Get your filth on in the Mud Kitchen

21 Dec

mud kitchen collageKelly over at Be A Fun Mum is always so inspiring. She’s a beautiful mother. Thoughtful, thought provoking and gentle.

Not to mention fun.

She totally lives up to her name. Whenever I do anything super fun I think of her so when I set up my mud kitchen I dropped her a line straight away.

I’m down with dirt. I’m down with mud.

I can be a fun mum too.

Some things in life are quite simply meant to go together.

Gin loves tonic, a pie lives for sauce, feet adore massages and children delight in dirt.

A friend of mine was talking about setting up a mud kitchen in her garden complete with muffin trays and wooden spoons and my initial reaction was of fear of mess.

I’m often prone to this fear.

Then I thought about it.

I’ve been working on my acceptance of messy play for as long as I’ve had children and I think for the most part I’m winning. I can mix the Play Dough colours now without so much as a shiver, and when I find paint all over the children, and floor, I can now laugh rather than freak out… too much.

Texta/crayons/pencil on the couch or walls still gets me where it hurts however, but I imagine nary a parent out there is down with furniture enhanced by toddler graffiti.

The more I thought about my friend’s idea, the more I realized that the mud kitchen is actually quite genius.

To read more about setting up my mud kitchen pop over to Be A Fun Mum here.

Cook Once, Feed All COVER_lr

Cook Once, Feed All is about making your life easier whilst preparing nutritious and quick food for your family. Hailed by Mouths of Mums as the ‘must have recipe book for all families’, this book is a collection of family friendly recipes, all accompanied by stories from my life.

If you subscribe now to the Keeping Up With The Holsbys mailing list you will automatically receive my new mini-eBook ‘A Bit On The Side’  – A collection of fabulous summer salads and side dishes.

I’m extending my freebie offer to keep up the Christmas spirit.

To order your hardcopy of Cook Once, Feed All ($35) head to the Holsby Shop right now. You will also receive the Cook Once Feed All eBook (worth $15), plus the new eBook ‘A Bit on the Side’ (worth $5) as a bonus gift in your inbox today.

Three for the price of one, and you save $20.

If you like what you’re reading why not like my Facebook page now or subscribe via email, to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

4 Responses to “Get your filth on in the Mud Kitchen”

  1. ksbeth December 21, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

    i love this idea so much!

  2. thehungrymum December 21, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

    mixing the playdough – still can’t let that one go. Mud kitchen looks totes fun, though.

  3. mothershelperfyi December 22, 2013 at 2:54 am #

    This is amazing!

Leave a Reply

