Keep it together, don’t crumble… Unless it’s Rhubarb Crumble.

27 Nov

rhubarb and pear crumble ingredientsToday is day 11 of the 12 Days of Awesome. Tomorrow is the big launch day.

Holy fuck balls. (Sorry Nana, but nothing else quite captured the sentiment)

I’ve had an awesome Awesome so far. Posting every day has been an interesting experiment.

I’ve made new friends, reconnected with old, sold heaps of books and had heaps of feedback and I’m feeling good…. unless you count chronically sleep deprived, butterflies the size of pterodactyls in my tummy, and up to my armpits in canapés for the launch.

I’ve been thrilled to write for some peeps that I admire so a mega thanks to Fox in Flats, My Little Sunshine House, and Life, Love and Hiccups for having me over to play. The sense of support and love I’ve felt from my online community has been both uplifting and humbling.

It’s nice to feel love when you’re doing something that feels so big. It’s imperative to your success, because doing it alone is scheisse.

Someone recently asked me why I put so much pressure on myself and it’s actually quite a hard question to answer.

This whole process has made me feel slightly nude.

Not like that dream where you dream you went to school and you forgot your clothes and everyone laughs at you, but more like I’m at a day spa and no one really cares that I’m nuding but I’m slightly self conscious none the less.

I reckon that’s a good type of naked.

Expanding boundaries. Baring your all.

Anyway, one more sleep. Or no sleep as the case may be.

Today I pick up the books. Nothing like cutting it fine, eh? I do work well under pressure…. but I won’t crumble. I’m too damned excited.

Thanks for coming along for the ride.

pear and rhubarb crumbleRhubarb and Pear Crumble

What you will need :

For the fruity bit – 

  • 1 bunch of rhubarb, washed and cut into 2cm chunks
  • 2 pears, cored and chopped
  • zest of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/4 cup of maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup of water

For the crumble topping – 

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 desiccated coconut
  • 1/4 cup flour (I used coconut flour, you use whatever you like)
  • 1/2 ground linseed, sunflower and almond (LSA)
  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil or butter (I used half & half)

Preheat oven to 180C.

Place all of your fruit ingredients into a heavy based pot with a lid over a medium heat.Cook for 10-15 minutes until soft, but not mushy.

Rhubarb and pear crumbleTip it into an over proof dish. I reckon shallow and bigger is better so the covering of crumble is lighter and all gets toasty and yum. Mine was too deep in this instance.

Place all of your crumble ingredients into a bowl and rub with your fingers until it resemble coarse breadcrumbs. You may need a little more butter (fat is flavour, don’t be scared).

Spread your crumble mix over your fruit mix and pop into the oven until it’s golden brown and delicious.

Serve with cream or ice cream for dessert, or I love it for breakfast with yoghurt.

pear and rhubarb crumble

Tomorrow, tomorrow, I love ya, tomorrow. It’s only a day awaaaaaaaaay.

Cook Once Feed All launches tomorrow. Today is the last day to get your three book deal so get in quick if you’re keen.

Cook Once, Feed All COVER_lrCook Once, Feed All is about making your life easier whilst preparing nutritious and quick food for your family. This book is a collection of family friendly recipes, all accompanied by stories from my life.

If you subscribe now to the Keeping Up With The Holsbys mailing list you will automatically receive my new mini-eBook ‘A Bit On The Side’  – A collection of fabulous summer salads and side dishes.

To pre-order your hardcopy of Cook Once, Feed All ($35) head to the Holsby Shop right now and you will be the first to receive the hard copy book after it launches on the 28th. You will also receive the Cook Once Feed All eBook (worth $15), plus the new eBook ‘A Bit on the Side’ (worth $5) as a bonus gift in your inbox today.

Three for the price of one, and you save $20.

Winning 🙂

If you like what you’re reading why not like my Facebook page now or subscribe via email, to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

 

4 Responses to “Keep it together, don’t crumble… Unless it’s Rhubarb Crumble.”

  1. Sam Stone @ A Life on Venus November 27, 2013 at 10:08 am #

    I really hope it goes really well! and I love the recipes you share 🙂

  2. Maxabella November 27, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

    I’ve no idea what else one does with rhubarb (see, rhubarb has me saying ‘one’). Good luck tomoz! Big day! x

Leave a Reply

