Holsby lunchbox experiment – Mark 2

20 Nov

Lunch box 1 - Holsbys

Some time ago I did a little lunch box experiment over at Heart Mama, who is now writing under her name Zanni Louise at My Little Sunshine House.

She’s just been signed to write children’s books so she’s totes one to watch. Not to mention the mere fact that insanely divine and gentle.

The lunchbox experiment was such a mega smash hit that when Mouths of Mums asked me to do something for them in my 12 Days of Awesome I thought I’d have another crack at it… but make it awesomer and shit, because that’s the name of the game.

The humble lunchbox can be a tricky beast.

I can remember kids at school that ate peanut butter or devon and tomato sauce sandwiches on sliced white bread every day of their school life. I was never a big fan of the sandwich.

In fact, end of term saw a foul collection of them in the bottom of my school bag.

It’s a wonder wild beasts never attacked me on my way home from school.

I’m determined to create interesting lunchboxes for my kids. I don’t send any pre-packaged food, and time is of the essence. They must also be healthy, nutritious and, of course, nut-free.

I’ve had much success and failure over the first year of my child’s lunchbox life.

To read the rest of this article swing over here 

I am launching my new book on the 28th November. The countdown is on!

Cook Once, Feed All by Danielle Colley

Cook Once, Feed All is about making your life easier whilst preparing nutritious and quick food for your family. This book is a collection of family friendly recipes, all accompanied by Danielle’s often funny and charming story telling.
Hailed by Mouths of Mums as the ‘must have recipe book for all families’

If you subscribe now to the Keeping Up With The Holsbys mailing list now you will automatically receive my new mini-eBook ‘A Bit On The Side’  – A collection of fabulous summer salads and side dishes.

To pre-order your hardcopy of Cook Once, Feed All head to the Holsby Shop right now and you will be the first to receive the hard copy book after it launches on the 28th. You will also receive the Cook Once Feed All eBook (worth $15), plus the new eBook ‘A Bit on the Side’ (worth $5) as a bonus gift in your inbox today.

Three for the price of one, and you save $20.

5 Responses to “Holsby lunchbox experiment – Mark 2”

  1. Bunny Eats Design November 20, 2013 at 10:27 am #

    I love your lunch box experiments! They’re not just for kids but for grown ups too.

    When I was a kid, I took boxes of fried rice to school. Back in the 1980s in Rotorua, New Zealand, the chinese girl with rice for lunch was a very strange thing.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys November 20, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

      Totally for grown ups… I steal the kids’ lunch all the time.
      I had weird shit in my lunchbox too. Funny how times change.

  2. Have a laugh on me November 20, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

    Mmm that is a great experiment, every day is an experiment with my school girl, she usually comes home with 3/4 of her food she left with – GRRRRRRRRRRRR

  3. Zanni Arnot November 21, 2013 at 9:11 am #

    Thank you for the lovely words! xx

Leave a Reply

