From my Garden to my Table – Chorizo, Silverbeet and Quinoa Pilaf

11 Jan

chorizo, silverbeet and quinoa pilaf ingredients Let me just state for the record, my thumb is by no means green. Generally I’d put it closer to the brown spectrum.

You could be forgiven for assuming that I have an epically green thumb. This recipe includes not one, not two, but three things I grew myself in the garden.

Firstly, my silverbeet is actually quite bushy. Not quite as hectic as say, my bikini line mid-winter, but it certainly has a lushness to it that I don’t deserve (spinach, not ‘kini line).

My basil is just coming into its own. For once the arsehole caterpillars haven’t ravaged the shit out of it before I can enjoy it’s pungent fresh Italian-ness…. but I reckon it’s just a matter of time. I lovingly check it, like a child’s hair with nits, but those suckers are the exact same shade of green and not easy to catch until they’re big and fat and full of my basil.

My truss tomatoes have been prolific. One child loves them and the other bites and spits it out after the initial explosion in her mouth so I often step bare foot on half chewed, slightly rotten tomatoes but I’m down with that. It’s all the name of the game.

You see, I grew the vege patch in the first place to show my kids where food comes from. As for what happens next, I’m not totally fussed.

I am a 100% bonafide seat o’my pants gardener. I buy a seedling (did seeds once. Fail), stick it in the ground; which in my defence I will toil and mulch and mix with stenchy cow and horse produce that I don’t like to consider too much; and then I water it until something happens.

Or not.

garden 15Let’s say I’m hit and miss.

My beets were like testicles. My lettuces became trees. My garlic was minuscule, if pungent and my recent fennel and beetroot seedlings appear to have, well, disappeared.

And I’m down wit dat.

However, sometimes, my poo brown thumb is a little closer to khaki and we actually get to eat something. This meal is a fine example of gardening success.

Yield – 2 to 3, but it’s easy to double.

What you will need : 

  • 1.5 fresh chorizo sausages per person
  • 1 tin cannellini beans
  • 1 punnet of cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 bunch of silver beet, stalks removed and chopped
  • 1/2 a spanish onion, finely sliced
  • 1/2 cup quinoa, cooked
  • 10 olives, squished to deseed and halved
  • 1 whole roasted marinated red capsicum, seed it and chop it
  • a good handful of basil, chopped
  • a generous glug of balsamic vinegar
  • lemon wedges, for serving
  • fetta, for serving

What you will need to do :

Pop your quinoa on the stove to cook. Remember to put 3:1 water to quinoa on a low heat with a lid.

Pull the chorizo meat out of the skins in little chunks and chuck into a dry frypan on medium high heat. I like to render out the fat to cook the rest of my stuff in, but today’s sausos were actually quite dry. Add a little oil if you need.

When they’re almost cooked, toss in your onions and move it all around so the flavours marry nicely.

Add your halved cherry tomatoes, and leave them for 5-7 minutes until they start to break down a little.

Throw your spinach in, stir it around. Add your balsamic and keep it all moving until spinach is all nice and wilted.

Bash your olives to get the seed out, chop them lightly and add them. Throw in the capsicum, add your cannellini beans and basil.

Season generously.

Add your quinoa , toss it all together ensuring it’s all beautifully combined and serve.

Sprinkle with crumbled fetta and a good squeeze of lemon.

I also like tabasco…. cos I’m a hot tamale.

chorizo, silverbeet and quinoa pilaf

 

Cook Once, Feed All COVER_lr

Cook Once, Feed All is about making your life easier whilst preparing nutritious and quick food for your family. Hailed by Mouths of Mums as the ‘must have recipe book for all families’, this book is a collection of family friendly recipes, all accompanied by stories from my life.

If you subscribe now to the Keeping Up With The Holsbys mailing list you will automatically receive my new mini-eBook ‘A Bit On The Side’  – A collection of fabulous summer salads and side dishes.

To order your hardcopy of Cook Once, Feed All ($35) head to the Holsby Shop right now.

If you like what you’re reading why not like my Facebook page now or subscribe via email, to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

5 Responses to “From my Garden to my Table – Chorizo, Silverbeet and Quinoa Pilaf”

  1. foodisthebestshitever January 11, 2014 at 4:51 pm #

    Poo thumb… brilliant! Food looks effing great too…

  2. frugalfeeding January 12, 2014 at 3:01 am #

    you’ve packed so much flavour into that – it looks delicious.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys January 12, 2014 at 7:05 am #

      I forgot to mention to wash it down with a fat glass of wine!! Goes without saying though, right???

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a Reply

