That bathroom renovation post

23 Dec

***THIS IS A SPONSORED POST***

***ALL IDEAS ARE MY OWN, ALL OPINIONS ARE MY OWN AND THAT REALLY IS WHAT MY MESSY BATHROOM LOOKS LIKE***

I really disliked the master bathroom when we moved into our new house 2 years ago.

The shower was in the bath, but there was no shower screen (admittedly there was no screen because I pulled it down in a DIY frenzy and then lost steam).

Hollywood lights did not make me look like Angelina.

It was pokey, it was naff, and it could not even be saved by Hollywood lights around the mirror.

When we first started chatting to bathroom renovation dudes they told me it was too small for a free standing shower.

I really don’t like no for an answer, so I suggested we move a wall and a door and utilise some dead space we had hanging around. Sure it was suddenly a much bigger job but I was pretty passionate about my walk in wet area.

see the strange little alcove? Wasted space... and a very crooked picture of snogging..

Check out that strange little alcove? Wasted space… and a very crooked picture of snogging.

You may recall the trepidation with which I entered into the renovation process, but you know what? It was ok.

It was tres, tres disruptive, ab-so-lutely.

Some days I’d leave the house at 7am and stay out until dinner, and with one kid on one nap per day and another on two it was a tad inconvenient to say the least.

Pokey and naff.

Pokey and naff.

Choosing tiles was easy, you can even just choose tiles online if you want but I went in and designed a whole fancy pants look with a local company in my area.

The thing is when it came time to deliver they’d run out of tiles with the black spot, and sent me tiles with an aqua spot, so I had to do the old tile switcheroo and manually change each little black tile by hand.

Ball ache…. but a first world problem really.

Infinite Bathrooms rocked my world.

They were professional, personable and very cool dudes, who were also super cool about helping me out when they discovered my l’il ol’ house is actually a l’il ol’ wonky mofo house and they had to straighten every single wall in the bathroom before they could tile.

They've got out the Major Laser trying to work out how on earth the house is still standing.

They’ve got out the Major Laser trying to work out how on earth the house is still standing.

Yep, they were angels.

Flexible angels to boot..... tiler by day, yogi by night.

Flexible angels to boot….. tiler by day, yogi by night.

Inconvenience, and hands and knees tile work aside, I now have a cracking new bathroom that I luxuriate in daily.

As much of a luxuriating picture as you'll get. The inter webs is not ready for a Mrs H shower scene.

As much of a luxuriating picture as you’ll get. The inter webs is not ready for a Mrs H shower scene.

I’ve named it the Great Gatsby Bathroom.

What I wish it looked like....

What I wish it looked like….

Very apt don’t you think?

Very proud of my Gatsby mirror.

Very proud of my Gatsby mirror.

What it actually looks like.

What it actually looks like.

Cook Once, Feed All COVER_lr

Cook Once, Feed All is about making your life easier whilst preparing nutritious and quick food for your family. Hailed by Mouths of Mums as the ‘must have recipe book for all families’, this book is a collection of family friendly recipes, all accompanied by stories from my life.

If you subscribe now to the Keeping Up With The Holsbys mailing list you will automatically receive my new mini-eBook ‘A Bit On The Side’  – A collection of fabulous summer salads and side dishes.

I’m extending my freebie offer to keep up the Christmas spirit.

To order your hardcopy of Cook Once, Feed All ($35) head to the Holsby Shop right now. You will also receive the Cook Once Feed All eBook (worth $15), plus the new eBook ‘A Bit on the Side’ (worth $5) as a bonus gift in your inbox today.

Three for the price of one, and you save $20.

If you like what you’re reading why not like my Facebook page now or subscribe via email, to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

One Response to “That bathroom renovation post”

  1. Sonia Life Love Hiccups December 30, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    Ok I am a little envious of that glam bathroom… Ok a LOT envious 😉 xx

Leave a Reply

