Exciting times

29 Sep

Danielle ColleyMy lovelies,

I just wanted to have a little word with you about some stuff going down at the Holsby Bar and Grill.

You see, I’d always given myself an internal deadline for this blog business before I had to quit it and go and get a ‘real job’. Blogging and social media, writing books and contributing to sites is a full a time job and whilst looking after the stinkers it keeps me very busy. Until now I’ve been doing it for free or the occasional sale of my old ebooks,

I decided recently that in order to continue working this hard, I needed to make some spondoolies. I really love money. And I’d really love to make money doing this.

Soooooooooo, I’ve recently been approached to do some sponsored posts.

I want to let you know that I’m not selling out, and I’m not going flog you shit. I’m going to continue to write interesting, thoughtful, funny and personal posts, and sometimes there will be a link included by a kind benefactor who is helping me stay afloat. I will always disclose when I have been paid to do a post.

I will not compromise my voice or my blog, but even with that in mind, as I’ve not done this before I will need to feel my way a bit.

My book is due to go to the printers this week (cue:heralding angels), there is more Holsby TV sitting in my edit suite waiting for me to cut it, I have deadlines up the wazoo for contributions and I’m so thrilled about everything my little blog has become.

It’s exciting for me, and you guys are such an amazing part of my journey that I want you to be in the loop about every step.

Stay tuned, and I won’t let you down,

Love,

Danielle

PS Feel free to tell me how you feel about sponsored posts as your feedback is invaluable.

 

If you liked this post be sure to like my Facebook page or follow my twit twaddle @theholsbys to ensure you can always keep up with the Holsbys.

27 Responses to “Exciting times”

  1. coloursofsunset September 29, 2013 at 7:06 am #

    That’s great news! Congratulations!! Far better than having to go get a “real” job! 😉 My 2 cents on sponsored posts is that as long as they aren’t every.single.post, and they are somewhat entertaining, then I don’t mind. But you still need to keep YOU in the post, if that makes sense. I don’t blog to read about products, I blog to read about LIFE and people who get it. I’m sure you’ll do great!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys September 29, 2013 at 8:38 am #

      Anything but I real job!!!
      Yeah, it’s totally about being authentic. We can smell bullshit a mike away… I don’t want to get stinky.
      Thanks for your words.

  2. mummysundeservedblessings September 29, 2013 at 7:15 am #

    I think it’s great. Blogs are not free to run. Money I make from mummy’s undeserved blessings goes into making my blog better and I was recently able to purchase a prize for a giveaway. I look forward to seeing your sponsored posts.

  3. activateyou September 29, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    Hi Dandan
    I should start by saying u have followed you from the start, ever since we connected on Facebook, and I have loved sharing the journey of motherhood with your awesome sense of humour, writing skills and interesting content.

    I am even more excited you will be making some $$$ as I have my own business and send out newsletters (not nearly as much work as a weekly blogger) and it takes up so much time!!!!

    In the back of my mind I have been worried that this will not be sustainable for you! But if a little bit of sponsorship and a plug here and there supports you for the time and energy you out in I’m all for it!

    Keep up the awesome work! We love you!

    Emily (James martells partner!)
    Xxx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys September 29, 2013 at 8:37 am #

      Emsy!!! I didn’t know you were out there in cyber land. What a lovely surprise. Thanks so much for your gorgeous supportive words. It means so much to me to know my community is behind me.
      Lots of love to you and Jimmy James and your gorgeous monkey!

  4. Tessa : Down that Little Lane September 29, 2013 at 8:49 am #

    Its your place to do as you please and I think as long as sponsored posts fit the writers style and are not forced words I always enjoy them.

    Well done you x

  5. monk-monk September 29, 2013 at 8:57 am #

    Make the money honey! As long as it doesn’t become one of those weirdly staged coke cans in movies, I think you’ll be fine!

  6. tric September 29, 2013 at 8:59 am #

    I am delighted for you. I hope you do well. As long as you do not lose the essence of your blog their is no reason you cannot do both.

