Violent Exercise and Coconut Peach Almond Recovery Cakes

25 Jan

Coconut almond and peach recovery cakes ingredientsFor the past 6 months or so my exercise of choice has been boxing.

I bloody love it.

Not boxercise.

Not Box Fit.

Boxing.

Proper gloves and pads and beat people around a room for an hour. Actually technically kick-boxing as there’s also a lot of elbow, knee and kicking action.

I’m a little surprised at how much I love it to be honest….. but I really, really do.

I sweat, I grunt, I swear and I get to hit people really hard.

It’s not full contact, I’d probably like it a little less if I was getting my face messed up weekly, but it’s about as contact as I’m going to get unless I join some sado-masichistic boxing club that will let me hit someone without getting pummelled myself.

The up side is I now have guns like I’ve never had before in my life.

I’m fit as, can totally hold my own in a dark alley, and I’ve formed lovely friendships with other strong people who like to hit shit.

The down side is I bruise, man.

bruises from boxingI guess it has a lot to do with intensity and I could choose to go easier, but what’s the point, right?

Recently, I was training outdoors in a park with another awesome boxing babe and a cute young dude came and started chatting to us about technique and general flirtatious banter.

I mentioned how much I was into boxing for realsies and he asked me if I was a violent person.

I got all defensive.

‘No! I’m not violent’ (he backed off a bit, probably thought I was going to punch him in the throat)

I’ve been thinking about it a little bit. I’m really not violent, per se, I just really enjoy a contact exercise that helps me get out my tension and frustration –

OF WHICH THERE IS A SHITLOAD.

Some people get their kicks from yoga, and yoga is amazeballs if that’s your bag, it’s just that I like push myself to my limits both cardio and strength wise because I eat like a beast and drink like a fish and don’t take drugs any longer so I need as many endorphins as I can get my hands on.

When you train that hard, you need good recovery food and these low carb, high protein jobbies are awesome.

Great for the lunchbox, great with a cup of tea and generally just yummy.

I’m experimenting with different sugars at the moment so I’ve used coconut sugar, which is better for you, but it is still calories, and more expensive than gold.

Use the sugar of your choice.

Yield : 12

What you will need :

  • 1 cup spelt flour
  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 1/2 cup desiccated coconut
  • 2 ripe peaches, seeded and chopped
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla paste
  • 2/3 cup coconut sugar, or sugar of your choice
  • 2 eggs, lightly whisked
  • 50g melted butter
  • 1/2 cup milk

What you will need to do :

Preheat your oven to 180C, and prepare patty cases in your muffin tray.

Chuck your flour, almond meal and coconut into a bowl. Add your baking powder and sugar and give it a good mix.

Make a well in the centre and add your eggs, vanilla, milk and butter. Pop your peaches in now.

Give it a good stir and spoon into cases before sticking in the oven for about 15-20 minutes until a skewer comes out clean.

Warning : these are delicious and you won’t be able to only eat one.

peach, coconut and almond recovery cakes

Cook Once, Feed All COVER_lr

Cook Once, Feed All is about making your life easier whilst preparing nutritious and quick food for your family. Hailed by Mouths of Mums as the ‘must have recipe book for all families’, this book is a collection of family friendly recipes, all accompanied by stories from my life.

If you subscribe now to the Keeping Up With The Holsbys mailing list you will automatically receive my new mini-eBook ‘A Bit On The Side’  – A collection of fabulous summer salads and side dishes.

To order your hardcopy of Cook Once, Feed All ($35) head to the Holsby Shop right now.

If you like what you’re reading why not like my Facebook page now or subscribe via email, to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

2 Responses to “Violent Exercise and Coconut Peach Almond Recovery Cakes”

  1. Zanni Arnot January 25, 2014 at 7:41 am #

    I’m with you. I love boxing. We just do it as part of our general training but it’s my favourite. X

  2. ksbeth January 25, 2014 at 8:19 am #

    fabulous on both counts. )

Leave a Reply

