The day the world stopped at bedtime.

5 Nov

ratty

For those of you who don’t know, D Man has a couple of besties who have been by his side since the word go.

Mister H and I bought Ratty when I was 5 months pregnant on a road trip in South Australia wine country. I had to blow my dosh on something seeing as I wasn’t purchasing vino.

I saw this boggly eyed, ugly-cute critter and I knew that that Rat was my unborn child’s first plushie.

Koe (pronounced Koo) is a Dutch cow, gifted by Oma and Opa. She is black and white, and soft in all the right places to make her perfect for schnuggles.

She says ‘Boo’ instead of ‘Moo’ because that’s how cows roll in Holland.

koe

Boy has loved these two animals from the time that they were double his size.

He’d cuddle them, chew them and wrestle them and just generally love them hard. He used to suck them and make them outrageously smelly and gross, but I was scared if I washed them weekly they’d fall apart and we’d be down two family members. They had one good week and one stinky week and suffered baths fortnightly.

If they were in the washing machine, D Man was sitting in the laundry. If they were on the line drying, D Man was watching from the garden.

They were his special buddies.

They traveled the world with us. If those plushies has passports they’d be better stamped than many adults I know. Holland, Bali, Vietnam, Singapore and New Zealand for starters. Those little friends had soothed fears and comforted sads all along the way, and made impromptu pillows when weary heads needed to rest.

Although Rat is The One, Koe stows away to kindy in D Man’s bag every single Tuesday and Thursday. They just feel better knowing each other is near.

When your child has a special plushy friend it’s a bit of a double edged sword. You know that if you’re going somewhere you can take them and your child will feel at home, but if you lose them?????

You’re in a world of hurt.

Can you see where this is going????

rat dink

Last night. Bed time. Teeth are cleaned, jammies are on, we’re heading off to the Land of Nod and the standard call came.

‘Where’s Ratty and Koe?’

Off we went to find Ratty and Koe. They’re usually in the lounge, strewn on the floor.

Nope.

Kitchen?

Nope.

Not my room, nor the office, nor the laundry.

This was odd. None of the usual places was turning them up. D Man’s stress level began to rise. He started keening like a Mafia wife at the funeral, which unsettled Kiki who started yelling.

My stress levels began to rise…. I hadn’t had a wine yet.

It was time to get serious.

They were not in the back yard, or on the deck, not in the kitchen cupboards, pantry or fridge. Not in the dryer. Not in the……

Nowhere.

I even checked the car. Not sure exactly how I imagined they’d get there on their own, but by now I wasn’t thinking straight. I was reaching panic mode.

It’s now 20 minutes past absolute final bedtime cut-off so I began to suggest that we sleep with another friend tonight. That didn’t go so well.

Now both children are screaming and crying and I’m pissed off. Slamming around trying to find that stupid Rat. I was going to ring his scrawny little neck for putting me through this trauma.

Finally, as I was in Kiki’s room patting her hysterical butt I just thought I’d open her wardrobe on the completely off chance that they were there, and LO and BEHOLD.

They were up high though so I think it was a little friend we had over on the afternoon. Unless D man put them there and forgot.

I was so relieved I forgot all about ringing Ratty’s neck. It was like the prodigal son returning and I totally would have slaughtered my only fattened lamb if I had one. I may have kissed that Rat’s muzzle with relief at his safe return, but I would never actually admit to it.

Once the house was settled and quiet, and I had a wine the size of my head in my hand, I thanked the Universe for returning them safely…. without them, I’d be completely farked.

boy and rat

Kicking it on Tuesday with the IBOT gang over with the essentially gorgeous EssentiallyJess.

If you liked this post be sure to like my Facebook page or follow my tweet wit @theholsbys to ensure you can always keep up with the Holsbys.

25 Responses to “The day the world stopped at bedtime.”

  1. Meagan November 5, 2013 at 9:24 am #

    LOL! I love the end of this. I have no babes of my own but have been through this with the 3 yr old I was aupairing for.. it was like the mission of my day / night / whatever to make sure that bunny rabbit was ALWAYS in close reach…..
    Hence forth I have decided for my own children, if they become a thing, that I will buy 2 of whatever plush toy happens to land near them first… JUST IN CASE!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys November 5, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

      You know, though, you just never know which toy they’ll pick. He had at least 10 to choose from, and he picked these two.
      You’re going to have a buttload of toys at your house!!!

