Cook Once Feed All book launch. Just like a party, but better….

3 Dec

Cook Once Feed All Book Launch

Smiling so hard I have no eyes…. that’s some happy shit.

The words you don’t want to hear just after you’ve sent out your media release to all of the major media outlets and invitation for your book launch are as follows –

You have ebola virus and internal organs seeping from your rectum is imminent.

There is no booking for your launch at this venue, and we have something else on that night.

Apparently due to the licensing laws I should have been a little bit discreet about the booze. Discretion was never my strong suit. I think we look good together, no?

Apparently due to the licensing laws I should have been a little bit discreet about the booze. Discretion was never my strong suit. I think we look good together, no?

As I’m a cup half full kind of girl, I’m thankful that I heard the latter rather than the former, however the words still sent a cold shiver of ice through my veins.

You what??? I said. What do you mean there’s no booking? I booked weeks ago.

Apparently, the booking system (i.e. scrap of paper) used by my venue was not quite as reliable as they anticipated….in fact, they’d triple booked my evening.

Now, I’m not here to bad mouth anyone, as I think that at least one of those bookings worked in my favour, however I am going to say that whilst I was making canapés for 50, organising booze, djs and photographers, and a 6 kilo organic ham to slow bake for 5 hours, that perhaps I could have done without that angst…..lucky I’m a roll with it kind of cat.

My amazeballs DJ, Bella. Big thanks to her.

My amazeballs DJ, Bella. Big thanks to her.

The thing about organising a party, whether it be cocktails, sit down dinner or a swingers night, your best bet is to make a list, and check it twice.

Just like the fat dude in the red suit.

Old friends flying in for the event made it extra spesh.

Old friends flying in for the event made it extra spesh.

In the days leading up there’s lots you can do to help ease the pressure on the actual day, because if you leave everything to the last minute you’ll be a strung out wreck by the time your first guest arrives and you won’t have a cool demeanour….which is imperative for the hostess with the mostest.

Is the most important part of this display the book or the champagne?

Is the most important part of this display the book, the cupcakes or the champagne? So much good in one image.

My menu for the evening looked like this –

The champagne should have been at the top of the list really, because in my mind everything else was insignificant…. have a mentioned I was in a celebratory mood?

The wonderful Kirsten Cox - Photographer, and my gorgeous friend Elle, from Art Skate Love.

The wonderful Kirsten Cox – Photographer, and my gorgeous friend Elle, from Art Skate Love.

Two days out I busted out my cookie dough (obscene amounts of butter, just quietly) and made my cupcakes. Unbaked dough went in the fridge and cupcakes went into the freezer. Totally fine to freeze cake for a few days before icing. One to keep up your sleeve for birthdays.

The day before I made my sausage rolls, but didn’t baked them off. Whacked them in the fridge and they were ready to rock in the morning.

Signing my book was quite a thrill…. until my hand writing got sloppy and I made a spelling mistake.

Signing my book was quite a thrill…. until my hand writing got sloppy and I made a spelling mistake.

Oh man, do you really care about the way I organised this?? Not really.

The day of I pretty much cooked all day, but I like doing that.

I felt organised, and I was tres excited.

Making a little speech… not scared of public speaking.  As you could probably imagine.

Making a little speech… not scared of public speaking.
As you could probably imagine.

A couple of dear ones helped me set up.

Rodney has an eye for detail and Gab plated my food so I could flap around, fluff paper pom pom and slip into my onesie… and then there is the moment where you wonder if anyone will come to your party.

The fabulous Gab…. plated everything except the stinky cheese which made her gag.

The fabulous Gab…. plated everything except the stinky cheese which made her gag.

When the wonderful Mumabulous walked in, glorious in her yellow and lace dress, I knew that this party was going to be fun.

People gave a shit about this launch of mine. People want to come and see it. See my book, eat my food and drink that damn champagne.

