I resolve to be more Cuban

29 Dec

habana, cubaI was having a little reminisce recently with my Mama about what she thinks was not only one of her best ever travel experiences, but also sadly she thinks maybe one of her last.

She has multiple sclerosis, which I’ve kinda touched on before, and as the years go by the idea of long plane journeys are less and less appealing to her.

A few years ago – PP (Pre-Progeny), I entered a short film competition called the The 48 Hour Film Comp….as the name would suggest you make a film in a weekend.

Friday night you get your genre, a character and a line of dialogue, and Sunday night you deliver a 5-7 minute short film.

Anyway, I tell you this not because finishing that damned film with only seconds to spare, sand paper eyes hanging out of my head on stalks, was one of the greatest achievements of my life, but because my team won the NSW round.

I know, right?

Awesomesauce.

It gets better. Stay with…..

When they handed out the prize of a free trip to Miami, Florida, I was the only one that could utilise that sweet, sweet free aeroplane ride to joy.

Me at the Miami Film Festival, in my new hat.

Me at the Miami Film Festival, in my new hat.

I was super excited to go to the Miami Film Festival, of course, but I was even more excited at the thought of being so close to Cuba.

A place that had always intrigued and excited me.

I told my Mama of my idea of jumping the ditch between the States and Cuba and she was rather keen to join me on a mother-daughter-transcontinental-adventure.

Miami was way cool.

Seeing my film on the big screen up against the rest of the world was an eye opener.

I’m not going to say anything bad about our little movie. It was very art-house, my curtain call acting performance (not Oscar nominated), and it won me a ticket – so it was BRILLIANT!

However, the top 3 films were astoundingly, gobsmackingly fabulous and I did feel a tad like the country mouse.

I’m not here to talk about my almost, but not quite, illustrious film career.

I’m talking about Cuba.

havana, cuba

In Cuba people are joyous.

Great big smiles split faces. You are greeted like family by people you’ve never met, and eyes twinkle with deep joy.

They laugh.

Not like freaky, maniacal psychopaths, but like people whose joy bubbles from within and bursts forth from them in a fountain of tumbling sound.

There is music and dancing everywhere. They are not generally rich in monetary terms, but in the food of the soul – music –  they’re millionaires.

It’s in their veins. It’s in their viscera.

havana, cuba

They take time to chill.

They don’t siesta per se, which I think is a trés civilised custom for people who like to nap (or indulge in afternoon carnal delights), but they sure do know how to relax.

Just chillaxing with my buds...

Just chillaxing with my buds…

In the afternoons they sit around on crates and shoot the breeze in the shade, and play music and laugh with their friends.

There is no rush. No hurry.

havana, cubaThey wear brightly coloured clothing, which is always a trend close to my heart with my über passion for brights mixed with brights.

While I was there I was joyous, and carefree.

Sure, I had no kids, bugger all responsibilities and I was on holidays, but that’s a minor detail that we can wrap up as mere semantics.

I was exploratory and saw wonder everywhere and I was open to new things.

There was also very cool cars cruising around which adds to the sheer style of the place.

There was also very cool cars cruising around which adds to the sheer style of the place.

My life was filled with music and I danced.

And there was rum. And wine.

havana cubaAnd my Mama Bear who is one of the greatest women to ever walk, now wheel, on this planet.

Havana cuba with my mama

And life was good.

Real good.

I’m not one for New Years Resolutions. I have been in the past, but I never really keep them because I forget by about January 2nd.

havana cubaThis year I’m already fit and healthy.

I don’t smoke, I sure don’t intend on cutting down my drinking, swearing or wanking, so obviously the only resolution left is about becoming Cuban.

I’m also not waiting for the New Year, I’m going to start today.

I’m going to listen to more music, and dance. In the lounge, in other people’s lounges….

Where-evs.

It’s about the letting go and just being in your skin.

I’m going to see more joy around me and focus on what’s great… And laugh because I can’t contain my joy.

