Ordinary People

25 Oct

I found an old hard drive full of tunes in a drawer the other day. I’d totally forgotten about it. Well, I hadn’t exactly forgotten about it, more like lost it. I found it when I was looking for something else entirely in that drawer that all manner of shit seems to end up in and it gets lost in the mire of cables that don’t seem to have holes to live in and papers that never get filed.

I plugged the hard drive in, took a little safari through the play lists and was immediately transported to another time in my life. Music has a way of doing that.

A simple audio cue can bring back a million memories.

sourced from Aquabumps...thanks Eug.

sourced from Aquabumps…thanks Eug.

It was early morning, about 6.30. It was before marriage and before children and before 6.30 was a sleep in.

I was out running the Bondi to Bronte track, mid-summer, before work. At the time I was an audio producer and I almost always had music playing in my ears. On the train, whilst walking, would never dream of running without it.

There was a light breeze on my shoulders and my lungs were heaving in air as I rounded the last hill at Mackenzie’s as Bondi came into view.

Just as I reached the top this song came on my iPod.

I sat down, and let the song carry me away while watching the sun’s glorious colours sparkling on the water.

I’d recently broken up, again, and this single moment with this song just took my breath away.

My iPod was on shuffle and after this came Johnny Cash’s version of Nine Inch Nails song ‘Hurt’. I remember thinking wryly that I’d better get my arse to work before I threw myself off the cliff.

Music is a wonderful thing, isn’t it?

What song takes your breath away?

What tunes are you loving at the moment?

 

Catching up with the FYBF gang for a little mutual flogging over at With Some Grace.

 

If you liked this post be sure to like my Facebook page or follow my tweet wit @theholsbys to ensure you can always keep up with the Holsbys.

22 Responses to “Ordinary People”

  1. Willy October 25, 2013 at 9:10 am #

    I can never get enough of ‘Chicane’

  2. Jody at Six Little Hearts October 25, 2013 at 10:29 am #

    I still love Groove Is In The Heart by D-Lite! Totally bereft of emotion and completely silly like me!

  3. coloursofsunset October 25, 2013 at 11:09 am #

    I’m still loving Pink at the moment. Her song “Run” makes me cry every time. Music has always been a huge part of my life, I don’t think that will ever change. I love how you can hear a song and it just FITS you and your life in that very moment. Lisa Loeb “Stay” came out shortly after my first heart break at 16 years old. It still takes me back to that time when I hear it now. And Boys of Summer came on as I was breaking up with my first – what I thought – “true” love. ha! Not even CLOSE now looking back on it. I was 17, what did I know?

  4. A Morning Grouch October 25, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

    I love that song! I have a few songs that take e back to different places but one of my faves is Mazzy Star Fade Into You.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 25, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

      Oh my god, Mazzy. I was 20, dating a dude with a cool car. He had good taste in music. I had bad taste in men!

  5. SarahD Nolan October 25, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    Music the universal language, makes our world go round. I love how it can transport you to another place. I like to play it loud and don’t really get to do that these days. I listen to Angus and Julia stone alot lately them to together and separately. Florence and the machine what a voice. Feel out of touch now though as its babies I am listening to now.

    Found you of FYBF

  6. becc03 October 25, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

    I tell you, I just turn on a radio and I am transported. It doesn’t matter if it is 50’s, 60’s, 70’s, 80’s and so on (I wasn’t born in the 50’s and 60’s but had a soft spot for it, and still do).
    I find that I enjoy todays music, but nothing beats nostalgia.

  7. Emily @ Have A Laugh On Me October 25, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

    When I need or want a trip down memory lane it’s David Grey White Ladder or a bit of old-school Enya, it relaxes me. Either that or a bit of Radiohead! I have music on 24/7 through a little radio on top of fridge, just like my parents did, love it as background! x

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 25, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

      My fave David Grey memory was sitting outside on my undercover balcony in the rain listening to White ladder. Very mellow and a little melancholy. Probably smoking a scoob, truth be known.
      I love that you have a radio on the fridge, you nana!

  8. Kate Thompson October 25, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

    I’m loving royals by lorde but can’t go past the Hawaiian version of somewhere over the rainbow. Even though it is overplayed in every sappy moment in the media it still takes me back/away to my happy place 🙂

  9. Kimberley Magain (@MelbourneMum1) October 26, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

    My fave tunes on ye ol’ iPod at the moment are “Titanium”, “You don’t have a clue” (Royksopp), “Diamonds” (Rihanna) and a shitload of Eminem. If I’m getting all sentimental, I’ll break out Radiohead, Icehouse, Tori Amos, Alphaville, Simon & Garfunkel or A-ha. Just be eclectic, you know. Kx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 26, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

      I love your kooky playlist. Eclectic is the way forward. Different moods have different requirements!

  10. Grace October 27, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

    I LOVE Ordinary People! I downloaded the sheet music to play it on the piano. Music’s a big part of my life – all different songs for all different occasions and moods.
    P.S We love Aquabumps! We got Eug to take a photo of Bondi on the morn of the twinlets’ birthday. It’s hanging up on our living room wall 🙂

  11. San October 28, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

    Being a lover of music of ALL genres it’s impossible to name any favorites, but I have to say I’ve been getting into some D & M ballads recently, namely Lara Fabian’s “Adagio” and “You are not from here” (what a voice and totally gorgeous to boot…) and The DIVINE Ms.M’s “Gift of Love” quite possibly one of the best love songs ever written – just beautiful. Been getting into some 60’s stuff too which I’m really loving – “Little Green Bag”, “Put a lil’ love in your heart”, “Trains and Boats and Planes” Don’t sleep in the subway” – I could go on and on!!!!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys October 28, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

      I don’t know Lara. I’ll check her out. I love finding new, unexplored music territory! 60’s was a cracking era for music. It had soul.

  12. San October 28, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

    If I’m not too late check out Lara singing “Adagio” at the World Song Contest (not sure which year, 20sumthing) WOW! Barefoot complete with BeeGees hairdryer effects. Stunning….

  13. Mr. P October 29, 2013 at 8:58 am #

    Been hooked up on this song for a while now. Finally managed to learn how to play it on the guitar…. singing it will take a lot more effort though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