  2. Kate November 5, 2013 at 9:40 am #

    We held Monkey down under the iron and name labeled him. It saved us after he accidentally went home with another child from daycare. The reunion the next day was epic. We made a special trip to get him and it was totally worth it.

  3. cyardin November 5, 2013 at 10:12 am #

    Classic! For my boy it is Mickey Mouse, and boy does he crack it when “Mickey goes for a walk.” Good job you found Ratty.

  4. ksbeth November 5, 2013 at 10:42 am #

    whew, that was close!

  5. Katie Denton November 5, 2013 at 11:53 am #

    OMG I’ve so totally been there… my daughter’s teddy is the 5th member of the family (like DMan and Ratty, they’ve been inseparable since birth). Teddy went out one day and didn’t come back (on daddy’s watch DOH). My daughter was inconsolable, in fact all of us were in tears! My husband diligently went back out retracing his steps – at the beach he even asked the lifeguards to keep an eye out, showing photos of the bear! But no teddy was to be found – until he just happened to think of popping into the drive-thru carwash on they had visited first thing that day… hooray there was teddy safe and sound! That was 2 years ago – I don’t think teddy has been let go of since 🙂
    LOVE your BLOG. Thanks for sharing your stories and recipes with us all.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys November 5, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

      Katie D, what a gorgeous message!I’m so pleased Teddy was found in such perfect shape. Your hubby is a good man for doing the hard yards!
      Thanks for the love. It means the world to me xxx

  6. momsasaurus November 5, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

    oh god, I feel your pain. Zoey sleeps with “dog” that Grandma gave her. Dog happens to be embroidered with “My First Christmas 2010.” Which makes dog 100% NOT REPLACEABLE. We found that out when Zoey lost the original in 2011 and Grandma shelled out a fortune for the last one in existence she found on the internet. Painful, man. Painful.

  7. always josefa (@always_josefa) November 5, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    Oh yes, yes, yes and yes! PJ can’t sleep without Flappy and honestly, if that silly floppy dog ever disappeared we would be in so much trouble! Josefa #teamIBOT

  8. hopefulraeofsunshine November 5, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

    I don’t have kidlets but I did love this post- made me wonder if my poor mum had ever gone through the same thing with me xx

  9. coloursofsunset November 5, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

    OMG I was starting to go into panic mode reading that! We have a Charlie who used to be needed every night. Sadly Charlie is rarely thought of any more, as he now takes cars and/or batman to bed with him. Poor Charlie (dog). x Aroha

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys November 5, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

      I love how the people can relate to this story!! Charlie reminds me of the sad toys in Toy Story after the kid has grown up and no longer plays with them. I wonder if he gets sad at night???

      • coloursofsunset November 6, 2013 at 10:47 am #

        I like to think he’s hiding in a closet with the other lost toys having a ball. ha ha! maybe he comes out at night to play and is enjoying his freedom from Nick.

  10. Sam Stone @ A Life on Venus November 5, 2013 at 5:43 pm #

    Once my husband left little misses special friends at daycare – holy shit!

  11. bakeplaysmile November 5, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

    I love the photo where his teddy is almost as big as your little man! How gorgeous!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys November 5, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

      I know, right? My mother-in-law recently gave back my hubby’s Grotte Hond (Big Dog) which she’d been saving. I hope Ratty makes it that far.

  12. Emily @ Have A Laugh On Me November 5, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

    My 5 year old has a “nigh nighs” a pink rabbit and we’ve gone through about 5?! I learned very early to stock up on those suckers and I even bought one to give her when she’s older to give to her child – am I shiz or what? But yes I feel your pain, nanny has lost one and tried to buy a replacement that wasn’t the same, EPIC FAILURE! x

  13. Nina November 6, 2013 at 1:03 am #

    We’ve had those moments too with Lovey, a duck blanket that my kiddo would always sleep with. Now he’s on to Ricky, a golden retriever plush animal toy. I actually never take these toys out because I’m scared I’d lose them out of the house lol. Then I’d be really screwed.

  14. Sonia Life Love Hiccups November 7, 2013 at 9:00 am #

    Oh man – yep, been through that with my older two hun so I totally feel your pain. My youngest thank goodness never attached to anything xx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys November 7, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      Isn’t it funny how some kids totally attach to something and others aren’t fussed??!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a Reply

