Edible (tightarse) Christmas gifts….

26 Nov

Holsbys rocky roadI make a lot of homemade presents at Christmas because I’m a total tightarse.

Not total. That makes me sound bad, but I do love making and giving away edible gifts.

Do you know Life, Love and Hiccups?

If not, you bloody well should. Sonia is awesome sauce personified. She’s actually the real deal in my eyes and I can’t tell you how amazed I was when she first commented on one of my posts. Not to be a butt-licker or anything.

Down to Earth,  funny and sharp, Sonia never fails to make me smile with her quirky cool sense of humor and always give me lots of pretty for my joy of aesthetics.

Basically, she’s well cool.

I’m a bit chuffed to be over at Life, Love and Hiccups sharing some of my best tightarse edible gift ideas today…

Can you believe I got dumped two years in a row at Christmas time?

Not by the same dude.

Two different dudes.

Perhaps they got cold feet because they were unsure what to get me for Christmas, or maybe they just thought I was a freak.

My mama was worried that I would start to dread Christmas but it never actually dampened my spirits. I’m a massive fan of Christmas.

I like getting together with my friends and family and eating great food and drinking booze, and of course, I’m a big fan of presents.

Some people like to receive big expensive presents, and others like to receive small expensive presents and whilst I’m a huge fan of all kinds of presents there is something to be said for the home made present.

 To read the rest of this, schwing on over here….marinated fetta and homemade muesli edible gifts

I am launching my new book on the 28th November.

2 more sleeps – EEEEP!

Cook Once, Feed All COVER_lr

Cook Once, Feed All is about making your life easier whilst preparing nutritious and quick food for your family. This book is a collection of family friendly recipes, all accompanied by stories from my life.

If you subscribe now to the Keeping Up With The Holsbys mailing list you will automatically receive my new mini-eBook ‘A Bit On The Side’  – A collection of fabulous summer salads and side dishes.

To pre-order your hardcopy of Cook Once, Feed All ($35) head to the Holsby Shop right now and you will be the first to receive the hard copy book after it launches on the 28th. You will also receive the Cook Once Feed All eBook (worth $15), plus the new eBook ‘A Bit on the Side’ (worth $5) as a bonus gift in your inbox today.

Three for the price of one, and you save $20.

Winning 🙂

If you like what you’re reading why not like my Facebook page now or subscribe via email, to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

 

11 Responses to “Edible (tightarse) Christmas gifts….”

  1. Have a laugh on me November 26, 2013 at 11:06 am #

    Love me some Sonia, she’s awesome! And sucks you got dumped at Xmas time, what jerks. Umm and just two days to go – where did that time go? I didn’t even get chance to write something about book, but I will, when my chaotic life gets less stressful 😦 x

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys November 26, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

      Isn’t she cool??? Babes, you’re frantically busy. Totes get it.
      I know you’re giving me high fives xxx

  2. Bunny Eats Design November 26, 2013 at 11:40 am #

    I don’t think home made gifts are tight ass at all. In fact, I think they display affection and effort that is quite rare. Bring on the home made gifts and if they are edible, even better!

  3. John Hulls November 26, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    Hi lil D, I just wanted to tell you how proud we are of you and your achievements. To do all this and raise two kids means you must not sleep very much! Your blog is always an interesting (and funny) read and as you know we’ve already snagged our copy of THE BOOK. Keep doing what you do, you’re amazing. Lots of love The O.P’s XX

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys November 26, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

      What a gorgeous message. Thanks so much. Yeah, I will admit that I don’t chill out much, but I do get such pleasure from my work. God, I’ve changed!! 😉
      Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on the book!

  4. larva225 November 27, 2013 at 12:00 am #

    For the rocky road: Jelly raspberries? I’m just a goofball American and can’t imagine what that is. Alternate explanation? Thanks!!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys November 27, 2013 at 5:55 am #

      They’re a soft jube or pastille type candy. Raspberry flavored and in this case shaped!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  5. Nina November 27, 2013 at 12:58 am #

    Awesome, just checked out the post. I’m digging the marinated feta; I would never have thought of giving that one.

  6. deliciousdaydreams November 27, 2013 at 10:19 am #

    Sorry to laugh at you getting dumped at Christmas…twice, but you’ve got a way with words. Also I am a big fan of making homemade Christmas gifts. Anyone can go out and buy a piece of crap at the mall, but it takes time and effort to make someone something. Piece of crap or not, the sentiment is still there. 😊

Leave a Reply

