Project : Pimp My Rocking Chair

25 Nov

Call me a scrounge but I bloody love council clean up.

We have them every three months and whilst the gold is few and far between in this here suburban oasis, there is a little joy to be found.

I’m a mega believer in the old adage ‘One mans trash is another piece of shit cluttering up my home’.

But old habits die hard.

I scored an amazing, massive ornate picture frame than I just gave a little love and a slick of paint to and now it graces my lounge wall with a photo I took of a bird in Singapore. People always comment on it when they walk in.

I once found an entire orange velour lounge suite in perfect nick that was my lounge suite for years until it finally died.

I’m actually pretty good at the art of the up-cycle…. the only cycling I truly dig.

I went for a scavenge early morning run recently and on my way home I hit pay dirt. I love me a rocking chair and this little baby was in near perfect condition and had my name written all over it….. it just needed a little pimping.

I recently read a thread by some peeps saying how foul the term PIMPING is due to the fact that pimps sell sex and exploit women etc, and I just want to say no one was exploited in the pimping of this chair and if you’re offended by the term then, well, you know…..

Lighten up, homes.

Perfectly lovely, if scavenged, boring natural coloured chair..... begging for an upgrade.

Perfectly lovely, if scavenged, boring natural coloured chair….. begging for an upgrade.

ghetto backyard workshop

Ghetto Workshop in the back yard

 Car spray paint gun. I don't mess around. Got a stolen vehicle? Ghetto Workshop is open for business.

Car spray paint gun. I don’t mess around.
Got a stolen vehicle? Ghetto Workshop is open for business.

Apparently people who are anti coloured boogers wear protective breathing apparatus.  Personally, I like the excitement.

Apparently people who are anti-fluoro coloured boogers wear protective breathing apparatus.
Personally, I like the excitement.

Dang, this rocking chair is the business! It makes my complexion look flawless.

Dang, this rocking chair is the business!
It makes my complexion look flawless.

You talking to me? You're looking at me.

You talking to me? You’re looking at me.

There she is in all her glory.... one man's trash is my new feature chair. Boom.

There she is in all her glory…. one man’s trash is my new feature chair.
Boom.

Still searching for the perfect cushions…. maybe I’ll give you Chair Pimp Part 2 when I do.

I am launching my new book on the 28th November. The countdown is on!

Cook Once, Feed All COVER_lr

Cook Once, Feed All is about making your life easier whilst preparing nutritious and quick food for your family. This book is a collection of family friendly recipes, all accompanied by stories from my life.

If you subscribe now to the Keeping Up With The Holsbys mailing list you will automatically receive my new mini-eBook ‘A Bit On The Side’  – A collection of fabulous summer salads and side dishes.

To pre-order your hardcopy of Cook Once, Feed All ($35) head to the Holsby Shop right now and you will be the first to receive the hard copy book after it launches on the 28th. You will also receive the Cook Once Feed All eBook (worth $15), plus the new eBook ‘A Bit on the Side’ (worth $5) as a bonus gift in your inbox today.

Three for the price of one, and you save $20.

Winning 🙂

If you like what you’re reading why not like my Facebook page now or subscribe via email, to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

 

8 Responses to “Project : Pimp My Rocking Chair”

  1. Bunny Eats Design November 25, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    Nice work! Gorgeous colour.

    I think inorganic collection is great. Yes it’s messy (I always liken our street on collection week as the aftermath of a typhoon) but it’s a service that the community needs. I think we are supposed to have yearly collections but we didn’t have a collection for about 3 years so things were booming when collection time came along.

    Just on Saturday we were cleaning out our hallway and decided to put an old stereo in front of our house. It was picked up immediately and then a random vacuum cleaner appeared in it’s place.

    I wonder, if it could be a thing to have a small “free stuff” spot on the corner of our street open on Saturdays. If your stuff doesn’t get taken on the Saturday, you gotta lug it home on Sunday.

    We have a work van so when it’s collection time we often get phone calls to help people move stuff.

  2. Melissa November 25, 2013 at 11:37 am #

    What a great up-cycle, love the colour!

  3. Emily @ Have A Laugh On Me November 25, 2013 at 1:50 pm #

    Now that is a makeover! Love the pics of you spraying the shit out of it. I’m having a garage sale this week and so I hope peeps like you come and sort through my shit and BUY IT! x

  4. JackieP November 25, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

    I love the color!

  5. Van November 25, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

    I never comment on blogs, but that chair is fucking gorgeous! Well done!

Leave a Reply

