Her

3 Feb

herIsn’t it funny how sometimes you see a movie or hear a song that really speaks to something in you that you’ve been pondering?

  I had a movie date with a girlfriend yesterday and although she’d already seen it, she thought I needed to see Her.

As dear friends often are, she was right. At a time when I’m asking some big questions about life, Her was exactly the movie I needed to see.

Love is such an intangible concept. You can’t see it, and you can’t touch it, but when I see or touch certain things I feel it deep within my heart and soul.

Piglet once asked Pooh how you spell love, and Pooh replied –

 ‘You don’t spell it. You feel it.’

When Theodore (Joaquin Phoenix) breaks up from his long time sweetheart he struggles with his heartbreak, and to connect with people, even though he writes the most poetic heartfelt letters as his day job at BeautifulHandwrittenLetters.com.

He gets a new computer operating system named Samantha who is intuitive and evolves at a rate of knots through things she experiences, and may I quietly add that Scarlett Johannson’s warm and  sexy voice has it in spades over that cold-hearted bitch, Siri. 

Theodore and Samantha form an unlikely relationship conducted through conversations and imagery (and a hint of aural sex) which is quite simply – magical.
Theodore feels like Samantha truly understands him, and this feeling of connection is like a drug.

Theodore struggles with the concept of their love because Samantha is not real, their relationship is not palpable but what he feels is most definitely real.

I haven’t written about many films here, the last one was Elysium, because I’m no ‘David and Margaret’, but sometimes a movie just reaches in past my ribs and opens up a part of me and when I walk out I feel all open and raw and touched.

Spike Jonze is one of my favorite directors. With movie favorites of mine like Adaptation and Being John Malkovich his left of centre style never fails to speak volumes to me in subtext, and Her doesn’t fail at all.

There are so many ideas and themes about love and relationships in here, but it also alludes to social media and how in a time where we have almost unlimited and instant connections, we have less connection than ever.

Visually I just adored it… It was so beautiful, with a gorgeous soundscape and these amazing moments of silence to let it all sink in.

It won’t be everyone’s bag, I’ve been known to have wacky taste in films. It just stroked all the right nerves for me at this given moment in time.

I could turn around and see it again today, and double up on the popcorn and choc top combo because the salty-sweet combo never gets old.

I’m no closer to answering the big questions on life and love but Theodore’s platonic friend in the film played by Amy Adams has a great line which is along the lines of-

Life is short. Have a little joy.

I’ve heard there are loads of awesome movies out at the moment… got any recommendations in case I get to go again in the next 6 months?!

20140202-215331.jpg

If you like what you’re seeing why not like my Facebook page now?

You can also subscribe via email and Twitter, or follow me on Instagram at The Holsbys to be sure to always keep up with the Holsbys.

6 Responses to “Her”

  1. Bunny Eats Design February 3, 2014 at 8:04 am #

    I really enjoyed the movie. I watched it with The Koala and we both liked it. But in real life, I think I would struggle with the concept of relationship with someone who was not human. At least I would probably be ashamed of dating an OS. Though I do adore my iMac and my iPad, I’m not sure it’s true love.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys February 3, 2014 at 8:21 am #

      I would be totally embarrassed! Double date was weird, man.

      I have been pining for my Mac since it’s been in getting a brain transplant, but I’ve not been tempted to visit it in hospital!!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  2. ksbeth February 3, 2014 at 9:11 am #

    this sounds really good, one i’ve been wanting to see. i’d recommend ‘nebraska’ for you to see next, it was simply wonderful.

    • Keeping Up With The Holsbys February 3, 2014 at 9:31 am #

      I saw the preview. I loved the director’s other films so I think I’d like that too. The Descendants was pretty powerful stuff.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  3. Have a laugh on me February 4, 2014 at 9:50 pm #

    It’s been ages since I’ve been to an adult movie! Now that sounded dodgy 🙂

Leave a Reply