This gorgeous lady, Jacqui, provided me with the single most amazing piece of support along my journey. Just as I was in tears over how hard it was, she sent a text saying how much she loved my ebooks complete with photos of my food. Eternally grateful.

This gorgeous lady, Jacqui, provided me with the single most amazing piece of support along my journey. Just as I was in tears over how hard it was, she sent a text saying how much she loved my ebooks complete with photos of my food. Eternally grateful.

Suffice to say, I’m a little bit exhausted. I’ve chilled out for a few days (still got all the marketing and press shit to deal with so it’s hardly a tropical holiday) but I’m slowly pulling my shit together and getting back into the swing of things.

Just in time for Christmas.

Cook Once, Feed All COVER_lrCook Once, Feed All is about making your life easier whilst preparing nutritious and quick food for your family. Hailed by Mouths of Mums as the ‘must have recipe book for all families’, this book is a collection of family friendly recipes, all accompanied by stories from my life.

If you subscribe now to the Keeping Up With The Holsbys mailing list you will automatically receive my new mini-eBook ‘A Bit On The Side’  – A collection of fabulous summer salads and side dishes.

To order your hardcopy of Cook Once, Feed All ($35) head to the Holsby Shop right now. You will also receive the Cook Once Feed All eBook (worth $15), plus the new eBook ‘A Bit on the Side’ (worth $5) as a bonus gift in your inbox today.

Three for the price of one, and you save $20.

If you like what you’re reading why not like my Facebook page now or subscribe via email, to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

 

Hooking up with the Tuesday blog gang over at IBOT with EssentiallyJess.

15 Responses to “Cook Once Feed All book launch. Just like a party, but better….”

  1. Lizzy - Muddle-Headed Mamma December 3, 2013 at 9:16 am #

    Congratulations on your book launch! That must just be the most amazing feeling. I can’t believe the venue triple booked you – that’s way too much stress! You look so relaxed and happy in the photos – smiling so hard you have no eyes LOL. I absolutely love your dress too. I’m off to subscribe!

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys December 3, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

      Lizzy, it’s not a dress it’s a onesie pantsuit. That makes me love it even more. I feel like I Dream of Genie in it!! So thrilled you liked what you saw.
      Welcome aboard the Holsby train!

  2. minsmash December 3, 2013 at 11:24 am #

    Congratulations! What an amazing achievement 🙂

  3. Carolyn Colley December 3, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

    Well done, my girl. You look gorgeous, and you’ve done a grand job.
    I’m just a little bit proud too. You deserved that bubbly after a massive few days.
    Love always, Mama

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys December 3, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

      Thanks, my lovely mamma!! You finally could resist the comment box no longer 😉

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  4. Sam Stone @ A Life on Venus December 3, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    Congrats again on your book, You seriously must be so proud. BTW, where did you get your onsie? I LOVE IT.

  5. Miss Cinders December 3, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

    Congratulations Danielle! What an awesome achievement!!

    And well done on making your launch so successful!

    MC xo
    #teamIBOT

  6. Emily @ Have A Laugh On Me December 3, 2013 at 11:27 pm #

    Wish I could have been there – you looked HAWT – and oh how short is your hair? I’m so glad it was a great night, and here’s to much more successes gorgeous girl. xx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys December 4, 2013 at 6:26 am #

      How is that chop? I love it! New hairdresser talked me into it and I’ve decided I love him too. I wish you’d have been there but in reality I’m not certain there was enough booze 😉 Ems, you rock. X

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  7. EssentiallyJess December 4, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

    Glad it went ahead anyway! You look fantastic!
    Congrats again! You’ve done such an amazing job xx

  8. thehungrymum December 11, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    Aside from the booking issue [so much GRRR] it looks like a fab event. So chic! Congrats on the book 🙂

  9. Sonia Life Love Hiccups December 11, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

    So proud of you hun and how flipping stunning are you in that outfit. Congratulations beautiful xx

Leave a Reply