I’ll buy a bottle of rum, for good measure, and whether I’m sipping a quiet one, or just going about my day, I’ll try to remember that happiness is a choice.

Ditch the shit that doesn’t serve you, and relish in the shit that does.

I’ll reckon I’ll skip the Cuban cigars though.

No one takes up smoking for a New Years resolution, do they?

Havana Cuba

Cook Once, Feed All COVER_lr

Cook Once, Feed All is about making your life easier whilst preparing nutritious and quick food for your family. Hailed by Mouths of Mums as the ‘must have recipe book for all families’, this book is a collection of family friendly recipes, all accompanied by stories from my life.

If you subscribe now to the Keeping Up With The Holsbys mailing list you will automatically receive my new mini-eBook ‘A Bit On The Side’  – A collection of fabulous summer salads and side dishes.

To order your hardcopy of Cook Once, Feed All ($35) head to the Holsby Shop right now.

If you like what you’re reading why not like my Facebook page now or subscribe via email, to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

16 Responses to “I resolve to be more Cuban”

  1. Renee December 29, 2013 at 8:34 am #

    Love this! I think I may already be cuban. I am always singing and dancing and wear the brightest of clothes. This is definitely the best resolution so far. May 2014 bring you much happiness, rum, dancing, music and laughter 🙂

  2. Val and John December 29, 2013 at 9:01 am #

    I’m with you Danielle, bring out the Cuban in everyone. That will be a focus for me in 2014. Hope you have a fabulous year xx

  3. ksbeth December 29, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

    i have always wanted to go to cuba and your description is exactly how i imagined it would be ) great post –

  4. Zanni Louise December 29, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

    I love this post and this resolution. I am going to follow suit if you don’t mind. Being more Cuban sounds more than awesome. You are a beautiful lady, and I am sure much goodness will come your way in 2014, as it has done in 2013. Love ya! And thanks for linking in to Sunshine Sundays xx

  5. Kate December 29, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

    I am always striving for this and love the idea of being more Cuban. However, I shall wait until I am home, it’s simply not possible to be Cuban here.
    Fuck, what a sad sack. Sorry everyone. Don’t worry the love, joy, dancing, singing and joy shall be pumping out into the world shortly.

  6. Lydia C Lee December 30, 2013 at 9:38 am #

    What wonderful pics! There is something so amazing about Cuba. I’m very disappointed to learn they just changed the rules about cars 😦 there goes the last bastion of cool.
    Happy new year to you and enjoy that music and dancing….

  7. SarahD Nolan December 30, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    De Cubans have got it right it seems. What a wonderful experience. Well done on the movie what a fantastic opportunity. It seems the less we have the more we smile. Have a great new year!

  8. Sonia Life Love Hiccups December 30, 2013 at 9:20 pm #

    Oh crap, now I am just confused as I always wanted to be French, more recently Italian and now freaking Cuban! Whatever, you did say rum didnt you??? Then I’m in! xx

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys December 30, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

      You know, all the best people are bitsas. Mixing it up is cool too, sweets!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Portrait 365 : 1 | Keeping Up With The Holsbys - January 1, 2014

    […] the spirit of my new being more Cuban philosophy I want to connect with more […]

  2. Friday fizz: bubbles of awesome from the web | CHAMPAGNE CARTEL - January 3, 2014

    […] Danielle from Keeping Up with the Holsbys’ new years resolution is to be more Cuban. Outstanding for so many reasons, but my favourite is this line: “I don’t intend on cutting down my drinking, swearing or wanking, so obviously the only resolution left is about becoming Cuban.” I love this woman. […]

  3. Three minutes of human contact: keeping up with the holsbys - August 12, 2014

    […] the Holsbys last year and I liked the cut of her jib, but when I read her new years post about resolving to be more Cuban, I knew this woman I would adore (anyone who makes a stand against giving up wanking is all right […]

Leave a Reply

