
  • 1 cup brown rice
  • 5 tablespoons sushi rice seasoning (I buy all in one but you can make your own with 5 tablespoons rice vinegar, 2 tablespoons sugar and 1/2 teaspoon salt)
  • 1/4 cup zucchini, finely grated
  • 1/4 cup carrot, finely grated
  • 1/4 cup of coriander, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon of pickled ginger, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons sesame seeds, lightly toasted in a dry frypan
  • 1/2 an avocado, sliced
  • 3 teaspoons good quality mayonnaise. I like Thomy.
  • 3 sheets nori
  • one bamboo sushi mat
  • wasabi and soy for serving

brown rice sushiWhat you will need to do :

Pop your rice with 3 cups boiling water in a saucepan on the stove, turn it down low, stick a lid on and leave it until the water is absorbed and your rice is cooked (30-40 mins).
When cooked, remove from pan and place it into a flat dish, pouring over your sushi vinegar seasoning. Stir well to combine and leave to cool.

Roll your salmon in the ketcup manis and cook in a little coconut or peanut oil in a frypan (or BBQ is even better) until just cooked. Remove from heat.

Toss your carrot, zucchini, coriander, chopped ginger and toasted sesames through the seasoned rice and stir well.

Place your nori on your sushi mat and spread a generous layer of your sticky rice over the nori, leaving a bit at the edge bare.

Flake off your salmon and lay a nice chunky line through the centre, along with some sliced avocado and a little smear of mayo.

Using your bamboo mat, roll your sushi quite firmly to ensure it sticks nicely together. Roll until it is a tight cigar and set aside.

Repeat until all ingredients are used. I sometimes have rice leftover which is fab in a salad.

Using a sharp, wet knife, slice your sushi in half, then in half again, and then in half again…. unless you prefer a large roll.

Serve with wasabi and soy… and Asahi beer. Not for the kids.

brown rice sushi

Hooking up with Our Growing Edge over at Sweets and Brains. Thanks for hosting, guys!

our-growing-edge-banner

If you liked this post be sure to like my Facebook page or follow my twit twaddle @theholsbys to ensure you can always keep up with the Holsbys.

16 Responses to “school of the world and brown rice sushi”

  1. ksbeth September 22, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

    lovely food and i agree, travel is by far the best education in the world and it only leads to more. once you’ve seen a bit of the world you are more open and understanding of differences and see the similarities as well. food is a wonderful part of the experience, trying new things, meeting new people, seeing new things, all wonderful )

  2. blowingoffsteamandmore September 22, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

    Reading your description of your travels makes me tear up a bit! I have only been to 4 countries and none of them were terribly exciting. I am itching to see the world and can’t wait until our kids are older so we can take them with us!! Gorgeous looking sushi! I wish I liked it, but the fishy taste of the nori gets me every time.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys September 23, 2013 at 6:21 am #

      I think it’s quite an acquired taste. My first few times I was unsure!! I’m lucky my kids love it so I can feed them cheaply and quickly when we’re out and about. Going to see just how long I can go without them noticing McDonald’s!!

  3. go Mama O September 22, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

    Looks tasty! Did you use smoked salmon? I have tried making maki before, but didn’t love the end result. I enjoyed traveling in Japan and eating! I wrote a few blog posts about the 3 months I was there if you want to check it out.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys September 23, 2013 at 6:18 am #

      No, I cooked up a fillet. I’m Not a fan of smoked salmon in sushi to be honest. Usually I’ll just eat it raw at a Japanese place but this sweet sticky salmon is delish!
      I’ll pop over and check out your adventures. 3 months is a wonderful length of time to really immerse yourself in a place.
      How lucky!!

      • go Mama O September 23, 2013 at 6:36 am #

        Yes, I will eat it raw in a restaurant, but haven’t been brave enough to use raw fish at home. I was in college when I was in Japan. It was an amazing opportunity. ..I agree traveling is wonderful! We have stayed closer to home since having kids as well.

  4. Sam Stone @ A Life on Venus September 23, 2013 at 8:23 am #

    Travel is fantastic, sadly a mortgage and bills has us staying put for a while but I can’t wait to take my kids on adventures 🙂

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys September 23, 2013 at 8:24 am #

      How much does a mortgage cramp your style????

      Sent from my iPhone

      On 23/09/2013, at 8:23 AM, Keeping Up With The Holsbys

  5. empressnasigoreng September 25, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

    That’s great that your parents and upbringing gave you such a love of travel. My dad was a frustrated wanderer but held back by my mother who a dedicated homebody. I got the travel genes from my dad though and can already tell that my youngest child is going to be a traveller too. We have to content ourselves mostly with adventures in our local area at the moment but have big plans to travel much more in future and to encourage the kids to do the same.

  6. Nina September 26, 2013 at 12:14 am #

    I’m so impressed you’re making sushi Danielle! There’s a local sushi joint that specializes in brown rice sushi and I love it.

    Unlike you, I didn’t/don’t get to travel much. I did however live in another country for the first 8 years so I totally know what you mean about witnessing abominable conditions that first world countries don’t have to deal with, and it’s truly eye opening. I hope once our expenses (ie childcare and preschool) have died down, and the kids are older to appreciate all this, that we can travel as a family for the very reasons you mentioned.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys September 26, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

      It’s easier than you think to make sushi! Give it a shot.
      I can’t wait to do some meaty traveling with my kids. Where were you born? I don’t think I know that?

  7. Bunny Eats Design September 29, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

    Thank for the submission! I can’t say I have ever tried brown rice sushi. I’m a white rice kind of girl but totally get that brown rice is great for salads etc. These do look pretty in their sun-kissed tan 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Our Growing Edge, September 2013 Roundup | sweets and brains - October 5, 2013

    […] round 3. Get your sushi on! Danielle from Keeping up with The Holsbys made some Brown Rice Sushi. She also added Asahi beer would go well with it. Mmmm nom nom […]

  2. HOLSBY TV Iron Chef : Suburbia | Keeping Up With The Holsbys - November 17, 2013

    […] To see the complete recipe for the brown rice sushi check it out here […]

  3. Who Won Suburban Iron Chef? « Little People Nutrition - November 17, 2013

    […] If you would like the full recipe for the calamari…head on over to my post here. Or if sushi is more your style…head on over for the recipe over here. […]

  4. Some epic fails and Pea and Ham Soup | Keeping Up With The Holsbys - December 31, 2013

    […] first attempt at sushi was ok…my second? That sucked […]

Leave a Reply

