Got the Blues? Eat to Kick Depression’s Arse

18 Nov

mood boosting food

Everyone gets the blues from time to time, or has feelings of anxiety or losing their shit, but for sometimes it’s hard to break the cycle and it can become debilitating.

Did you know that Post Natal Depression Awareness week started yesterday?

Whilst we chicks are at our most vulnerable in the months before and after birthing, just plain old normal run-of-the-mill depression can strike any time and whether your child is 2 months, 2 years or 12…. or you’re a dude, or you have no kids, or you are a kid. Pretty indiscriminate really.

Coping with depression should be a team sport but there is often a shame surrounding these feelings and the despair can be crippling.

When the uber foxy Andrea from Fox in Flats approached me about doing a guest post for her, we bandied around a few ideas, but the one that spoke loudest to us both was how to eat for optimal mood health.

seeds for good mood healthI’m not suggesting for a moment that a bunch of spinach a day will be the cure to all blues, but there is evidence that shows that what you fuel your machine with can considerably help with your physical and mental wellbeing.

It usually happens for me at about 4.30pm.

 My log of patience has been whittled away throughout the day, leaving me with no more than a spindly twig and suddenly my defenses are down; the whining seems amplified; the bedtime light at the end of the tunnel seems miles away.

I can feel my blood pressure rising as I’m rushing around trying to finish the 5 million things I started throughout the day and get the dinner/bath/bed thing under wraps. I’m tightly wound and don’t feel in control.

What if I started my day that way?

If I jumped out of bed anxious, tired and cranky-assed?

If you’d like to see more of this post, pop on over here to Fox in Flats. I’m giving away 3 eBooks today so it it out, yo!

lentils for good mood health

If you’re experiencing prolonged feelings of depression, anxiety or the blues, talk to a friend or your GP.
You are so not alone, and it is nothing to be ashamed of.
With the right support and treatment you can be back to your old self in no time, babe!

I am launching my new book on the 28th November. 11 days….The countdown is on!

Cook Once, Feed All COVER_lr

Cook Once, Feed All is about making your life easier whilst preparing nutritious and quick food for your family. This book is a collection of family friendly recipes, all accompanied by stories from my life.

If you subscribe now to the Keeping Up With The Holsbys mailing list you will automatically receive my new mini-eBook ‘A Bit On The Side’  – A collection of fabulous summer salads and side dishes.

To pre-order your hardcopy of Cook Once, Feed All ($35) head to the Holsby Shop right now and you will be the first to receive the hard copy book after it launches on the 28th. You will also receive the Cook Once Feed All eBook (worth $15), plus the new eBook ‘A Bit on the Side’ (worth $5) as a bonus gift in your inbox today.

Three for the price of one, and you save $20.

Winning 🙂

If you like what you’re reading why not like my Facebook page now or subscribe via email, to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

2 Responses to “Got the Blues? Eat to Kick Depression’s Arse”

  1. Bunny Eats Design November 18, 2013 at 10:36 am #

    Cool cover photo! A good balance of Pinterest worthy decoration plus chaos.

    Good luck on your launch sweetie!

  2. Emily @ Have A Laugh On Me November 18, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

    This is good advice, I know my diet doesn’t help me in my low moments, and when I’m stressed out of my head but I’m working on it 🙂

Leave a Reply