  7. ksbeth September 29, 2013 at 9:01 am #

    i feel nothing different at all, and applaud you that you’ve found a way to do so. i look forward to reading more from you, you have a talent for this writing stuff –

  8. Rachel September 29, 2013 at 9:06 am #

    First of all a big YAY that the book is nearly ready – such a massive achievement for you! I can’t wait to get my (oven) mits on it 🙂

    Secondly well done with finding a way to make this blogging caper pay. I too aspire to one day making some $ from writing but unfortunately I think sponsored post would stick out like dogs balls on my blog!

    You are one of the very few blogs on my “must read” list and anything that keeps your show on the road can only be a good thing. I think most of your readers would know you well enough by now to trust that you’ll keep things real – I know I certainly do!

  9. Zanni Arnot September 29, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

    Totally a good idea, I think. I have recently been making a bit of money through my blog, and I think it’s totally fine if you do it with integrity (which you plan to) and style (which you will inevitably do). Have you considered going self-hosted? I found it gave me a bit more flexibility achieving the style/look I wanted. Good on you hon. Take this writing business seriously – you should! You are so damn good at it. xx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys September 29, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

      I usually cotton on to things about 2 years after other people. I don’t understand the point and the expense of it, probably because I don’t want to spend money if I’m not making it! If I want to change the look I could just change the theme, right? What am I missing?

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys September 29, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

      PS thanks for the love xxx

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  10. Sarah@Slapdash Mama September 29, 2013 at 7:08 pm #

    This is excellent news! Congratulations! I think if you can make a bit of dosh from this whole caper then DO IT!

  11. Have a laugh on me September 29, 2013 at 7:24 pm #

    I hope one day I can too can sell my soul to the devil – ha ha – just kidding! I hope you are charging them good!! I will be doing them once I get my shit together – and I think as long as they are written in the same style you write an are honest then ‘it’s all good daah daddhah it’s all good” – (love that song) GO YOU – very happy you are bringing in some moolah from you awesome talent xxx

  12. Grace September 29, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    Love your work, girlfriend 🙂 x

  13. Willy September 29, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

    Dan Dan, No Money No Honey. Keep on Keeping on. Xo

  14. Sam Stone @ A Life on Venus September 30, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

    I think go for it! I would love to do sponsored posts.

  15. Nina October 4, 2013 at 12:30 am #

    You know Danielle, I just read your wedding sponsored post—TWICE—and I could barely get a hint that it was sponsored, so you are doing a good job. Truth be told, I’m not a big fan of sponsored posts; I feel like the sponsor has a watchful eye over the writer and you never hear a writer say one bad thing about the sponsor.

    I totally know what you mean about putting in so much work for pennies so I think if you find a balance between the two, you are doing wonderfully!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 4, 2013 at 6:21 am #

      You’re right, of course, Nina. I just pitched an idea I did is HUH-LARIOUS and the client freaked out. I’ll be hyper aware of still being me though because I sometimes find gratuitous plugging annoying. I’ll try to weave it in, and not take clients if I do wish to say negative things. Need integrity too.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  16. Sonia Life Love Hiccups October 8, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

    Congratulations hun and welcome to the dark side haha. I think as long as you tell a brand’s story with your own voice, there is no reason to fear the sponsored post. It is not going to be everyones cup of tea but if there is a balance even the people who really despise sponsored posts will accept them or just quietly click away for the day without any fuss. My only advice is choose carefully. I once wrote a sponsored post that just felt sooo forced and I still kick myself about it. but lesson learned and I am now more careful about what i say yes to. But again CONGRATs to be able to make a living doing something you love is such a blessing. You have so much talent so good on you for putting it to good use 🙂 xx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 9, 2013 at 8:10 am #

      Supportive words from one you admire are always so special. Thank you, Sonia. I’ll certainly endeavour to heed your advice. I’m a little ways away from making a living yet, but I’m hoping to dive head first into the dark side because Mama wants to go on a holiday!

Leave a Reply

