Bring on Summer with The Kidstore

13 Oct

"That Miley kid can't twerk. this is the real deal"

“That Miley kid can’t twerk. this is the real deal”

**This is not a sponsored post. Kids received some funky threads and I got a bag of lollies. These opinions are all my own, not lolly induced**

I have a thing about clothes with cutie pie trucks or pussy cats, or puppies on them.

That thing is that I hate them with a passion.

Many wearable gifts my kids have been given over time didn’t get worn once because I’m such a snob  so discerning. Sorry, but it’s true. Why shouldn’t my kids look funky? Being little doesn’t mean you can’t be stylin’, right?

I don’t spend mega bucks on their wardrobes, not by a long shot. In fact, I often op shop because I’m a tight arse.

When I saw The Kidstore for the first time last year at Miranda, I was chuffed to find a range of kid’s threads that were cool and styley.

Since that initial The Kidstore discovery, I’ve been back there to not only get stuff for my sproglets, but to give as gifts to friends because they’re perfectly priced to make a affordable, yet banging hot present.

'Mum reckons she has the monopoly on Running Man, but I own this'

‘Mum reckons she has the monopoly on Running Man, but I own this’

I desire kid’s clothes that are comfy, functional is a must, preferably not cost more than a bottle of wine so it doesn’t matter if it gets stained and torn, and it needs to be cool.

I’m not asking too much, am I?

The Kidstore has the kind of gear I would wear if my big ol’ butt could fit in it. Awesome colours, hip prints, and at a price that won’t break the bank. It’s mostly $10-$50, which I reckon is uber fair for the quality.

This stuff is honestly great quality.

Scientifically proven fact - The world would be a better place if there was more fluoro in it.

Scientifically proven fact – The world would be a better place if there was more fluoro in it.

When I was recently invited to their summer range launch I was a bit excited, but that’s probably because I don’t get invited to fashion launches often these days. The last one I went to was for Hallican Boodie swimwear and my friend was so drunk she nearly fell off the boat and the whole world saw her undies.

This was not like that. This was just lovely.

Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, its Super D Man and his side kick, Wonder Kiki.

Is it a bird?
Is it a plane?
No, its Super D Man and his side kick, Wonder Kiki.

The awesome John Barrett, was going to be shooting our kids in The Kidstore’s gear and I was pumped to see him in action. He didn’t disappoint. With his years of experience with kids, and – more notoriously difficult – models, when my two arrived surly and tired, he was down on the floor playing with them and winning smiles in no time.

It was cool because it gave me time to chat to the lovely team behind The Kidstore and learn more about the brand (whilst hoovering the sweet treats they had on offer, but I was not bought off with sugar, I swear).

the Kidstore launch

They’ve sent me through some classic images and they have invited me to run to run a little comp on Facebook.

I’ve loaded my fave of shot from the day and you guys just need to pop over and like it. If my progeny gets the mosts likes, not only do I win a voucher, but also one of you lucky kids will win a $100 voucher to The Kidstore.

Too easy!

'What do you think of your new outfit, D Man?' 'Peace, man' See? Fluoro.

‘What do you think of your new outfit, D Man?’
‘Peace, man’
See? Fluoro.

If you liked this post be sure to like my Facebook page or follow my twit twaddle @theholsbys to ensure you can always keep up with the Holsbys.

12 Responses to “Bring on Summer with The Kidstore”

  1. mummyflyingsolo October 13, 2013 at 8:21 am #

    Rock Your Baby (online store) has really funky stuff too. People always compliment me on how I dress my son.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 13, 2013 at 8:37 am #

      I love RYB! I must admit I only buy in the sales though as it’s quite exxy. Do you think it’s pricey? Great quality though. Lasts well for hand me downs!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

      • mummyflyingsolo October 13, 2013 at 10:50 am #

        Yeah it can be exe. I only buy in the sales too! Look at us pair of cheapskates lol

      • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 13, 2013 at 11:09 am #

        It’s practical, babes. They wear it for 6 months, trash it, spill yellow food all over it (what ARE those yellow stains????). $30 a tee is too much. $15 I can live with.

  2. Brenda October 13, 2013 at 9:40 am #

    Gorgeous photos of your gorgeous kids Danielle. x

  3. fashionandstylepolice October 13, 2013 at 9:58 am #

    I love the first picture. Beautiful.

  4. Sam Stone @ A Life on Venus October 13, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

    Love those clothes!

  5. coloursofsunset October 13, 2013 at 5:42 pm #

    hmmm. my son wears $5 t-shirts from kmart and $8-$10 pants from the same. Perhaps I am doing him a disservice for years to come. 😐 your muchkins are goooorgeous, and he TOTALLY rocks the fluro.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 13, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

      Oh my god, you’re ruining him!!!!!!!!! No, Not at all. Don’t be silly. Kmart rocks some cool stuff, and we’ve been buying stuff at Big W lately too. It’s not about money, it’s about style 😉

  6. Lizzy Allan October 17, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

    That baby dress is so cute … and the baby inside it is even cuter!

Leave a Reply

